We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail lacking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Belvedere Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Belvedere Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Belvedere Luxury Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   25 - 29 Warren Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Attention to detail lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 2 nights. The apartment is very modern, but as other reviewers have commented, very small. We also found the heat unbeable - some of the apartments will get a lot of afternoon sun (would be fantastic in the winter), and the small fan in the apartment did not help much. Leaving doors and windows open is also not a great idea with the mozzies.

Our kitchen floor was very sticky - really need a good scrub, and not just a mop. The walls and ceilings had a lot of evidence of insects being killed by previous occupants, one would have perhaps expected for the cleaners to have wipped it off with a wet cloth? Couches could also do with a bit of a scrub. With a bit more attention to detail, this could be a great apartment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a kitchen and a balcony facing towards the mountain. I believe some apartments also have views of the lake. The mountain view would be better in winter than in summer. The apartments are about 5 minutes walk from the centre of town. Our apartment was reasonably modern. It was clean and comfortable. Service was friendly. Value for money was pretty good. I would not have a problem staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here in a 2 bedroom apartment for 6 nights with our 2 older children and our baby. The rooms are tiny, well equipped but everything is small, wardrobes, size of bedrooms, so a portacot was not really suitable in our apartment. The apartment was beautifully sparkling clean, and the room heated and cost when we arrived. In the basement which is easily accessed by the elevator is the designated (free) parking with a large lockable cupboard for each apartment, very handy for all the ski gear. The staff are really relaxed which made us feel relaxed also. We felt like the apartment was really our own. So I would stay here again and recumbent it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Yes - a good choice, we will be back to stay again

thank you

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in room 208, a 2 bedded apartment--there were only 2 of us.
We were pleased with this room--its on the 2nd floor and gets sun most of the day. If you want sun stay on the 2nd floor--all rooms have balconies--if you dont then go on the 1st(ground) floor. Rooms 207-214 are best for sun.
The apartment looked quite new with good furniture and was well equipped inc a full laundry and had broadband internet free
So what didnt we like? Firstly the apartment wasnt serviced after our first night--we dont know yet if it should have been. Also the windows and glass on the balconies were not clean with some bird droppings and spiders webs to be seen. And the room still had brochures from Dec 2009(its now 16 Feb). So attention to detail could make this a great place--at the moment its average for the price. We'd stay again if the above were fixed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Reception is the first contact point, and the service at this point should have alerted us to the fact we should turn around and walk out. But our apartments had been booked for 6weeks on the internet.

We had booked a 2 and 3 bedroom townhouse. As we were competing in the ironman event, and had a four month baby we wanted to all be staying at the same location for ease of babysitting and the convenience. Although the address on our confirmation was the same, and both apartments had been booked on the same credit card, under the same name. We were put in two different locations. Convenient this was not!! I think we could have been notified of this prior to our arrival

When other members of our party arrived the receptionist was less than helpful - "I think the apartment is somewhere up there". There was no cheerful welcome or any offer of a town map.

The word "luxury" should be used very sparingly in names. And should definitely be removed from this apartment title. The three bedroom apartment that I was staying in was very tired. Fading and wear to the couches, tiny bathrooms and bedrooms. We didn't read self serviced in their description, so therefore there are no fresh towels daily. This could be tolerated if you were provided with more than one towel per person. As I said early, we were there for an event. So there were several trips through the showers. And wet towels to dry off with.

On check out they were unaware of our prepayment and were requesting for us to settle the account. I think they may require some system and description improvements.

Will definitely never stay there again

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights on our recent Sth Island trip. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with our 2.5yo daughter. The apartment was very nice and modern and had a great full kitchen, washer and dryer. The bed was the most comfy one we had our whole NZ stay. Unfortunatley we were in a unit that didn't open out to the amazing mountain views but it was not a big drama as we were out a lot of the time. Wanaka was one of our favourite places and we wish we stayed here longer. The apartments are probably about 5 minutes walk from town but we always drove anyway. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Belvedere Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Belvedere Luxury Apartments

Address: 25 - 29 Warren Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Belvedere Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Belvedere Luxury Apartments opened in November 2006. Located in Warren Street, Wanaka, close to town, only minutes walk from the Wanaka main shopping centre, restaurants and the lake front. Belvedere is Qualmark rated 4 Star + and has 18 luxury two bedroom apartments , 1 Large Superior two bedroom apartment with gas fires and great views, 2 three bedroom townhouses and 2 two bedroom townhouses. All apartments and townhouses are self serviced and self contained. All apartments and townhouses have full kitchens and laundries. Townhouses have gas fires in the lounge. Many of the units have outlooks to the mountains and/or lake. Wanaka offers exciting all year round activities for all ages, and of course great Skiing in Winter and many Summer activities including watersports, very nice lakeside walking and mountain bike tracks, tramping, scenic tours by air or land, skydiving, puzzleworld, indoor and outdoor climbing, fighter pilots and transport museums, golf course, driving range, shooting gallery, horse riding and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Belvedere Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belvedere Luxury Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Belvedere Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.