We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Ayer's Cliff, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were a couple and were in a quieter wing away from the families and facilities. We didn't hear any noise and were never bothered. Dined in the adults only for breakfast and used the adults only pool, very peaceful. Amazing breakfast, food was quite good. Facilities were well maintained and presented. The most comfortable bed we have ever slept on. Extremely friendly staff who would always help out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    674
    314
    132
    104
See reviews for
1,100
477
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Recently had 7 days with my wife and 14 year old at the Shangri La Fijian. Could not fault the facilities or hospitality. Wonderful warm and welcoming staff! Very clean facilities. Food was fantastic....especially buffets. Will definitely be heading back there some day :) Great for families with kids...well catered for with two huge pools, games room, TV room, kids club and swimming in the sheltered waters.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I recently spent 15 fabulous days at the Shangri-La Fijian Resort and Spa.
The 40 minute trip from the airport was an eye opener on the conditions that the locals live in. Nothing has really changed since our first trip to the Fijian 36 years ago.

We have nothing but admiration for the Management and Staff. The check in was smooth, the room a bit dated, but we were there to relax and we did.

We had a Lagoon Room on the second floor. The views were terrific. The variety of food meant having a wide selection.

Breakfast in the Golden Cowrie Restaurant was a great way to start the day.

The only let-down was the Lagoon Terrace Buffet, while great for lunch, the dinner wasn't worth the cost, in my opinion.

We didn't have any kids with us, but I found the enjoyment expressed by those around us really made it feel like a great place to take a family. The 'Ambassadors of Fun' really had the place buzzing.

A daily brisk walk around the island took us about 25 or 30 minutes, past the golf course and the Chapel.

The only let-down wasn't caused by the Management and Staff, but rather selfish Resort guests. The lack of towels was due to the facr that towels weren't being returned after use, just left on the lounges. As for the lounges, guests were reserving them in groups, for the whole day and hardly ever using them. We observed a group gathering lounges around a shelter and then placing towels and belongings on them and then disappearing and returning a couple of hourd later to use them, causing others that needed them to miss out. This was contrary to a sign forbidding the reserving of lounges.

The trip to the local village and school is a must. The $F52 was worth it. Playing soccer with the local kids in the Primary School looked like fun. The singing of Waltzing Matilda by students was immensely enjoyable. A visit to the kindergarten was a good way to start the trip. Next time we will take small gifts for the kids to share.

The trip to the village, to partake in the Kava Ceremony, was different. Ladies on one side and Gents on the other. No hats for the boys and long dresses for the girls, part of their culture, which we willingly observed. It's a pity that Australia doesn't have any 'Culture' to speak of.

The staff were just terrific we didn't have a problem with any of them and the one thing that we contacted the front desk for was sorted promptly. No towels on check in.

We read a few unfavourable reports before we left, but these were generally unfounded.

The prices at the store were a bit pricy, but a trip to the store at the end of the causeway soon fixed that.

If you want to meet the 'real' Fijian people visit the Shangri-La, they are so friendly and don't seem to be fazed by much.

All in all we had a very relaxing time and we will be returning in the future.

I could go on, but that would spoil the fun for others.

Room Tip: If you aren't a big eater don't take a meal package...... Sometimes a pizza will suffice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was our second family trip to Fiji. This resort is large consisting of lovely open grounds, a huge pool and a fantastic beach. The resort it pretty much fully self contained with small shops and convenience stores. There is plenty to do , we enjoyed snorkling in the logoon and kayaking both of which were great fun and suitable for our girls aged 6 and 9. There is a good choice of restaurants on the property and the prices are okay (it helped to have a favourable exchange rate at the time of our trip). Only mild complaint would be that there wasnt a great deal of choice on the kids menu, actually come to think of it the adult menu was kind of limited too. However the breakfast and lunch buffet was the best I have seen. Overall a very good place to stay and if you are not too concerned about slow internet this makes for a good family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden South
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have stayed at this resort twice and loved it both times. The staff are ridiculously friendly and helpful. The food is great. There is a lot to do in the resort, particularly if you like snorkeling. Pro Tip: Snorkel out to the two poles for some spectacular snorkeling.

Room Tip: Go for a ground floor room, away from the main pools. The back doors of the ground floor rooms open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were there on the July 2014 . I think the facility there a bit too old there especially for a 5star hotel . The food quality there isn't that good as their prices . And I have booked a room package which include some free services in it , but they still appeared on my bill at the end .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Best experience we have had in a hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Amenities at the hotel were fantastic. Highly recommend for a family holiday.
Even wet weather activities arranged for the kids and adults.

Room Tip: Rooms are lovely and clean, can be a bit squashed with sofa bed down but overall excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.