We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, nice pools, terrible food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, nice pools, terrible food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a stay with a bit of mixed feelings. Our kids loved it, (except the food), we - the adults - enjoyed it too - overall.

The good:
The rooms are comfy
The 3 different pools
The kids club
The general staff attitude
Beautiful sunsets, and 2 beautiful beaches, one facing the ocean/reef and one facing the lagoon.

The bad:
Having stayed at Shangri-La in other parts of the world, this one did not live up to my expectations - at all.
It could do with a major overhaul, although its not exactly at the point where I would call it dilapidated.
The food is just terrible. Having been warned about the food prior to us going, I was thinking that it cant be that bad, after all it is a Shangri-La. Even so, we were still disappointed. If food, other than french fries and pizza (both of which they do decently), is important to you then I would not chose this hotel.
The prices are exorbitant, considering the quality of food.
There are not many excursions taking their starting point around the hotel, so you have to spend 1 hour going into Nadi to get one of the yacht cruises out to the islands.

Overall rating
We feel that Shangri-La offer poor value for money when it comes to quality of its food offerings, making it an only average stay experience.

We are still positive, but for the money we paid, we expected more. Having travelled extensively over Asia and elsewhere, we feel that S.E. Asia offer much better value for money.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are quieter. 1st floor rooms have direct garden access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    675
    314
    132
    104
See reviews for
1,102
477
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had booked a 10 night stay in the resort with private veh transfers to and from the airport. The flight to FIJI from Sydney is a comfortable 3 hours, we flew FIJI Airways - it was a comfortable flight service was ok. Reception at the resort was excellent, we were upgraded for free due to our original room booking not being available. The resort is set in beautiful tropical gardens with a great pool and two very good beaches. The hotel is a little dated but was still very nice. The only real disappointment was the price of food and the meal timings. The restaurants opened at 6pm..a bit late for our 1 and 2 y.o children who are exhausted and looking for bed. the food quality for the buffet breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The buffet dinner was also very good food but at FJD$150 (Approx AUD$100) for 2 adults it was a bit pricey. The a la carte restaurants were even dearer, so if you take young children bring a back of snack foods etc for them. Basically the resort was best suited to families with older children 6-13 with plenty of activities. The kids club was good but not suited to kids under 5. Basically we went to FIJI as with our young children the flight was short, no malaria etc and very safe - if I had teenagers I would have gone to Thailand or Vietnam. IF I went back to this resort I would take the food package upgrade before arrival.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Most probably rated as our best family holiday ever. We spent 12 awesome days with the friedliest and caring staff. My kids cried the day we left. See you next year. Thanks for an amazing holiday. Fantastic location.



  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent location and arrangements all around but could be better connected to main cities. Especially there could be a better option to go and visit Suva with more time to be spent at Suva. The resort on its own is excellent and very much desirable to live infor short breaks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

It's a big resort, mostly preferred by families and it caters well for kids. It has a number of beaches, prettier than the competing Outrigger but it gives the feeling of a large resort that remains disconnected from its environment. There's too much concrete, not enough gardens and the distances between rooms and hotel services can be long on the concrete walkway. It doesn't have the magic that other alternatives in the area can convey. However, the staff are polite, pleasant and courteous and the rooms are good, albeit far from the real beachfront.

However, if you're thinking of this venue as a wedding location, things are different. The chapel is gorgeous and the honeymoon suites are beautiful too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The location is good and the rooms were good. The staff were also good. The only thing that lets this place down is maintenance on some amenities, the bicycles were terrible and basically unsafe, and the price and quality of the food and drinks. One of the salads we had was twice the price that you would pay at a good restaurant (the Tuna Nicoise $38 FJD) in Fiji and it was truly awful. As for the drinks a can of coke was $6.50 FJD and you could get it at any shop for $2 or less and $1 in a supermarket. We ordered a couple of cocktails and they were basically a fruit drink with some alcohol thrown in. They were about the same price as you would pay for a decent cocktail in Aus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were family of four including 2 teenage girls. Firstly the site of this resort on the small island is just STUNNING with a perfect open beach inside the reef on one side and sheltered sandy beach on the other side with deeper water access. Free use of 2 sailing catamarans and kayaks plus other watersport great. Perfect clear sea FAR better than the silty water at Denauru Island, we drove into 8 other resorts and we rate Shangri La the best for the things we like.

Room Tip: If you want a modern room with a flat screen TV and DVD player this is not it. BUT our rooms were co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.