We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast small town south island NZ.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shawty's Cafe

Shawty's Cafe
4 Market Place, Twizel 7901, New Zealand
03 435 3155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Twizel
Cuisines: Diner, Pizza, Café, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Since its beginnings in 2005, Shawtys has built up a strong reputation, synonymous for fine food and great espresso. A destination in the Mackenzie Country. Open 7 days from 8.30am till late over the summer months with reduced hours during the winter season. Shawtys has a full breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, and cabinet food available, and our chef's are committed to providing you with great qualiy food at an affordable price. With a comprehensive gourmet pizza menu and great range of gluten free and vegetarian options there is something to suit everyones taste.Step into warm surroundings and take in the "New York" inspired decor. Shawtys recently underwent an amazing facelift and would not be out of place in a bustling city scene. A new look has led to a renewed focus on excellent quality wines and an array of craft beers. Shawtys offers a dining experience of high standard in a relaxed setting, perfect for an intimate dinner with friends or larger gathering. We aim to leave a lasting impression on our customers with great service and we invite you to check us out.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent breakfast small town south island NZ.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Looking for good coffee and a feed traveling remote NZ. Found it here. Excellent, cosmopolitan, great playlist hiding, great coffee. Go there.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    38
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Shawty's Pancakes are the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I don't have to tell you a lot about this place. We were in Twizel for couple of days and both the days we had our breakfast here and dinner at this place. Great place for breakfast (pan cakes are the best) and amazing atmosphere at night.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food (including gluten free)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Really great food and great staff in the heart of the Twizel township. I especially recommend this place to anyone looking for gluten free. They are very careful with gluten free and have some great tasting options. Even a highly sensitive ceoliac like myself can enjoy their food, safe in the knowledge that it is gluten free

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Pizza in Twizel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was the second time we had visited this cafe and like last time the pizza we had was just fantastic. Fresh local salmon is used and was delicious. Was a bit disappointed in the wine list but the one sav that they sell by the glass was really nice but it would be good if you added a few more by the glass wines to the menu. Not everybody can get through a whole bottle especially if you are just travelling through. The restaurant is clean and staff are friendly. The thing I love about this cafe is that at the end of the meal they run through what you had and then give you an itemised receipt! Well done Shawty's!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food at right price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Shawty's Café : a very good place in Twizel even more if you wish to have free internet access.
First of all the food is of good quality, well presented and the staff is very helpful.
Presentation on the plates is a bit French school which is a sign of care : you also eat with you eyes ! The menu offers a good variety and the bar, with its colour changing led lights, offers like a lounge atmosphere. Sure the place to be at the end of the week !
For ordering some drinks, you get a free limited access to the internet !
Twizel is the cheapest village to stay near Mount Cook and in matter of supermarkets and restaurants you'll find all you need !

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shawty's Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Shawty's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shawty's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.