We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost in the dark” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artemis B & B

Artemis B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twizel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Artemis B & B
Save
You added Artemis B & B to your Saves list
33 North West Arch | PO Box 78, Twizel, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lost in the dark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Our hosts were very obliging, but after dark Twizel is dark, very dark, and deserted! so make sure you know where Artemis B&B is! Well worth the search and a lovely view in the daylight. Near to Mount Cook if you are travelling south. Book the ensuite if you can; our room was lovely but the excellent bathroom is on the landing

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Jan and Bob made us feel extremely welcome. The bedroom was lovely and we had our own balcony from where we watched a stunning sunrise. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. Would thoroughly recommend a stay there.

Joy and Neil

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed here one night on our way to Mount Cook. Our hosts Jan and Bob were a real mine of helpful information about the town and the area. The room was great and there was even a small sitting room to relax in as well. Breakfast was super an set us up for our onward journey to Mount Cook. Artemis is a little way out of the town centre - too far to walk - but for a peaceful setting that guarantees a good nights sleep it would be hard to beat. A lovely place to stay and real value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Very comfortable en-suite room (another has private bath). Hosts very helpful, let us use computer to check email. Quiet, in country setting in Twizel. Our room needs a new mattress.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

Our hosts (Bob and Jan) made us felt very welcomed, and helped us with our touring plans. We learnt quite a bit of Twizel and the surrounding areas, just by having a small chat with Bob. For a small town, Twizel had a fair number of quality restaurants, for which our hosts were forthcoming with information, menus and directions. Our room was spacious and we had a good night's rest, but our bathroom (though exclusive to us) was outside of our room, down the short hallway. The house is set amongst a forest of pine trees and exudes a homely feel. There was a small common room with TV and coffee/tea making facilities, which is available for guests to use.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Artemis B & B is a charming house on the outskirts of Twizel which makes for a great base to explore the surrounding area. Bob and Jan were lovely hosts who really made us feel welcome in their spotless home and gave us good information on where to visit and where to eat in the area. We would happily stay again when we next pass through the area.

Tim and Vicky

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

We had too many great conversations with Jan & Bob (they've travelled widely around the world). The room is comfortable and the B & B is nice and quiet. Breakfast was great, especially the croissant. Twizel is a great base for exploring Mt Cook.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artemis B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis B & B

Address: 33 North West Arch | PO Box 78, Twizel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artemis B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.