We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omahau Downs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Omahau Downs to your Saves list
Omahau Downs
Twizel SH8 , New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

First, this is not a fancy place. It is a 'working high country farm with spectacular Mt Cook views.'

We stay in 0* to 5* lodgings. This place would probably have 1* or 2* rating. But, do not let the turn you away (unless you require fancy everything and have no interest experiencing a wonderful area of the south island of New Zealand). We had reservations for 2 nights (had requested 3 but not available). Having been there were would recommend at least 3 nights. We are also considering contacting the owners and seeing if we could get a long lease and build our own cabin (rent when we not there).
Be aware, the town of Twizel is very small (but new stores opening). Be sure to bring anything special you like. Like extra wine. We stayed in a fully self contained cabin.

If I write everything that was good about the place/area it would be way to long.

Pros: Close to Mt Cook, Mt Hood observatory, unique sites (you must ask the owners for directions, this is local knowledge stuff), river in back section, walk in fields (take shoes easy to clean as plenty of sheep dropping), Gus the dog (incredible/fun black lab), star gazing, 'outdoor wood fire bath.' Have never seen anything like it. If you stay at this place, book bath in advance. If you don't use it, go look.

Cons: Wanted to stay longer but no room available and town is very small. Plan accordingly and take supplies.

For us, based on overall experience and for price paid. Is on our list of 'best of the best.'

Again, not fancy, but you ARE NOT roughing it either. Most of the people we met staying there appeared to be well-to-do New Zealanders. That should tell you something.

  • Liked — Location to surrounding activities (hiking, fishing, mountains, sites, vistas, +)
  • Disliked — Is rather remote. Take surplus of supplies (wine, beer, specialty foods, etc)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    24
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
79
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

My husband and I stayed here on a stop-over before we went to Mount Cook. We stayed in the backpacker lodge and it was a fantastic value for our money. For $50 NZ we got a clean room, and shared bathroom, kitchen/dining room and living area. There were 2 other rooms in the lodge who were occupied by mature and interesting travellers.
The location is somewhat remote but the lodge was cozy - it felt like we were staying with friends (roaring fire in the fireplace, lots of magazines/brochures to read). The owners are very friendly and offered tips for a walk to see the sunset on Mount Cook. Overall it was the best value for our money of our entire trip to NZ.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of 2007. We had the twin room which was basic but fine for one night (no tv, you share it in the living room). The view from the deck was amazing. We were lucky to have a perfect view of Mount Cook (it had been obscured for the week before!). Breakfast was great, cooked and served up by the owners in front of you. You also have breakfast with the other people staying there (4 rooms in total) which is a great chance to chat about what you've done/going to do. A really nice place to stay if you are on a budget.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2006

Omahau Downs was the saving grace to our disappointing Mount Cook visit. From the outside, it wasn't appealing but our perception changed when we stepped in.

The room was big for just 2 of us and the view deck was a treat to the eyes. On a clear day, you are able to see Mount Cook (we missed it of course). Nearer the lodge, you get to see the sheep grazing the grass. A refreshing and peaceful sight indeed. It also serves as a good base if you are traveling up to Mount Cook.

There are 4 rooms in the lodge and they share a common living area. We (there were 4 of us) were fortunate to have the living area all to ourselves. Breakfast is also served in the living. Tip: You must try the host's egg omelette...highly recommended! Both Nic and Shawn (i hope i get their names right) are friendly and gave us many tips for our next destination.

The not-so-good:
- we almost had to find an alternative place for the night as strong winds damaged the electrical supply. pray hard it doesn't happen to your stay!
- you are in the middle of nowhere, the nearest stores are about 5 minutes drive away in Twizel town centre. (no big deal tho)

  • Liked — everything about it!
  • Disliked — not that I can think of
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omahau Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omahau Downs

Address: Twizel SH8 , New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Omahau Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omahau Downs Twizel
Omahau Downs Hotel Twizel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omahau Downs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.