We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Court Motel - Twizel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aspen Court Motel - Twizel to your Saves list
Aspen Court Motel - Twizel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   10 Mackenzie Drive | Twizel, Twizel 7901, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Superb Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Aspen Motel in March 2010. The price was very reasonable but the standard wasn`t, it was absolutely superb. We had 3 1/2 weeks in the South Island and it was in the top 3 that we stayed at. The comfort, standard and cleanliness for the price was amazing. Unfortunately the hosts had gone away to a funeral but the fellow who was looking after us was a very satisfactory substitute. After traveling all day we were looking for such a motel and we thank the owners for providing us with such accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    92
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
36
145
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We received the friendliest welcome ever and were shown to the cleanest room we stayed in for our entire trip. The spa bath was massive and the central heating kept us warm at night. We were helped with ideas for walking at Mt Cook & the local area and there is also a book exchange in the office if you have gone through your holiday reading. We look forward to returning on our next trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspen09Twizel, Owner at Aspen Court Motel - Twizel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank You so much for the great review you gave us,it was our pleasure to have had you stay with us.We have just won an excellent award on Trip Advisor and it is all thanks to your wonderful reviews from great guests like yourselves that come and stay with us.
Many Thanks,
Sue and Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
519 helpful votes 519 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

With the Mt. Cook Village accommodation choices being either spartan or pricey, Twizel (pronounced twy-zel, not twizzle, alas) is a far better value and still pretty convenient, with Mt. Cook Village a 45 minute drive up the shore of Lake Pukaki with a spectacular view of the mountains on the way. Aspen Court served us well.

Our large rooms were clean and neat, with comfortable beds and adequate bathrooms. Kitchen facilities in the room included microwave and fridge, so our group was able to make nice hot breakfasts with supplies from the nearby supermarkets. Our room was on the end by the road, but road noise was not a problem.

The free wi-fi advertised by the sign out front was a $5 voucher for 50 Mb per day, enough for checking email and limited web browsing on a fairly slow connection that slowed to a stop from time to time.

Tip: If you want a nice dinner with cheerful, friendly young servers, try Shawty’s in the shopping center.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Pines, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We selected this Motel based on other reviews as a base to explore mount cook area, the hotel didn't disappoint us at all. The managers were really help full at all times. Twizel is 45 minutes drive from Mt Cook Village, the drive is really nice with plenty of opportunities to picture lake Pukaki and Mt Cook.
I will definitely stay in this motel again

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night during a driving tour of the South Island. It has standard-size rooms and a standard arrangement of bed, furniture, TV etc. inside. It's virtually at the center of Twizel (which is not large so everything is almost within walking distance) and on a fairly busy street corner. All the rooms were filled when we were there and we were a bit worried about noise, but it turned out to be no problem, the sound insulation seems OK. Wireless internet was free, but the signal wasn't always strong enough to work anywhere in the room (we ended up working with our laptop standing up right next to the door). You get pretty much what you pay for and expect here. The host couple were very friendly.
Next morning we drove up to Mount Cook (Aoraki) in great weather and got spectacular views of the Southern Alps. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

First night on the South Island and wasn't sure of the quality of motels but was thrilled with these accommodations. Large living space, super clean, comfortable beds and absolutely wonderful water pressure in the shower. Would recommend this motel to anyone traveling on the South Island who wanted a reasonably priced place to stay in a quiet community.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We booked a studio room but was upgraded to a one bedroom unit. That was a real sweet deal. Apart from my mom who tried to persuade me to cancel our trip to Queenstown (because she really liked the place), our one year old son, was truly happy crawling and cruising along the furniture and not to mention he had his real bath tub experience in this motel. The next morning, the sun rises right in front of our bedroom window. Awesome, awesome, awesome experience.

This unit came with a fantastic fully equipped kitchen. We truly had a blast.

Sweet!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Court Motel - Twizel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Court Motel - Twizel

Address: 10 Mackenzie Drive | Twizel, Twizel 7901, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspen Court Motel - Twizel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anneke and Aaron Stewart Welcome you to Aspen Court Motel Twizel.This is a Luxury 15 Unit Modern Motel in the Heart of the Mackenzie Country Twizel New Zealand we offer Continental and Cooked Breakfast and Take Pride in you having the Best Stay Possible. We are now Selling a Range of "International Foods" and "Gluten Free Gourmet Fudge". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Aspen Court Motel - Twizel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Court Hotel Twizel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Court Motel - Twizel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.