We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tranquil luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lime Tree Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lime Tree Lodge to your Saves list
Lime Tree Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Crnr Ballantyne Road and State Highway 6, Wanaka, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 NIGHT PACKAGE BOOK NOW
Ranked #11 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Sheffield UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“tranquil luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

Everything is top quality. Very comfy beds in a lovely room looking out onto the garden in a rural setting so wonderfully quiet and away from it all. You can help yourself in the kitchen at any time including fruit and biscuits. The breakfasts are fab with lodge laid eggs,homemade jam etc Evening drinks and canapes in the garden set you up for the evening. It is a 10 minute drive to Wanaka but a courtesy drive in is available. Rebecca and Sally were helpful hosts and have a spotless boutique lodge.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edlesborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

We were made to feel so at home here that we wanted to stay a lot longer. One year ago we stayed for two nights and other guests there for just the one were envious and wished they had booked for longer. This time we stayed four nights but wished for a lot more.
Wanaka is a great place to spend some time, loads to do and spectacular scenery. Just ask the hosts for suggestions and they are only too happy to advise on how to spend your days. There’s a great selection of restaurants, again advice is gladly given, they will even run you down there in the evening.
Every aspect of our very spacious suite was perfect. As much wardrobe space as home, the most comfortable bed anywhere, the crispest linen, the best toiletries, the highest speed internet, if only it had been a bit cooler we could have lit the fire! All the facilities are really top quality. The whole lodge is beautifully decorated and the atmosphere just so relaxing.
Sally and Rebecca really could not do any more to improve the stay, they think of everything, super-attentive yet discrete. Just mention the idea of a barbecue and one will appear on your patio. How about some exercise, there’s croquet, boules (petanque), swimming pool, hot tub and even a mini golf course.
Both in our suite and in the lounge there was a selection of books, magazines, dvds and cds to choose from. Coincidentally they even had the most of the music that we were carrying on our trip – spooky eh?
The breakfasts are the very best, an excellent selection of the finest cereals, fruit, juices, breads, etc followed by your choice of a perfectly cooked breakfast including eggs from the lodge hens plus produce from the vegetable patch. In the evening delicious pre-dinner canapés and drinks served out by the pool. Make sure you ask for recipes!
Everyday practicalities are not overlooked either, there are washing facilities as well as outdoor drying options.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Just 6 k away from Wanaka village, there is a field full of roses and lavender with a never ending view of beautiful mountains, a place where Rebecca and Sally offer a 5 star place with golf course, croquet lawn and helipad (for those who want to fly over the fiords or glaciers) Every room is pure luxury and Rebecca’s homemade breakfast, pool & spa , afternoon aperitifs and 24 hour coffee and tea with baked cookies are included.
Transport from and to the town are on a complimentary basis and if you stay during winter, guests have their own personal chef cooking dinner so you don’t have to leave the lodge. If you are travelling with children (under 12) there is a superb room with huge TV, a room for the kids and a log fire place.
We had such a great and relaxed stay and I really fell in love with Rebecca´s garden!

  • Liked — we loved the garden!!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2008

We stayed here in January 2008 for two nights and it was excellent. It's a really beautiful place with panoramic views of the mountains, lush gardens (including small golf course) and outdoor pool. The rooms are decorated to a very high standard- massive beds with fine linen and fresh lavender, bathroom with under floor heating and upmarket toiletries and private terrace overlooking the garden. It's quite pricey but worth it for a few night's indulgence I would say. A definite favourite during our trip.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

While I am sorely tempted to take the easy way out and simply agree with everything the previous reviewer has said, it would not be fair to the lodge.

My wife and I are traveling extensively with our 11 year old daughter and recently stayed at the Limetree Lodge for four days. We came in without expectations for the lodge or the Wanaka area as we had been booked by our travel agent for New Zealand and did not have time to research it beforehand. We could not have been more pleased with the choice of accommodation or area. The owners, Sally and Rebecca, took exceptionally good care of us and went out of their way to pamper us throughout our stay. We have stayed in hotels, motels, apartments, farm stays, B&B’s and country inns across New Zealand and can honestly say that it does not get any better than the Limetree Lodge for the price. I am sure you can spend more and get comparable comfort and beauty and I know that you can spend less without the comfort but I doubt that you can get the personal touches with sincere attention and interest that Sally and Rebecca showed us anywhere else. They quickly figured us out and made sure we were taken care of.

We stayed in the Black Peak suite and felt that it was perfectly suited for us a small family. There were bunk beds in our daughters room, high speed internet (via Ethernet cable only at this time) a wood burning fireplace, two patio areas with views and a very comfortable living area with leather couch. As an “ensuite” room, you have all you need to prepare a meal or two for the nights you feel like it. One day, I had casually mentioned that “I might barbeque a steak tonight if the weather holds” while at the morning at breakfast. We returned home late that evening from a long day hiking to find the BBQ had been moved over to our patio area and BBQ tongs and equipment were placed in the kitchen ready to go! While we had decided against the BBQ and opted for take out food that day, it was pretty impressive to see the extra effort that they made to ensure our enjoyment if we needed it. Another example was a day when I had gone out fly-fishing, they went out of their way to help my wife and daughter get into town and back since I had taken the rental car. These are just a few examples of what kind of people you are dealing with. We are talking the genuine article here.

A few other small details for you in case you need more...

There is a small, pitch and put golf course laid out on the grounds that is fun to play if you can control your shots. Don’t expect PGA tour quality but it is nice and I used it once. The pool and hot tub are nice, clean and situated in a garden that has views of the Southern Alps. There are CD’s, DVD’s and books and other reading materials, with extensive resources for places to eat or hike or other activities in the central lodge living area. The drive to town is a breeze – just about 5 or 6km I would say taking no time at all. The breakfast is as good as it gets. They lay out everything you need and more in the way of fresh fruits, cereals, breads and will try to convince you to eat a hot breakfast as well! You will not leave the table hungry.

All in all, if you are looking for a high quality, low key and quite privacy in the Wanaka area, I would say that this is the place.

JCS

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2006

I can't speak highly enough of the Lime Tree Lodge; my boyfriend and I were on a 2 week trip in NZ and stayed one night at the Lime Tree Lodge in Lake Wanaka and only wished we had stayed longer. The property is set in stunning surroundings with the Southern Alps as a backdrop. It is conveniently only a 5 minute drive into town. The hosts, Rebecca and Sally, are the friendliest of people and obviously take great pride in their place, and it definitely shows. Every thing is taken care of, and it's the small details which impress, such as a guest fridge with complimentary mineral water which you can help yourself to throughout your stay. When we arrived we were immediately given a full tour of the property and all the facilities (including a lovely outdoor pool and hot tub!) and Rebecca had even baked a delicious lemon cake for us so we sat outside in the sunshine and had coffee and homemade cake. There is comprehensive information at hand in the lodge for activities you can do in the area (and there is a lot to do so plan at least 2 days in Wanaka) Our room was spacious and luxuriously done up; the bed was super comfortable and the bathroom is huge and had a wonderful power shower! The breakfast is sumptious; fresh fruit with homemade muesli plus full cooked english, if you can fit it in! I cannot rate this place highly enough. If you are planning on going to Lake Wanaka (and it is a beautiful place, well worth a visit) you should definitely stay at the Lime Tree Lodge as Rebecca and Sally will spoil you rotten.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lime Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Lodge

Address: Crnr Ballantyne Road and State Highway 6, Wanaka, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Tree Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Lime Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lime Tree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.