We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome family stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Wanaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added YHA Wanaka to your Saves list
YHA Wanaka
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   94 Brownston St, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wanaka YHA The Purple Cow)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Awesome family stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Undoubtedly the best value for money stay for a family of four. Stayed in a 4 bed (bunk x 2) with en suite overnight on way to Mt Cook. Clean communal kitchen, lots of communal spaces, wireless internet access (for reasonable fee) and awesome view of the park and lake.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    71
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
64
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This place has a very central loaction, just 5 minutes walking distance from a New World supermarket, the lakefront and town center. Kitchen is spacious and airy, there's free tea, salt and pepper and they also have a herb garden outside. The lounge and dining areas was clean and comfortable and has big panoramic windows overlooking Lake Wanaka. A really nice place to relax and socialize, or just take in the great views. There' also an outside terrace. They have a comfy tv room where they show movies every night at 7.30 pm and they also have dvd's in the reception. Staff was friendly and accommodating and always seemed happy to help! We had three different room while staying there, and were very happy with all of them. The first was the most expensive, a self contained unit which felt more like a motel than a hostel. While it was nice to have our own kitchen, we liked the views from the common areas in the hostel so much that we ended up having our meals there. The second room was an ensuite double room with lake views and tv. If you're going to spend some time in the room to enjoy the views and you like having a private bathroom, then this room is great value! Our third room was a twin room with shared bathroom. The room was located at the back of the hostel in a smaller unit that we shared with one other room. The unit felt a bit like motel with a basic kitchen including a fridge, microwave, water boiler, plates, glasses and cutlery and some chairs and a table. All the rooms we stayed in was clean and comfortable. Wifi was reliable and there's free on-site parking. We really enjoyed our stay can highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Awesome hostel! Well located, clean, with a great kitchen, terrace, movie room, computer and reading room an many other things. It's a little bit old but that's not a big deal. I would recommand it for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in a self contained unit and that was very good (2 bedrooms, bathroom and small kitchenette) although not very cheap ($162 per night) . The hostel has good facilities and the kids loved the lounge and the movie area! The kitchen is clean and very well equipped.
The staff is VERY nice and welcoming, and the location is just perfect.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This place is very nice and clean, good location, friendly staff. Common areas are the highlight, nice and cosy, good outside are too. The staff was very helpful when I asked them to change my reservation to one less night there and an extra night at the YHA in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frisbeetraveller
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a double en suite room for one night. The yha was great, good locations, good price, clean and comfortable. Our room featured two lamps... one decorated with a hippo and the other a bee... it made us smile! We thought wanaka was great sand recommend a trip to cinema paradiso!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The best part about the YHA in Wanaka is the communal spaces. The TV room was comfy and large, the dining areas were very professional and homely and the kitchen was clean and spacious. It really felt like you were in a big lodge not a hostel. Our room was a 6 bed female dorm with an ensuite and was a normal sized dorm room.
Overall a great backpackers in Wanaka.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wanaka

Address: 94 Brownston St, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wanaka YHA The Purple Cow)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central Wanaka location offers uninterrupted views of Lake Wanaka and New Zealand's famed Southern Alps, with a range of warm and comfortable budget accommodation and great communal facilities. Our relaxed, welcoming vibe has generated rave reviews in the Lonely Planet. YHA Wanaka, Purple Cow offers an ideal retreat for the independent traveller looking to discover the exciting activities on offer in Lake Wanaka New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wanaka Purple Cow Hotel Wanaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.