We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay, look no further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mackenzie Units Motel

Mackenzie Units Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Twizel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mackenzie Units Motel
126 Mackenzie Drive, Twizel, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Twizel
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay, look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We really enjoyed our two nights in the Mackenzie units. The staff could not have been more helpful even finding me an iron when I needed one. The bed was super "comfy" giving us two great nights of sleep. There was a large living room with kitchen including a full sized stove as well as a microwave. We headed the warnings about the hot water and so had shorter showers and consequently did not have a problem. Having free wifi was great as was having a washing machine to do our washing. There was also helpful travel information available. Both heating and cooling worked well. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There are only two units both identical. Sorry no fitness centre...could not undo one I had touched...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
henham
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were near to the end of our hols in NZ and were booked in to stay in this hotel...motel ..nearly all the accomadation we had in NZ was excellent only to be let down. By this one only good things were large room and was clean. No safe in the room no water in the fridge no wifi in the room and have to pay 5dollors for wifi there was a bad smell in the corridors all the staff seemed to have been badly trained,resturant was ok ,breakfast was poor,and badly organised

Room Tip: Delux were all large and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jl_ck
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stumbled on these units unexpectedly. Initially we had looked at the motel when you just enter Twizel, but didn't like the look of them and saw these as we were driving around. There are only two units, but they are large, have everything you need and are very clean. the wifi was quite slow and you need to use the hot water carefully or it will go cold but otherwise was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were looking for an accommodation near the Mount Cook area and found it in Twizel: the Mackenzie Units. The rate cannot be beaten. Our unit had a very big living room with kitchen (with everything you need), two bedrooms and a simple clean bath with washing machine. The bed was good, also the WIFI. We recommend to buy fresh salmon e.g. at High Country Salmon Farm south of Twizel. Thanks our lovely host lady Claire for everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerem-maharal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

after a month travelling in new zealands roads, we came to twizel , as a base exploring mt.cook- and found these wanderful units. the units are big,very well equiped ,very very clean-just a perfect place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We came to Twizel for 2 weeks to go fishing and explore the area. We had 2 young children with us, and Mackenzie Units was just the perfect place for us. The unit was serviced to very high standards on a daily basis; sheets changed every few days, and any leftover dishes were also cleaned. It was great to have a washing mashine there with washing powder provided!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

There isn't a great range of accommodation options in Twizel. These motel units are next door to a larger complex, however these units are very modern and comfortable. Plenty of space for one - enough room for a family. I'd pick these small units over a larger establishment any time - just get in quick because these will book up quickly over summer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mackenzie Units Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie Units Motel

Address: 126 Mackenzie Drive, Twizel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Twizel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackenzie Units Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mackenzie Units Motel to your Saves list