We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic stayover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harpers Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harpers Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Harpers Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
95 McDougall Street, Wanaka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Scenic stayover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We wished we had stayed longer in this lovely place; Harpers and Wanaka deserve more than one night. The hospitality was warm but not intrusive, and the opportunity to chat to our hosts about New Zealand over breakfast was greatly appreciated. The view from our room was the best we have had in three scenic weeks in NZ. We just have to get back there some day.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Once again we are delighted with this positive review. We know we live in a special area and love to share it with our visitors. Thank you and we look forward to your possible return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
77
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This was the first stop on our week long holiday in December, and what a great way to start! Jo and Ian were wonderfully welcoming, and the tea and cakes were very much appreciated after a long day's drive. Jo was happy to book us a table for dinner and to phone the cinema to check the listings for us, and our room was delightfully comfortable. Our only regret is staying for just one night, but the delicious breakfast of pancakes and printed list of places to stop on our onwards journey was a great way to finish our stay. We hope to be back soon, and would unreservedly recommend this B&B to any traveler looking for quality accommodation in Wanaka.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We enjoyed the company of both of you and would be delighted if you paid a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adamsmt25
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

With time running out on our 2 week NZ trip, my wife and I decided to drive 7+ hrs in a day from Queenstown to Fox Glacier and back again to stay at Harpers in Wanaka. Fox Glacier was outstanding and we hit the road at about 6:00, hoping to arrive in Wanaka by 9:00 or so. We had planned to call ahead from our cell on the road but didn't account for needing gas in Haast which closes early and has no cell phone service or ATM. With some Kiwi hospitality in Haast we were able to fill up the tank and get back on the road to Wanaka. We arrived at 11:00, without being able to call ahead but Jo & Ian were still up to provide us a warm welcome. Due to the delays and long drive we had not eaten dinner and to our delight Jo was able to put together a delicious pot of tea and some finger sandwiches so we didn't go to bed hungry.

Our only regret was not being able to stay longer and enjoy their hospitality along with the great views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond from our bedroom and sitting room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
We do appreciate your positive review. Maybe you may be able to return to our very special region in the future and spend more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

It was lovely to stay with Jo and Ian. I was made to feel very welcome. Their local knoweldge is exceptional and they are more than happy to assist booking anything you may want to do and have so many useful suggestions for places to go and things to see. I was even lucky enough to borrow Ian's bike to go for a ride around the Lake. Nothing is too much trouble!!!

Breakfast is amazing....I am a huge fan of the pancakes and also the lively conversation at the breakfast table that made me feel so very welcome and at home.

I stayed in the upstairs room and so was able to enjoy the most amazing view of the lake and the surrounding snow capped 'hills'.....I cannot think of a better view to wake up to in the morning.

Another bonus is that Harper's is within easy walking distance of the town - the cinema, great walks and good food are only a short stroll down the hill.

I look forward to seeing Jo and Ian again on my next trip to Wanaka.

Room Tip: Take the upstairs room if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We think we live in a very special place and you obviously enjoyed it too. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, NZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Ian and Jo are excellent hosts and we really couldnt have wished for any more from our stay. They are extremely warm and kind people, and the room was just as warm and cosy! From the moment we arrived and saw our names hand-written on the guest board on the cute blackboard we felt at home and there were lots of personal touches in the room which made us feel like they really cared about the establishment. But the main reason we loved the place so much was Ian and Jo, they really are fantastic people and made what would have been a memorable stay in Wanaka truly unforgettable. Ill continue to spread the good word of Harpers when im back home!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
What lovely comments. We also enjoyed your company very much and would be delighted to have you return. It is guests like you that make having a B&B so interesting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Jo and Ian were delightful hosts, their B & B providing a good night's sleep, hearty breakfast and good recommendations for activities in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
We do appreciate you taking the time to post a review for us. We enjoy having guests to stay and do our best to give them a happy experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We had been recommended to stay at the Harper's Place and were not disappointed. Local knowledge, great connections and ideas about where to go from there. Ian and Jo are well known in the B&B community and all there ideas that we followed up on verified their excellent knowledge and reputation.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate positive feed back and enjoyed having you spend time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harpers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers Bed and Breakfast

Address: 95 McDougall Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm, friendly homestay within 5 minutes walk to lake and 15 minutes walk to town. Enjoy sharing breakfast stories with your hosts who have traveled quite extensively. Comfortable rooms with views of mountains and our extensive garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harpers Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.