We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanaka must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaconfield B&B

Save Saved
You added Beaconfield B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaconfield B&B
251 Beacon Point Road, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 51 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Danbury U.K
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Wanaka must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

If you plan a trip though Wanaka you could do no better than stay here. We stayed 2 nights and it was the best B&B experience of the trip so far. Stunning views from your bedroom, (pictures uploaded )a superb breakfast and wonderful hosts in Carla and Mike with all the care and attention you could wish for. First class experience and recommendation from us ,as our experience so far in NZ group hotels is less than wonderful, look for B&B like this one and you will have a wonderful trip

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
156
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

What more can you ask for in a B&B. Situated on a hill, a few minutes from the town, overlooking Lake Wanaka and the hills surrounding it; this is the perfect situation for a B&B. the bedrooms are very well appointed and roomy, the views from the patio can't be surpassed, Mike & Carla our hosts were very hospitable and provided excellent breakfasts. Mikes special version of Eggs Benedict was great and Carla's home cooked biscuits and cakes were to die for.
We had a great time and will certainly be back for more.

Room Tip: Both rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at this B & B for two nights in January and really enjoyed the fabulous location and luxurious accomodation. We were welcomed with home baking for afternoon tea and the breakfasts were excellent with a range of home grown fruits..Mike's cooked breakfasts were tasty and different from the usual offerings. Both Carla and Mike were easy to talk to and willing to offer any advice needed to make our stay in Wanaka one to remember. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

What a nice stay. The hosts are very warm and welcoming,the place in perfect shape with a stunning view.
Located a bit outside of town, it's as lovely as they come in this area.
Take the stunning views, the friendly, knowledgable and friendly hosts and add a good home cooked breakfast ... What else is needed? Really enjoyed the time there.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spent two nights here in December and what a welcoming place it was. First, the home itself is extremely well designed - modern architecture, clean lines and high ceilings. The interior is tastefully decorated and I felt like I walked into a home decor magazine. There are only two guest rooms, so you feel like personal houseguests of Mike and Carla. Both rooms have stunning views of the garden, their personal vineyard (yes!) and the mountains beyond Lake Wanaka. The best part though, was the hospitality. From Carla's homemade muffins and granola to Mike's ever helpful tips on where to spend the day, we felt immediately at home. They are gracious easygoing hosts, and their genuine hospitality made it feel like we had been friends for years. For the rest of the trip, we missed Mike and Carla terribly and wished every B&B we stayed at after that could be like the Beaconfield B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed for only one night here on a South Island road trip and we should have planned to stay longer! After a long and stunning day's drive through Central Otago, we arrived mid-afternoon to this perfect B&B location. The house is just beautiful, wouldn't look out of place in a House and Garden magazine, and the room was beautifully appointed with doors opening out onto a little terrace area overlooking the owner's small vineyard, and on to the lake and beyond to the snow-dusted mountains. Mike and Carla are very attentive hosts and, while providing us with a delicious, complimentary afternoon tea, gave us good information on dining possibilities in town as well as a recommended afternoon walk alongside the lake, which is what we wanted to do. We were also generously treated to a glass of their homemade Pinot Noir in the evening at our outside table. The breakfast was fabulous with Carla's home-made preserves, muffins and Mike providing a smoked salmon and egg dish - I think such obliging hosts would be happy to rustle up any breakfast options! Mike also spent time finding out road conditions for our onward journey over the Haast Pass. I thoroughly recommend Beaconfield as an outstanding B&B experience in a truly special location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

What can I say? The location was stunning, with wonderful views, and excellent access to Wanaka itself. The accommodation was excellent, and the breakfast was just unsurpassed by any other B&B i've ever visited. Carla and Mike went out of their way to suggest places to eat in the evenings, or attractions to see, and I certainly would stay with them again on my next visit to the South Island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beaconfield B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconfield B&B

Address: 251 Beacon Point Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Beaconfield B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaconfield B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.