We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Court Motel - Twizel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aspen Court Motel - Twizel to your Saves list
Aspen Court Motel - Twizel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   10 Mackenzie Drive | Twizel, Twizel 7901, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waimate, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My son and I stayed here in 2013 and when we came into Twizel last night and a party of 3, I didn't hesitate in booking here again. Would have to be one of my favorite motels it's nicely set up and very friendly service. We also walked up to Razza's Bar for a very nice pub meal.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    91
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
143
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Its a no frills motel with a very basic exterior but the room is just beautiful. We stayed here for a night after a drive from Christchurch and left quite early next morning for Mount Cook. Rooms are big and comfortable. Bathrooms are good sized and the kitchen unit has everything that you would need. Twizel is a cute little town and fallen leaves in the lawn next to the motel gave a lovely feel of the autumn. Owners are very good people and very helpful, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We spent two nights here, traveling as a couple + relative.

Room was big, comfortable, quiet (although most of the rooms seemed occupied). Roll out bed for the third person was in fact a cupboard bed which I am told was very comfortable.

Great to have a spa bath after a day up and down mount john, and the following day after going up and down Sealy Tarns :)

Cooking facilities and cutlery/crockery pristine.

Laundry service on premises saved the day for us, and owner as full of great advice on what to do on the next leg of our journey (road to Dunedin).

WiFi was free and worked perfectly, but was not unlimited (100mb/day, very reasonable unless you are planning to spend the day watching movies or skyping..)

Twizel in itself a is perfect base for exploring Tekapo or Mt Cook, with a few eateries, a supermarket and an affordable petrol station.

Would definitely go back if I were staying around here again, and would strongly recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here on the 10th April at the beginnning of our NZ trip, i cannot praise this small motel enough, The rooms are a good size and offer some cooking and breakfast facilities, including cutlery and crockery, it was excellent, so clean and confortable. You're within a short walk of the shopping and restaurant area of the town, which is very easy to get around. As the previous review said the town has a lot of soul. The owners are very nice people and so easy to deal with, would highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: We had the rooms with the sliding glass doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

A lovely motel for an overnight stay in the Aoraki lakes region. The rooms are a good size and offer some cooking and breakfast facilities, including cutlery and crockery. You're within a short walk of the shopping and restaurant area of this former hydro town, which is very easy to get around. The town also has more "soul" than its more touristy counterpart, Lake Tekapo. The motel owners and staff were very easy to deal with and everything went smoothly. All in all, a good experience that I'd recommend to others.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. These have a glass sliding door opening out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Spent three nights here and was very impressed. The owner was really helpful and friendly and when I mentioned fishing he was able to make some good suggestions and provide helpful advice. The room was very comfortable, very clean, and very quiet despite being full on all 3 nights. The kitchenette facilities were sufficient for simple self catering. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom facilities excellent although I didn't take advantage of the spa bath. Parking can be a bit tricky as there is not a lot of room.
Twizel is a handy place to stay for visits to Mt Cook and there is a good supermarket.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile


Stayed for 2 nights, it initially wasn't our intention to stay in Twizel but we couldn't get accommodation at Lake Takapo and so glad fate stepped in. What an interesting place, full of history which our lovely host Colin was happy to share. He also advised on great places to eat, we had a lovely breakfast at Poppies and a very interesting night in the pub- Razz bar and bistro. He also advised on things to do and walks local to the area, including an old sheep shearing shed. The room was a good size, very clean and comfortable, but if staying in room 1 be prepared for any lie in to be disturbed by noise from the motels laundry, although it didn't bother us as we were up anyway.
Would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Court Motel - Twizel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Motel - Twizel

Address: 10 Mackenzie Drive | Twizel, Twizel 7901, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Motel - Twizel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anneke and Aaron Stewart Welcome you to Aspen Court Motel Twizel.This is a Luxury 15 Unit Modern Motel in the Heart of the Mackenzie Country Twizel New Zealand we offer Continental and Cooked Breakfast and Take Pride in you having the Best Stay Possible. We are now Selling a Range of "International Foods" and "Gluten Free Gourmet Fudge". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aspen Court Motel - Twizel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Twizel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Court Motel - Twizel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.