We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matuka Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Matuka Lodge to your Saves list
Matuka Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   395 Glen Lyon Road, Twizel 7944, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wow, what a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Certainly one of the most beautiful hotels we stayed in during our holiday in New Zealand. Arriving in Twizel you wonder where the directions are taking you. The middle of nowhere would be a good description I guess, but then you arrive at the Matuka Lodge. What a beautiful spot to relax and enjoy nature. The room is luxurious, clean and spacious. Free wifi available at a good speed. Hosts are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a treat! The view is very charming with the pond in front the room. Located near Mount Cook and the Tasman glacier it is the ideal location to stay. We didn't get to see Mount Cook, because it was covered in clouds both days we were there. The trip to the Tasman Glacier was worth it anyway. In my opinion the Matuka lodge is a far better place to stay than the hotels in the Mount Cook village. It's a bit of a drive from the lodge to the glacier but certainly worth it. I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
67
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

My favourite place to stay in South Island, Matuka Lodge is a beautifully designed modern building with an elegant interior, and delightful, attentive hosts. Guests are thoroughly spoiled – every possible requirement is provided and it is very hard to leave and move on! There are fabulous views of a gorgeous plant fringed pool, stocked with entertaining fish, and beyond, animals grazing on land reminiscent of African plains, with snowy mountains in the distance. Come prepared to take loads of photographs of this wonderful view. Nearby Twizel is a pleasant place with some very good restaurants and friendly people. There is more to explore here than you would at first think, and it is a good location for visiting Mount Cook (better weather than up in the Mount Cook village for a start!). If we can visit New Zealand again, we will be back, and hopefully stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Twizel is only on the road of...the glacier, between queenstown and christchurch,....Not really other interest to stay there except the nature and..the matuka lodge. Superb accomodation , tastefuly decorated, in the middle of an ocean of tranquility. The place to be to stay in confort in the middle of the poweful nature and not far of your feelings of wellbeing. Matuka leave your problem far along the road. Your hosts are perfect, the breakfast too. Definitel if you have to going somewhere there (and yhe mt cook is not far) we are matuka lodge

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Set in the spectacular countryside around Twizel with views to the Mount Cook range Matuka lodge offers extremely well appointed accommodation in private suites all with views over a small trout pond. Russell and Rosalie make you feel at home and provide wonderful breakfasts and evening drinks when you can meet other guests and share your days experiences. For the flyfisher Russell has a wealth of knowledge about the local rivers and will guide you to some of the best fishing in the area. Twizel has a selction of restaurants for evening meals and the lodge is situated within an easy drive of Mount Cook and the lakes for those that want to explore.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night on our journey to Queenstown from Mount Cook. Good rooms and great views...and a man made lake outside the room although i couldnt spot any fishes in it :(.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We spent 3 weeks in November 2010 touring the North and South Islands and we can wholeheartedly recommend Matuka Lodge. The 3 nights we spent here were the most expensive of our trip but were well worth it. When booking we chose Matuka Lodge as we wanted somewhere to relax after a hectic 2 week tour and looked forward to some exhilarating walks in the area – and we were not disappointed. Rosalie and Russell were extremely helpful and welcoming. The breakfasts were superb, the bedroom and bathroom both beautifully appointed (with amazing views even in the rain) and there were additional touches that we appreciated: it is the first time anyone has cleaned our car windscreen whilst we had our breakfast – thank you Russell- and Rosalie appeared with a large umbrella to keep us dry when we arrived in heavy rain. We won’t hesitate to recommend it to friends and hope to return one day when the weather is warmer so that we can sit outside and relax.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I recommend a Matuka Lodge holiday for all world weary travellers.A superb location with excellent accommodation. One can spend hours in quiet contemplation gazing at snow capped mountains and glorious scenery.
The hosts are extremely delightful and enhance the whole experience with their good humour and charm.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Matuka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matuka Lodge

Address: 395 Glen Lyon Road, Twizel 7944, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Matuka Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the magic of Matuka Lodge, situated in a tranquil rural setting, 3km from Twizel, gateway to Mt Cook National Park, halfway between Christchurch and Queenstown. Choose from one of our four luxurious king rooms, each with a stunning mountain view, and enjoy 5 star comfort in a casually elegant atmosphere. An exceptional experience awaits you at Matuka Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Matuka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matuka Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.