We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay at Wanaka! very recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harpers Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harpers Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Harpers Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
95 McDougall Street, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 56 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay at Wanaka! very recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The following review has been submitted:
Harper's B&B was a fantastic place to stay
at Wanaka. Jo and Ian were extremely
friendly and helpful, made everything
possible to make us feel warm and welcome.
The B&B is located within walking distance
to Wanaka Lake and town center which was
very comfortable. They have a great
breakfast too and free wifi, a very nice and cozy lounge with plenty of recommendations for restaurants at Wanaka. Just about everything you could ask for.

Really great place to stay, I would
definitely go back!

Room Tip: All rooms I've seen were top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We enjoyed your company and always endeavour to make our guests feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
85
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

From our very first moment of arrival we were literally made to feel at home, especially with the welcoming tea and cakes.
Jo and Ian were so easy to get along with and breakfast with the other couple of guests stretched into a most enjoyable social occasion, aided by the freshly-picked blackberries from next door's garden!
Wanaka centre is a shortish walk away so the setting is convenient but also quiet in the evening.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Jo and Ian are extremely welcoming hosts to their lovely B and B. The property is in a slightly elevated location above the town about 10-15mins walk to the centre. This location means that there are some wonderful views of the lake, particulalry from our first floor room. As previously mentioned the pancakes at breakfast are a nice touch (shame i couldn't get anywhere near the record of 8). The tea and home made muffins were also a real treat after a day out.
Jo and Ian were very helpful in making suggestions of things to see and do in Wanaka to ensure you made the best of your time available. We would not have thought to have gone to the Toy and Transport Museum but it really was an amazing place. Jo was happy to book us onto the Wanaka River Journeys Jet Boat trip (which i'm so glad we did here rather than in Queenstown) and also tickets for the cinema as well as reserving a nice table at Trout restaurant, she even did our washing for us!
I couldn't have asked for any more from our stay and would definately stay here again when we return to New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
What a lovely review. It gives us a 'buzz' when we know that we have given our guests a memorable experience. That is always our goal. And we do live in a very special area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

Jo and Ian share their home like you are their best friends. They genuinely make you feel welcome. The room we had had a nice view of Lake Wanaka. Ian keeps a lovely garden and there is a spring in it. You can fill your water bottle. The breakfast is great with unforgettable pancakes. I would have liked bacon and/or eggs to go with it, but who's complaining. The room itself was average, but as I said, it had a great view.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review for us. Our views are lovely. Just a shame that there are no bacon and eggs!! However as we advertise a continental breakfast the pancakes are an extra bonus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The owners were most friendly and helpful. A very good breakfast and refreshments provided. The garden and terrace/lounge were spectacular. Only the room (their second) was rather small, especially bathroom- otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We think we have a special spot and enjoy sharing it with our many guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford-upon-avon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

we stayed 2 nights and had a great time, on their reccommendation we went on the jet ski boat trip to see the glaciers, fabulous!

Room Tip: fabulous views from all rooms, only 2 rooms so need to book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. It makes us happy to feel that you enjoyed what we have to offer. Maybe you will return to Wanaka one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed two nights and Jo and Ian made us feel very comfortable and "at home". They gave us some helpful advice about our visit to NZ and we felt like members of their family. Our accommodation was clean, comfortable and spacious. What more could we have asked for.

Room Tip: Book early - this is a great B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our guests are very important to us and our goal is to make you feel comfortable and 'at home'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harpers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 95 McDougall Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm, friendly homestay within 5 minutes walk to lake and 15 minutes walk to town. Enjoy sharing breakfast stories with your hosts who have traveled quite extensively. Comfortable rooms with views of mountains and our extensive garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpers Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.