We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Sarina, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

food and beverage extreamly over priced, no poolside service. adult only pool in same area as Family rooms. felt ripped off !!. Never stay here again. will be going back to Outrigger on the Lagoon....

Room Tip: If you are a Family staying here, make sure you book a Lagoon view room otherwise you will be miles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    737
    336
    144
    118
See reviews for
1,190
522
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

we had a great time there, the kids loved the pool, we really enjoyed the food at the restaurants there, there are lots of options and we were picking a different restaurant each day. will definitely be back there !!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Another great trip. Great room ,good food,cool kids club and also had a nanny for 12 days wich made things real easy service with a smile yes things take a little longer but remember its fiji embrace the pace unplug yourself and the kids and have fun.

Room Tip: Many to pick from just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydeny
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

we stayed 6 nights at the Shangri la last week.....we loved it....we stayed in the ocean view room which we found ideal as there were only 4 of us instead of 5 ( might have needed a bigger room otherwise) very happy with the cleanliness and turn down service of a night and toiletries towels etc

the staff made us feel "at home" which made it hard to leave

we had breakfast and dinner package included which was great our tab added up with drinks and ice cream

i hadnt travelled overseas in about 18 years so i made the error in getting fiji dollars rather than leaving money in bank as it is cashless basically but lesson learned

beautiful resort beautiful people would go back in a heartbeat

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have recently returned from 6 nights at the Shangrila and we had such a great time!
Rooms - needed an update. We stayed in a Lagoon view room which was perfect location as it was close to the pool and not a far walk from the restaurant and shops. The size of the room was perfect, we had lots of room to move. We were offered the pull out couch for our 3 yr old but decided not to use it. The bed was very comfortable and general amenities was okay. The bar fridge needs to be replaced it's just a bit old and wobbly, the drawers where tea and coffee were kept were a bit old too, the drawer kept falling off its rails when you opened and shut it. I think the hotel just had a general tired run down feeling to it. It just needs a general face lift. Whilst they say you get free high speed internet in the rooms, I don't actually know anyone that brings their laptops along, I saw lots of people with iPads and iPhones - they need to extend their wifi coverage. At the moment wifi can only be accessed in the lobby and the pool (which never worked for me and from what I hear from others, it didn't work for them either). There is a computer room where you can access emails etc but the computers in there are very slow so it's not very reliable.

Activities - my son was too small for the kids club so can't comment. The lagoon pool was a good size and depth. Not sure if it was generally quiet when we went but it never felt too crowded. There was maybe 1 or 2 days where there was quite a few people there but the staff took advantage of that with the activities they offered (pool basketball, races etc). It was fun to watch. There was always towels available which was great, the drinks bar and NZ natural ice cream place was also very handy. We had a couple of great days on the beach, at high tide and when the weather is wet it's quite murky and there's a lot of seaweed. On the other days it was just perfect. On the grounds there are several shops as well - Prouds, Jack's and a small place that sells food and drinks. Generally I didn't find the prices too bad, it's on par with Australia so as long as you don't expect things to be super cheap then you should be fine. We did a trip to Sigatoka one day, it was $40 return trip if booked with the hotel. We did some shopping but found prices to be similar to what they were at the resort anyway.

Food - we had the buffet breakfast in the mornings. General tip - be there early, towards late 9am to 10.30am they don't replenish the food as often and all the good pastries are pretty much gone by then. However do ask the staff, for example I was looking for fresh paw paw one day and one of the staff went to the back and cut one up for me. They're very accommodating! We didn't really eat out, we tried the buffet at the Lagoon Terrace - that was disappointing for the price you pay. We tried the lunch time specials at the Lagoon Terrace as well. The ham and cheese sandwich was pretty impressive. It's quite large and tasty - I wasn't able to eat all of it. We frequented the NZ Natural stand almost daily for smoothies etc. Room service was also pretty decent, the pizzas were pretty yummy and my son enjoyed the spaghetti and toasties. The burger was hit and miss. The prices weren't too bad in room service plus you get the convenience of it being delivered to your door (especially on nights when it's raining and you can't be bothered to get out). I had packed some snack stuff from home but we also bought some from the shop.

Spa - I visited the Chi spa which was located on the other side of the island - about 10-15min walk depending on how quick you walk. The gym was near that area and I was pretty impressed with the amount of equipment in there. I'm guessing it's in great condition as it's not used very often, there was not a soul around that area when we were walking down that way. I decided to get a massage at the beach massage bure instead due to the location. It was quite a windy day which was wonderful as it was quite open. I really think the quality of massage would have been the same as the Chi spa, the main difference would have been you're paying more for the location and the products. I was more than happy with the massage I got and it was a little less expensive than the spa.

General - Having stayed at Denarau previously we wanted to see if it was worth staying a bit further from the main town in terms of the quality of the beach. Due to the weather the beach was hardly clear. I think we'll definitely stay in Denarau next time just for the convenience of it. The staff at Shangrila were wonderful, so welcoming and accommodating. The only thing we found that was a bit annoying was room cleaning wasn't done at a particular time, sometimes it's really early at about 9am, another day it was done at 3pm so we were never sure if we were going to get fresh towels in time. There also seems to be a shortage of bath mats for some reason.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the family pool get a Lagoon room. If you don't have kids ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

had a great time the staff were great and very friendly just that they moved to slow thats right fiji time lol.the buffet breakfast was fanstastic .the lunch time pies in the piazza my kids loved .an i loved the black marlin bar at night staying up the 1pm in the morning drinking just aways take a copy of your bill on the way out an check it cause i a had few errors on my which were adjusted an fix by the staff.

Room Tip: stayed in the lagoon view room if you have kids this is the best area to stay in the resort close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my 6 night stay at the Shangri-La. Maybe not as modern as some but very relaxing, the staff so accommodating and friendly. As the place is so big you never feel crowded. Had great views from Ocean wing room, We had a $70 dollar dinner package but would not recommend that as people we talked to in resort said they had gone for dinners outside Shangri-La which were terrific. If you like peace and quiet, plenty of space and friendly, friendly, friendly, I'd definitely recommend. In regard to food on Fire Dancing Show, I loved it as there were many local dishes- rather than European ones. I thought he food on that night was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.