We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wee pitstop...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Chalet Motels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Chalet Motels to your Saves list
Mountain Chalet Motels
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Wairepo Road | Canterbury, Twizel, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely wee pitstop...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped here to break up the long drive between Queenstown and Christchurch and it was an enjoyable place to visit. After a mix up with our chalet we were given a bigger family chalet which had plenty of room and comfortable beds. The chalet were a bit dated, but were clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    62
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
32
77
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a great stay. Was very comfortable and clean and a great deal. Comfy beds and great customer service. The motel was in close location to all the amenities. Not a far drive from both lake tekapo and mount cook.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Steam was in the laundry room - it was that point in the trip where we needed to refresh our luggage contents.

Our chalet was good value and met all our needs.

Twizel itself is like a remote motorway service area en-route to Mt Cook

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here last night , great to be able to bring our little dog too. Bed was pretty uncomfortable but clean ! Cute chalets, nice bathroom and appreciated the real coffee and plunger in the functional kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at the Mountain Chalet on January 8th of this year. My trip that day brought me from Greymouth by way of Arthur's Pass and Geraldine so it was a long day's drive.

The cabin was semi-detached but there was no noise problem from the adjacent cabin. For the most part the facilities were comfortable without being overly extravagant. I was able to use the internet while I was there though reception was a bit spotty. The man at reception was friendly and offered some advice about local restaurants (including a voucher for Poppies which was a very short walk from the cabins). All in all, it was fairly unassuming but, given that Twizel is a very small town and the surrounding scenery was spectacular I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Pretty well any cabin is good. The ones near the road are still fairly set back from traffic so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

You get what you pay for at Mountain Chalet. It is clean, fairly basic but perfectly adequate and we can't complain! Unlike previous reviews we had no issues with our room smelling, or with the customer service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We broke up a long ride with an overnight stay in Twizel. While the Mountain Chalet was adequate, it wasn't particularly comfortable. The beds were lumpy and a bit musty smelling and the bathroom was small and in need of refreshing. There was one roll of toilet paper and if we hadn't had extra with us we would have been in trouble. This is a 3 star facility and one has to remember that 3 stars denote basic facilities. The Mountain Chalet fulfills that criteria and not one bit more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Chalet Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Motels

Address: Wairepo Road | Canterbury, Twizel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Chalet Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Chalets is situated in Twizel, 40 minutes’ drive from Mount Cook, on State Highway 8 between Christchurch and Queenstown. This picturesque site is on the doorstep to some of New Zealand’s finest scenery. Located in the Mackenzie Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Chalet Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Hotel Twizel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Chalet Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.