We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean-quieter than other Bases” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Base Backpackers Wanaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Base Backpackers Wanaka to your Saves list
Base Backpackers Wanaka
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   73 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9192, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very clean-quieter than other Bases”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a very clean and contemporary Base-we stayed in a private double which was cleaned daily-nice housekeeping staff who made sure that you always had clean towels.
We found this Base alot quieter than the other Bases we had stayed in - we came here after staying at Base Queenstown(enough said)- but I still think that there could be issues with noise- but the bar is at the side of the hostel as apposed to underneath which is better.
There is a very good supermarket just across from the hostel,and the kitchen although small was very clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    62
    44
    25
    26
See reviews for
9
61
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We were backpacking around the South Island and found Base Wanaka to be extremely overpriced. It is fairly new so the rooms are nice and clean and it is in a fairly central location. However, compared to other backpackers the kitchen is quite small and we stayed in other places around the country that had better facilities for much cheaper. We stayed in a double room with an ensuite and it was $100 per night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Stayed at Base Wanaka for 3 nights and had such a good time. $6 meals were tasty and huge, always stuff going on in the bar. The staff are so helpful and friendly, especially Shane. So much to do, kayaking, hire mopeds and bikes, even skydiving and flying planes. We love you Base Wanaka, we miss you Shane! Thanks for the best few days!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

My partner and I decided to stay at Base Wanaka for 3 nights in Jan 2011. First impression was ok although we'd recommend checking in before any of the backpacker buses arrive (the reception was chaos). The first room we checked in to was small but adequate for our needs. However, when leaving the room discovered the door wouldn't close properly and couldn't be locked. The staff were apologetic and changed our room without any further hassle. The real problem happened after being in bed for about 1 hour - turning on the light unable to sleep, we discovered the bed was full of BED BUGS and my partner had been bitten no less than 20 times!! Being the middle of the night, the night staff were notified and allowed us to check-out. We were then stranded in the middle of Wanaka without a bed and no hotels still open... The following day we met with the management of Base to discuss the problem. We were assured a full refund and even though we'd booked through Wotif.com, they would sort this for us. Unfortunately, after 3+ weeks, we'd not received a refund and upon contacting Base (who were not very helpful), were told the holdup was with Wotif.com and not them. Wotif.com were called and explained this was the first they'd heard of the incident and promptly issued a full refund. Overall, we were unlucky to experience Bed Bugs in the first place however the way which we were then treated (or not treated as it were) is totally unacceptable for a hostel operating in 2011. Any small level of assistance or compensation could've turned this into at the very least a tolerable experience...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaseWanaka, Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear Kiwi_traveller_syd
Thank you for your review of Base Backpackers Wanaka, our sincere apologies for your refund, we did unfortunately have a communication break down, once you contacted us regarding the refund I believe it was actioned straight away.
Bed bugs although rare in our hostel,can be bought in by guests, we did resolve the bug issue immediately. My apologies for the communication breakdown, and we trust you have a good remainder of your trip.

Regards
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night while travelling around NZ & we arrived very late a night, and the place was closed. But we just called security & they let us in, no problems there. We had a private double room & it was everything we needed; clean & comfortable! We had no problems with noise, had a great night sleep! We didn't use the kitchen facilities so I can't comment on that. The next day when we checked out the guy behind the desk was very helpful & chatty, and offered to call the skydive centre to check if our skydive would go ahead because of weather conditions..... very nice gesture! Overall happy with my stay at Base & would recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Stayed here for three nights with 2 teenage kids. All seemed fantastic with good size room, really clean and brilliant central location to town, supermarket next door and beach 2 blocks away. The problem occurred when the DJ started up in the bar two floors below us at 1030pm and didn't stop until 0230am. The whole room was vibrating from the loud base. Earplugs were on no use. The next morning I asked to be moved rooms as this backpacker has rooms on the street side which are away from the bar so much quieter. The staff were really really helpful and moved us and we then got two decent nights sleep. I would recommend if you are not going to this backpackers for a party then ask for a room at the front of the building away from the bar. There is a party every night in the bar!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

This base is only like a year old, it's so clean and tidy. It smells great!
The staff are obviously on drugs but they are very helpful.
Avoid the meal deals in the bar, we waited an hour & a half for a pizza!
Awesome hostel tho

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Base Backpackers Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Wanaka

Address: 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9192, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Base Backpackers Wanaka 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Base Backpackers Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Wanaka Hotel Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Backpackers Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.