We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Chalet Motels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Chalet Motels to your Saves list
Mountain Chalet Motels
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Wairepo Road | Canterbury, Twizel, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here last night , great to be able to bring our little dog too. Bed was pretty uncomfortable but clean ! Cute chalets, nice bathroom and appreciated the real coffee and plunger in the functional kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    75
    27
    9
    1
See reviews for
35
92
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at the Mountain Chalet on January 8th of this year. My trip that day brought me from Greymouth by way of Arthur's Pass and Geraldine so it was a long day's drive.

The cabin was semi-detached but there was no noise problem from the adjacent cabin. For the most part the facilities were comfortable without being overly extravagant. I was able to use the internet while I was there though reception was a bit spotty. The man at reception was friendly and offered some advice about local restaurants (including a voucher for Poppies which was a very short walk from the cabins). All in all, it was fairly unassuming but, given that Twizel is a very small town and the surrounding scenery was spectacular I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Pretty well any cabin is good. The ones near the road are still fairly set back from traffic so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

You get what you pay for at Mountain Chalet. It is clean, fairly basic but perfectly adequate and we can't complain! Unlike previous reviews we had no issues with our room smelling, or with the customer service!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We broke up a long ride with an overnight stay in Twizel. While the Mountain Chalet was adequate, it wasn't particularly comfortable. The beds were lumpy and a bit musty smelling and the bathroom was small and in need of refreshing. There was one roll of toilet paper and if we hadn't had extra with us we would have been in trouble. This is a 3 star facility and one has to remember that 3 stars denote basic facilities. The Mountain Chalet fulfills that criteria and not one bit more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The owner of the motel basically was aweful in helping visitors. He showed no interest at all in answering our questions in regards to getting around the town and tourist hot spot. As soon as we stepped into our room, we noticed that our room was filled with this horrible odour. The smell was similar to when a toilet has not been cleaned for a while.

I would not recommend this motel to anyone nor I would ever stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A charming motel, with a number of triangle shaped units, fairly basic but good to spend one night. The room was clean and had everything you needed including good cooking facilities and a microwave.

TV was very basic with only local channels. The room was cold and the sink in the bathroom was almost unusable as the taps were too close to the edge!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The rooms are basic but clean and adequate. It is a good base for exploring the twizel and mount cook area. It was good value for money. The staff were friendly and there was good information on the nearby amenities in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Chalet Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Motels

Address: Wairepo Road | Canterbury, Twizel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Chalet Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Chalets is situated in Twizel, 40 minutes’ drive from Mount Cook, on State Highway 8 between Christchurch and Queenstown. This picturesque site is on the doorstep to some of New Zealand’s finest scenery. Located in the Mackenzie Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Chalet Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Hotel Twizel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Chalet Motels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.