We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 1838, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yaqeta Island
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Having been to Fiji before I knew what I was looking for in terms of accommodation. Nice rooms, beach to lie on and amazing staff. Navutu Stars was all this and more. You get the service of a 5 star resort where you would be paying $1000 + a night but for a fraction of the price. We stayed in the garden bure, which was actually cheaper than the beach ones and I would recommend this as it is only slightly back from the beach but a little more private. From the minute you arrive you feel like part of the family, with a welcome song and drink in hand. The meals at night were great and we were always looking forward to seeing what was on the menu. The only negative would be the lunch menu that never changed and I wasn't a huge fan of the choices. I highly recommend upgrading your complimentary massage to a full hour. Torika is amazing and will have you relaxed and floating on a cloud before you know it. As the maximum guests are 20, you get to know the other couples on the island well, and we have made some great friends from Australia but also across the world. We will be back to Navutu Stars again! Thanks for your amazing hospitality.

Room Tip: The Garden Bures are the same as beach just a little more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    55
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
425
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our first time in Fiji and we had an overall wonderful experience staying at Navutu Stars resort. To set the expectations, let me start with what some may consider as the downsides of the resort (although these really didn't bother us too much): 1) no boiler for making coffee / tea in the room (though you can always request for this free of charge from the restaurant); 2) hairdryer available only upon request; 3) no aircon (but this was really unnecessary when we were there, as the weather was nice and cool at night!); 4) no wifi (a pc with internet access is provided at the boutique); 5) this is not the resort for you if all you care about is diving, as it is not a "diving resort" (i.e. lack of diving facilities; however, diving trips can still be arranged); 6) menu was western style (no chance to taste traditional fijian cuisine).

Having gotten the above out of the way, if you are here just to chill and relax (no expectations to jam pack your holiday with activities), we would totally recommend this resort. We arrived via the Yasawa flyer from Port Denarau, and were greeted by staff singing a welcome song for us. Refreshment drinks were served, and we were shown to our bure (a resort villa / bungalow) by the kind resort manager. Our bure (#10) was in a fantastic location, as we felt like we were away from the rest of the guests (there are 10 bures in total at the resort, and most of the guests are couples), which gave us total peace and quiet (heaven!).

The bure was spacious, painted in all white, and had a high, impressive roof that was built in the traditional fijian way. We spent some time looking up at the roof each morning, marveling at the architecture. The bathroom was huge, as was the master bedroom, and we even had a spare room with ample space to park our suitcases and lay out our clothes. The bed was decorated with flowers and leaves with our names to welcome us, and it gave us a nice honeymoon feel (in reality, it was actually our babymoon). The sea view from our bure was fantastic, we never got enough of looking at the beautiful weather outside, and the crystal clear waters glistening in the sun.

There is only one dining area in the resort, and because the resort is pretty isolated, you will basically end up having all your meals there. Breakfast is normally included for your stay, and you have a choice of full board (i.e. meal package) or "a la carte" for lunch and dinner. We went with "a la carte", as we are both "small eaters". The Lonely Planet guide will have you think of the food as italian fare, but we prefer to call it generic western style food. On the first day of our trip, our meals were kind of a letdown. I ordered spaghetti aglio olio, and it was terribly salty (on top of which a lot of parmesan cheese was added). My husband's Yasawan fish and chips were good, but not fantastic. However, from the second day onwards, there was an obvious improvement in the food and this continued all the way till the end of our trip. Our only conclusion was that the regular chef was perhaps off on Sunday when we first arrived. We particularly enjoyed the walu fish fillet dishes. The Fijian staff were all very nice and friendly, and we felt welcomed and at home throughout our stay.

Activities are planned daily, consisting mainly of snorkeling in the morning (usually around 9:45 or 10am), plantation walks / visits to the Yaqeta village (school and shell market) / kava ceremony in the afternoon. We enjoyed the daily morning snorkel (locations change everyday) tremendously, and the resort also has a coral conservation project where corals are planted on the seabed where damage had been done. The resort provides the snorkel mask and fins for free, so you can just snorkel out to visit the conservation area (resort manager will point you in the right direction).The visit to the village school was also a memorable experience, as the excited kids sang for us and were happy to have the interaction with foreigners.

On our last evening there, we made enquiries at the reception about the possibility of taking a boat trip to see the manta rays. This was apparently possible, and the reception desk not only made arrangements for a boat to take us out the next morning (before we check out in the afternoon) to see the manta rays, but also checked to make sure this was the right season where we would be able to spot them. The next morning, we found out another couple was joining us for the trip, which halved the cost of our hiring the boat (sweet!). The "manta ray channel" was near the Barefoot Lodge, one hour away from our resort by boat, and we were lucky to have three sightings of the magnificent manta ray, as well as another three sightings of sharks (we jumped into the water and snorkeled). This was definitely an unexpected highlight of our trip.

