We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for stopover.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of High Country Holiday Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added High Country Holiday Lodge to your Saves list
High Country Holiday Lodge
23 Mackenzie Drive, Twizel, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good for stopover.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Separate cabin-like buildings each containing a dozen or so rooms. Our room was ensuite - clean but a throw back to the 70's.
It had cutlery, crockery, kettle and toaster which was handy for breakfast.
The common kitchen however was small despite having all the equipment you may need. That particular evening the motel was fully booked so the kitchen was full of people trying to navigate around it.

The location of the motel is great, in the middle of town with a range of shops and eating establishments. Twizel is set amongst the Alps and only two minutes back to the main road.
Good for one night but in need of some updates.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    13
    12
    5
See reviews for
5
20
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Well located next to shops. Nice open field for the kids to play. Basic and clean facilities. Self contained unit with cooking facilities. Twizel is a great place to be near the lakes and mountains. Recommended as a base to explore the area

Room Tip: Can park car under a tree for shade or infront of unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I arrived at the holiday lodge and was checked in immediately. I stayed in a 2 bed dorm, which was very comfortable and clean. It had its own sink, fridge and TV too. The communal showers were powerful and cleaned daily. The owners, Chris and Christine were incredible. As I was travelling alone from the UK, they made me feel extremely welcome. Even around their busy schedules, they would always stop and chat to me about my day, and recommend activities around the area. The kitchen and communal area were good, and always kept clean. Thank you to the lovely owners for making my stay thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz Josef, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Totally recommend this place for any group stays.Faclities, location to the town centre ,pricing are spot-on while the helpfulness of Chris the owner, sorting bikes, smoking a freshly caught salmon and generally having heaps of local knowledge to pass on was great. Rooms clean and comfortable, great hot showers.... all in all an excellent base to explore the McKenzie country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The place was just amazing, the owners and the people who work at there, are realy friendly, make us feel like in home... All the facilities was ok, everything clean and tidy... 100% recomendable for couples or friends groups too! even for season workers or anglers like me! who are expecting catch a big salmons!!!!


Thanks a lot Chris!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The staff were really friendly & helpful.

The room was clean, the kitchen was a bit of a fight when everyone wanted to cook at once but provided all the necessary provisions.

The bunk I was staying in could have done with a screwdriver! Noisiest bed ever! But apart from that very happy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed here one night in a Studio with kitchette, the room has all facilities. Heating is the only drawback. Room was clean and neat. The receptionist or Owner, not sure who he is seems to be bit rude and not quite helpful. If you are planning for a stopover or one night night stay this is a good one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
0.3 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
16.7 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
3.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspen Court Motel - Twizel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
2.2 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#2 of 6 in Twizel
5.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lakeside Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Holiday Lodge

Address: 23 Mackenzie Drive, Twizel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your High Country Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Country Holiday Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.