We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hunters Cafe & Bar

Hunters Cafe & Bar
2 Market Pl, Twizel 8773, New Zealand
(03) 435 0303
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Twizel
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Whanganui, NZ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

A disappointing meal, so much so that I didn't bother with desert. My meal seemed to me to be prepared by someone going through the motions but without any finesse. Consequently the chicken was overcooked and tough and I didn't finish. However I was welcomed and served by friendly staff and it was a warm pleasant place on a cool evening. Perhaps I chose the wrong dish.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    2
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh local produce...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Twizel is a sleepy little place and there are only a few places to eat. Hunters offered a simply menu but the quality of what we had was great. What particularly impressed was the use of good local produce. I had a lucious piece of locally farmed venison cooked to perfection and my partner had a big chunk of locally caught and cured smoked salmon which was the best she had ever tasted. No fancy cooking here - it's just simple stuff, done very, very well.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Food at Hunters is equal to if not BETTER than Fleurs at Moeraki.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We were introduced to "Hunters" on our 2010 visit to Twizel, when I ordered the Blue Cod - OMG, Magnificent. We had our 2nd visit in December 2011 for lunch and the Warm Chicken Salad was that good that we went back the very next day for lunch again!!.
Highly recomend Hunters for the food and the service and recomend Twizel for just being Twizel. 10 out of 10 guys.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretty good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

Only staying in Twizel as a overnight. Called into Hunters after a walk into the town. We both had steak it was good. Friendly bar with many locals having a great Sunday afternoon in the sun.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Just too salty !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We ordered a soup and a pasta meal but could not finish them as it was way TOO SALTY. Despite providing them with our feedback, nothing was done to rectify the problem. Management needs to check on the quality of their food to ensure they are edible ! The only consolation was the fireplace as it was cold outside.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunters Cafe & Bar also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Hunters Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunters Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.