On our last night at the resort, we also got to see a performance put up by one of the Fijian staff (Wati), who happened to be our favorite waiter. He was always entertaining, and it was good fun to see him performing, as well as it being a sort of "grand finale" to our trip. We checked out the next day after the early morning boat trip to see the manta rays. The resort staff gathered round to sing us a goodbye song, and we felt sad to leave this lovely place and conclude our Fiji vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in Bure #10, it was excellent as we had a lot of privacy to ourselves and a breathtaking v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at Navutu Stars with my husband in June. It certainly wasn't budget cost (with continental breakfast) but it was what I would describe as budget accommodation. The cleanliness of our bure was highly maintained. The walls and floors were cement rendered and painted with the same white, gloss paint. Even the base to the "bed" and "headboard" was cement, making "rest" back breaking. There was no air conditioning and no in room safe. I wouldn't like to stay there when it is humid. We paid extra for a beachfront bure, however, right in front of ours, was a mangrove bush, obliterating our view. All of the other bures had a day bed - ours did not. There was a double hammock, but the small mattress was not long enough for your body and there was nothing to rest your heads on. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, although you can ask for coffee or tea from the restaurant (at no cost) if you want to leave your room to ask for it and provided there is someone there to help you. Towels were rationed - one a day for the pool - if you are lucky and the same for your room. On one day we had neither and had to dry ourselves with handtowels! The beach has a yellow (not white) sand that reaches only to where high tide reaches - beyond that - mud - it is a mangrove area! Watch the mud crabs run when the tide is out - which is most of the days. The pool is rudimentary - cement and painted. Wish the paint stuck more to the pool than it did to my legs! Its surroundings are uninviting. Alongside it is the restaurant, with noisy extractor fans. Behind it is a wall, beyond which, staff labour noisily. There are hardly any beds there and the cushions are dirty. You feel dirty staying there and frankly, you are just high tea for the many mosquitos! There are two loungers outside your room - providing an opportunity to gaze at the muddy area where the sea fills by night. The staff partied late into the night, behind our bure, preventing us from resting. When they start their day (early) they don't hold back on the noise. Behind our bure every day, they burned things (presumably to keep the mosquitos down, but I dread to think how much worse they could be) - the fumes filled our room and prevented me from sitting outside the bure. Frankly, it wasn't restful at all and I found myself a prisoner in my bure. The food at the restaurant was okay. Prices were on the average to high average. Not a lot of choice. While we were greeted by a high handed female (on arrival) who made us feel like we were naughty, unworthy children, the staff who served us at the restaurant and who cared for our bure were beautiful human beings. They were lots of fun and you couldn't help but learn to feel much affection for them. Do have a massage with the wonderful Toddy - she is fantastic. All of the waiters and waitresses were just fantastic. Overall, we did not have the restful, island experience we hoped for or expected. We feel ripped off and we couldn't recommend the resort.

Room Tip: If you want to try it - choose a garden room - it is around the corner, away from all of the dreadfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We felt like all our worries washed away here, the staff were beyond amazing, the location was stunning, the food was great. We are already planning our return trip. We flew in which was great. Our biggest regret was moving to an inferior resort for our final days - spend your whole holiday here if you can

Room Tip: go for the beach bure at the end (furthest away from the restaurant)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had the most wonderful stay at Navatu Stars. It is a quiet and peaceful place! The staff were outstanding and you really felt like part of a family, every need was met.
There are things to do if you'd like to, or plenty of space to relax in private. The beach side, private dinners were a real treat.
It was a trip that will not be forgotten!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hi,

I have gone though all the reviews before going to this place, and i must agree to most of them.

I have one question, What happened to their food, it is beyond joke, i think they might have lost their previous chef. So i suggest that if you decide to go out here to expect too much from the menu, I have eaten in many places and stayed in countless resorts but food that came out of the kitchen was close to terrible. Burned food, no flavor, and prices, well crafty how they charge you in USD to benefit from weak FIJI dollar, when every other place charges you FIJI dollars. IF you eat at FIJIs top restaurant you would pay way less than what they charge you at this place.

Apart from shocking food, i must say the place is gorgeous, their beach is well, not a beach more of a swamp but there are many activities you can do and you will enjoy that to say the least. Be prepared for "FIJI" time, if you are booking plane rides, dives, taxi rides, expect to pay close to double to what they are advertising,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Navutu for 7nights in May 2013. We had our 5year vow renewal ceremony there and it could not have been more perfect! The resort is lovely! The staff is just wonderful. They are some of the nicest people I have ever met. They make you feel right at home. Everyone knows your name right from day 1. We loved Torika's massages. Wati who worked at the restuarant and did some of the entertainment was just hilarious! Sunia made some of the best cocktails EVER! . Ed, Varani, Api, Saruvi, Mana and Samu and many others are just some of the wonderful staff there and it was a pleasure meeting everyone.

We stayed in an ocean front bure at the very end, next to the spa bure and loved it! It was nice to be at the end of the beach, even though it was the furthest from the restaurant. We felt it was more private that way. I don't think you can go wrong with any of the bures though. We took a peak at one of the garden bures and it looked really nice too, they did not have a direct view of the ocean but they were just steps away from it so I think that might be a great option if you are on a tighter budget. We also stayed in one of the grand bures for one night - it was the one with the big garden. It was nice and private and had the sunken tub but we personally preferred the ocean front bure. We met a couple staying in the other grand bure with the deck. The view from their deck was lovely and you then took some steps down to the beach. It was really nice and private. I think if you wanted to spend more money on a grand bure, I would go with that one instead.

It was a great vacation! We kept ourselves fairly busy some days and some days were more laid back. I would not hesitate choosing Navutu Stars again and my only regret is that we couldn’t stay longer! Thanks from Joel and Nana, We hope to see you all again soon! :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort

Address: PO Box 1838, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Yaqeta Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yaqeta Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navutu Stars Hotel Yaqeta Island
Navutu Stars Yaqeta Island
Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort Yaqeta Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navutu Stars Fiji Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.