We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and great fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour

Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour
1 Ostler Road | Leaving from the Mackenzie Country Inn, Twizel 7901, New Zealand
006434350073
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Twizel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Interesting and great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had some time to spare when we were passing through Twizel and decided on the spur of the moment to go on this tour. We are really please that we did as it was great to see one of the key filming locations for LOTR. Dawn, our guide, was very knowledgeable about the exact locations and how the scenes were composed. She also had all sorts of props (swords, flags, capes etc) to enable us to re-enact some of the battle scenes which proved to be really good fun. She was also a mine of information about how the film was shot, the preparations they had to make for the horses, the problems that occurred etc.

A really well spent couple of hours - highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    17
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Brilliant! A must-do for all fans!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you're a LOTR fan passing by Twizel, you HAVE to go on this tour. In fact, I was a little hesitant in booking the tour at first, but decided to after reading all the rave reviews. And all the rave reviews were right!

Dawn was so knowledgeable and a really good guide. She had loads of insider information which other guides on other LOTR tours did not have, especially because she was an extra in The Hobbit movies. She took us to the fields where they filmed the Pelennor Fields battle at the end of the third LOTR movie. The place itself was STUNNING. Snow-capped mountains in the background (even in the summer!) provided such a gorgeous backdrop for the tour. We were so lucky to have the sun come out on the morning of our tour after a whole week of rain that culminated in a thunderstorm the night before. Because the clouds had moved, we were able to get loads of fantastic photos at the location!

Dawn had also prepared cards with screenshots from the movies to identify and show us exactly what scene was filmed and where. We also went to the exact spot where King Theoden made his speech, which thrilled even non-fans like my husband. To know that the cast and crew had stood right where we stood was a real amazing feeling!

The 2-hour tour duration was just nice - not too short, and not too long. My only complaint would be that they had messed up the bookings a little and instead of the maximum 9 people on tour, we had had 15 people on our tour, which meant less personal attention and time to play with the props. But all in all, this tour was worth every penny!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun and entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

As fans of the LOTR series this was a very informative guided tour in the making of the third movie. Lots of interesting facts about the on set locations, production and actors. Experiencing the areas of where and how the movie scenes were filmed. The highlight was getting the family dressed up, in movie costumes' and acting out a few scenes from the movie.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Very informative, tour guide was well knowledged in this area. It was fun dressing up. If you are a fan then you should do it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This tour was wicked. Dawn is easy-going and friendly, plus she knows heaps about the films. Getting to wave Rohan flags and play with replica swords was brilliant-so much fun! You even get to act out scenes from the movie, if you want. I would recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in Lord of the Rings, anyone who wants to play with swords, and even to anyone in the area who is looking for something fun to do. Well worth it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord of the Rings Twizel Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.