We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service & attention to detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Terrace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riverview Terrace to your Saves list
Riverview Terrace
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31 Matheson Crescent | Albert Town, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 54 Wanaka B&B and Inns
melbourne, australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic service & attention to detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

If only there was a 6 out of 5 rating, Pam & Peter would definitely qualify.

I was sceptical when my lovely wife booked us into a B&B 2kms out of Wanaka itself for two reasons.
I prefer to have a place to ourselves. To have a kitchen that we can cook in at any time, a private deck & peace & quiet.
Also I wondered if the location would be a problem - Riverview is at the base of Mt Iron just out of town.

Neither reason was justified.

The service was just so attentive - without being overbearing in the slightest - that by the end of the week we were mortified to be leaving. The quality of the breakfasts especially deserves a mention, with anything I could think of being whipped up in minutes - never a problem.

And the location ended up to be fantastic too. Being that little bit out of town was relaxing. The views were great (river & mountains, rather than lake), there were mountain bikes free to use at any time & Peter woul even drive us into town, drop us at our chosen restaurant (try botswana butchery!) and then pick us after afterwards!! Yeah ok it's a bit like phoning your dad to pick you up from a party, but it did mean we could get properly stuck into the local Pinot and not have to drive (try the Roaring Meg from Mt Difficulty for a cracker Pinot that won't break the bank)

The room was spotless, the bathroom had everything we wanted & the outdoor spa was devine (plastic wine glasses provided in the room too).
And free wifi.

Oh & we had to invent a new verb: Pam. Used instead of Google.
If you need to know anything, just Pam it.
She knows everything & if not, will call & search and return in minutes with an answer. We had trips booked, accomodation for our next stop, horse riding specials arranged. Fabulous.

Thanks Pam & Peter - you really made our holiday extra special :)

Mike & Gabbi

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverviewWanaka, owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
Thank you so much for choosing Riverview Terrace for your place to stay in Wanaka, we loved meeting you, our aim is to spoil our guests and give them a wonderful fun filled time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
122
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
augusta, ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

My husband and I went to New Zealand on our honeymoon from American, and we stayed with Peter and Pam for two nights. I can't say enough wonderful things about our experience. They are lovely people who strive to make you feel at home from the moment you walk in the door. We enjoyed snacks and wine upon our arrival. We sat in the living room and got to know one another. Peter and Pam presented us with menus from the restaurants in town and reccommended a few for us to try. Peter drove us to and from dinner so that we would not have to worry about drinking and driving. After dinner we returned to our room and fell into a purely luxurious bed. The bathroom and shower were large and accomodating. We woke up to an amazing full-on breakfast of bacon, eggs, toast, cereal, heart shaped muffins, waffles, and anything else we desired. Pam is a wonderful cook and happy to cater to any special requests. After breakfast Peter and Pam showed us pamplets from the area attractions and made recommendations and reservations on our behalf. We left for our day of adventures, and Pam sent us off with a few muffins to snack on our way. That evening we enjoyed a soak in the hot tub out back gazing up at the starts. Our next day and night were just as perfect. We were perfectly comfortable walking around in our socks, sending emails back home on the computer in the living room, watching tv, and lounging on the couch. It was a wonderful place to stay, and we could not have felt more at home. Peter and Pam made sure our stay was perfect in every way.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

Fantastic service and comfort!! Pam and Peter ensured our stay exceeded all expectations. Very modern, clean, efficient, friendly and generous stay. Loooved the outdoor spa over looking the river and out to the snow topped mountains. Unbelievable hosts willing to make sure we were comfortable and well informed of all activities and services in the area. Amaaazing breakfast and early evening treats. Would highly recommend to all!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverviewWanaka, owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Thanks so much for choosing Riverview Terrace for your stay in Wanaka. We are humbled by your review, it was such a pleasure to have you share our home and to host you both. We look forward to your return visit to Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Thank-you to Pam and Peter for making our stay in Wanaka such an amazing and unforgettable experience. We are definitely 'hooked' on this type of accommodation...a scrumptious hot breakfast, the hot tub and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in when on holidays. What more could you ask for? We loved it so much we stayed an extra day!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

But it was much more than a B & B - Pam and Peter were fantastic hosts, every comfort was provided - we felt we were welcome guests. This was just the best B & B we have stayed in - and we have stayed in them throughout the world.
Would thoroughly recommend it for a relaxed break - we felt really pampered and would love to visit again.
Judy and Kevin - Christchurch, New Zealand

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

Pam & Peter were most welcoming hosts, nothing was too much trouble; home made food was delicious and beautifully presented; accomodation was luxurious and the hot tub with champagne & strawberries with a view of the mountains was a fabulous treat; pity there is no view of the lake otherwise I would have given 5 stars for everything; Peter gave us a lift to and from a restuarant so we didn't need to use our car;

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

Peter and Pam treated us to the Kiwi experience we were looking for on our trip. Gracious hospitality, unique setting, and beautiful homemade breakfast made our stay unforgettable. Their personal knowledge of where and what to do during the day helped us enjoy several adventures around Wanaka, while their relaxed conversation over wine in the evenings taught us about the Island's history and character. We enjoyed getting to know two fantastic Kiwi couples, and would love to see them again. We will not forget the Wild Irishman evening - one of the best memories my wife and I have together. We would absolutely recommend a few nights here to anyone traveling to New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverview Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Terrace

Address: 31 Matheson Crescent | Albert Town, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverview Terrace 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverview Terrace is new Qualmark rated 5 Star luxury accommodation with stunning 360* mountain and river views offering 3 luxuriously appointed bedrooms with en-suites, heated floors and mirrors, hairdryers, disabled facilities, spa bath and patios. guests can enjoy private lounge with library, TV,DVD, and internet,or relax in our 8 seater spa under the stars. Generous 3 course breakfast of your choice.Join Peter and Pam for complimentary pre-dinner drinks, afternoon teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riverview Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.