We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hunters Cafe & Bar

Hunters Cafe & Bar
2 Market Pl, Twizel 8773, New Zealand
(03) 435 0303
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Twizel
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Christchurch New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Over the years have been in here a bit for coffees and lunches. Always welcoming and friendly. Great coffees and food presented nicely.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    2
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Arrived on the Friday nite in Twizel and went here for our evening meal, just happened to be happy hour as well. Had the Burgers....wow they were fantastic and great value. Really great atmosphere with a singer entertaining and the restaurant was packed, a very popular place. The staff were friendly and helpful, so much so we went back for another meal two nites later.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelers Hill, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christmas hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

When all else was closed in Twizel on Christmas day, we decided to set up on the outdoor table and chairs with a small picnic lunch, however we had no soft drink left. On seeing us through the window, a very thoughtful owner of Hunters Cafe and Bar, opened the shop doors, welcomed us to stay there, and brought out two glasses of ice, a lovely refreshing bottle of cider and bon bons to celebrate the lunch. We were so grateful, and felt that the hospitality shown was just wonderful, thank you Cheryl.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“Worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Walked out after a hour waiting for our food and it was only main course only never offered us water never cleared our 5 empty classes and very disorganised totally disgraceful

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slow service, rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I can't even comment on the food at this point, because I'm writing this review at the restaurant (the big bonus is the free wifi) where my husband and I have been waiting for 1.5 hours for a basic order of fish and chips. We have now inquired 3 times with the staff as to how our order was coming along, especially as we watched the tables around us, all of whom arrived and ordered after us, get their meals. One woman (tall, long blonde hair, tattoos down her arm) was quite short with us and told us that it just depended on what we ordered. When we asked why we were seeing other people get the same orders as us, she just didn't answer. It's a cute place, and perhaps the order was just lost/misplaced, but they should have just fessed up and apologized instead of blowing it off.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunters Cafe & Bar also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Hunters Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunters Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.