We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a highlight in our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skydive Wanaka

Skydive Wanaka
Mustang Lane | Wanaka Airport, Wanaka, New Zealand (Formerly Skydive Lake Wanaka)
+64 3-443 7207
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 64 Activities in Wanaka
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Strap yourself to a Beautiful Stranger and jump from a perfectly good plane, freefalling from 15,000 feet above NZ's highest snow capped mountains!! Skydive Wanaka is New Zealand's most spectacular, multi award winning, high altitude tandem skydive. This incredible scenic experience captures views of Mt Cook, Mt Aspiring, glaciers, lakes and rivers! Capture your huge freefall grin with freefall DVD and digital pictures - How big is your smile??!!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a highlight in our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

like the experience of jumping off the airplane from 12,000' sky! Dislike the price, esp. the prive including video. But overall, it worths all the spendings!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skydiva2009, frontline sales and marketing at Skydive Wanaka, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to skydive with us here and Wanaka - we are so pleased to hear that we were the highlight of your trip :-) Regarding the price of our skydive - you will find that we have the widest range of camera options available in New Zealand, at the same if not cheaper price than any other skydive operator. So pleased to hear that you loved your skydive with us, and thank you for taking the time to write a review ! See you next time you are in NZ :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    15
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Outstanding views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were driving out of Wanaka to Queenstown and saw Skydive from the road. It was a beautiful day so we said why not. The staff were great and we were in the air 30 minutes later. 15,000 feet and a beautiful freefall later we were on our way to Queenstown with big grins on our faces and our wallet a little lighter :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skydiva2009, frontline sales and marketing at Skydive Wanaka, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
That is brilliant!! We love it when people call in to see us, and decide that now is the time !!!

When the weather is beautiful, why wait !?!! So great to hear that the crew looked after you and that you had some big smiles for the rest of your journey ! Thank you so much for choosing to drive on in and see us !!


(Future customers - We always love it when people call in to see us, but if you are on a tight schedule please note that we do recommend booking in advance incase we are fully booked at the time that you call in)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING SKYDIVE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I just took the 15000ft skydive and it was incredible! I was strapped up to an experienced sky diver who made me feel really relaxed. Jumping out the plane was terrifying but as soon as I was free-falling it was so much fun, I couldn't stop yelling and laughing the whole whole way down! Another diver jumped with me filming and taking photos which were hilarious to see afterwards! The views over the southern alps were spectacular, being able to see out to Mt Cook and Mt aspiring. All in all it was just a fantastic experience and it is definitely worth doing! Thanks Lake Wanaka Skydive!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skydiva2009, frontline sales and marketing at Skydive Wanaka, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks for posting such a fantastic review !! Great to hear that your tandem master made you feel relaxed and that you loved your freefall experience. Awesome to hear that you took in the views of the southern alps on the way down !! Thanks for choosing to do your skydive with us here in Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Super skydive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

From the moment we booked the staff were extremely friendly, and putting us at ease.

The outfit was well run, with knowledgeable staff, excellent facilities (including a cool plane like cinema) and good skydive buddies.

Overall a very enjoyable experience that would definitely do again. The extra photo option was well worth it, with lots of fond memories and hundreds of photos and a well edited DVD to look for, we will certainly be back

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skydiva2009, frontline sales and marketing at Skydive Wanaka, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your brilliant review and for choosing to skydive with us here in Wanaka. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and that the crew took great care of you. Enjoy your videos and photos - and we look forward to seeing you again one day soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place, price is reasonable. Experienced instructor who guide you where to look and smile on the camera. Good HD camera shots, selectable video's songs, heaps of pictures!! Just prepare yourself for an amazing experince of a lifetime and strap-on a beautiful stranger to jump off!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skydiva2009, frontline sales and marketing at Skydive Wanaka, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your review Alex !! Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here in Wanaka and that you've got a huge selection of photos to remind you of your skydive !! Thank you for choosing to skydive with us here in Wanaka :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skydive Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Skydive Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skydive Wanaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.