We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Adventure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eco Wanaka Adventures

Eco Wanaka Adventures
P.O.Box 841, Wanaka, New Zealand
+64-3-443 2869
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eco Wanaka Lake, Island and Mountain Adventures offers -Lake Cruise & island Walk - Rare flightless birds, a magical lake on top of an island and a unique opportunity to plant a native tree as part of this eco-experience. Rob Roy Glacier Guided Trek - The World Heritage area's Jewel, Rob Roy has it all! Swingbridge, Rainforest, waterfalls, icefalls, and comical Keas all in one day!Lake Wanaka Boat Fishing - for introduced Salmon, Brown and Rainbow Trout.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Wanaka, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

A fantastic day on the lake with Chris to the island Mou Waho. A short hike up the island to another lake with superb mirror reflections - lots of stories, history of the area, explanations of the flora and fauna and of course entertainment by the rare buff weka. A cuppa at the top of the island while taking in a 360 degree view without any visible signs of human inhabitation - where did the worries of the world go!! Highly recommended as a unique Wanaka experience.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
200m above worry level, the panoramas and reflections on this island rivals any view in NZ for
Eye Candy!
Thanks for reinforcing this fact!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    9
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great trip of wanake lake and island ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great tour , beautiful scenary , very informative and in general a great pleasure! Chris is very nice , and enthusiastic about nature , you get to see some great , interesting animals and the walk is easy and fun.The views from the top of the island walk are just beautiful. Highly reccomanded!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Yes, it certainly is worth the walk to the top of this magic island!

The lake on top of this island surrounded by wild landscape with no buildings in any direction, is quite unique by anyone's standards!
Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A package of Wanaka wonders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

3.5 hours gets you a set of excellent experiences with the Mou Waho visit. The boat trip is itself a scenic treat, transported at good pace past majestic mountains to a remote and tranquil leafy paradise. The island is a haven for protected wildlife, featuring the flightless weka - so obviously endangered by its guileless curiosity (one wandered and poked around us as we took in the views). The walk up to Arethusa Pool (the beautiful little lake on the island) is a moderate climb (about 30-40 minutes up a well-maintained track) and paced to match the slowest visitor (me, in our case). There is no pressure. Time to enjoy the view, wander, have a cup of tea, chat. Awesome views were difficult to adequately convey in photos. Planting a tree was a small contribution to the struggle to enhance this treasure. Chris Riley, the exceptional Kiwi Eco Wanaka skipper and guide, explained, enthused and delighted our small group on this tour. Bring good walking shoes and the best camera you have for some wonderful memories.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thanks with those amazing images of this special island -
It is our pleasure to impart some of the knowledge and answer the questions about NZ's unique environment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A fun experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a most delightful morning with Chris Riley on his boat traveling to Mou Waho Island and then hiking all about the island. Chris is a man with an inexhaustible enthusiasm for what he does. His fierce passion for the geography, ecology and history of the Wanaka region cannot help but rub off on you. The island is a nature preserve and Chris delights in showing off the various plants and animals. Truthfully, I don't think there's a single one he doesn't know all about, including the scientific names. We learned so much and with Chris' relaxed style we immediately felt like old friends out for a day's walk. The island is a unique place and Chris is the perfect person to experience it with. Plus, what a surprise it was when he served us tea and biscuits after climbing to the top of the island. Most delightful!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Well, what can we say to that... We do our best.
It is just a great office, and we love showing it off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Mou Waho - absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

If you only have a short time in Wanaka, then this must be on top of the list. If you are in Wanaka for a while and don't do the trip to Mou Waho island, then big mistake. This was the highlight of a trip to Wanaka, made so not just by the chance to visit Mou Waho and see the rare Buff Weka and boss bird "Wally", but also by experiencing the knowledge and care of guide Chris Riley, He knows his stuff; expert naturalist, historian, weather watcher and boatman. We've both worked in Antarctica and was also a great chance to share stories. The weather was marginal, but that's part of the whole New Zealand experience and the threatening clouds only enhanced the photos. I would rate the trip a 6 out 5. Chris, many thanks for a top day - from K&G.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Our pleasure, we love to hear your stories as well, as we have lots of time to chat on this easy paced tour of magic Mou Waho Island! - Lots of fun to be had out there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco Wanaka Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Eco Wanaka Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eco Wanaka Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.