We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
paramount ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I had the best 7 days of my life from the moment you arrived to the resort the people make you feel at home friendly staff. We arrived there early and are room was not ready a staff member by the name of Api who all my family felt in love with got us a beach house on the resort so we could at least go rest thank you Api for that. Also the people who clean are rooms are great I loved all the staff Selene for the Jacks Store nice lady told us some history from Fiji I recommend this resort to everyone very nice rooms and the views are beautiful breath taking. Food yes its expensive if you do the buffet dinner they call it the international buffet its expensive and its not good. We liked the Bar and Grilled located next to the pool they do hamburgers and have a trio decent price on food for that one. I'm hoping to go next time and staying at the same resort I just got back I was over there on Oct 2-Oct 8 ,2013 Best Anniversary Gift ever. The Beaches are so crystal clear and white sand I love it I was very skeptical at first because of all the bad reviews it had but the only down its food its expensive but what can u expect your in Fiji and in a beautiful resort. BULA to all the staff thank you for everything.

Room Tip: I got ocean view Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    674
    314
    132
    104
See reviews for
1,101
477
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (731)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our family of 6 thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shangi-La Fijian Resort and Spa. The beach bure (bungalow) was fantastic. The staff were all amazing. We enjoyed the water sports and the cultural activities. The food was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having heard so much about the Shangri-La Resorts I was a little disappointed with the Fiji resort. Stayed in January with three other couples and 4 teenagers. Apart from the beautiful location and friendly staff that's it. The hotel is in urgent need of update. Restaurants are expensive, drinks could be cheaper, service is very slow and the housekeeping could be more thorough. Not enough shed around pool and previous comments regarding renovations are true - my husband almost was hit in the head with a piece of guttering! Food is very bland, drinks are not cold and again expensive. Overall a little disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

First of all, if you've stayed at a Shangri-La resort before, forget that experience when you arrive here - the Fijian doesn't come close to the standard we expected based on previous Shangri-La stays such as the Boracay resort. This hotel seems ancient and it's really more than a bit depressing. Day one we were wondering whether we should see if we could switch hotels. Since we couldn't, we decided to make the best of it.

So here's the best I can say about it: the people are friendly and the kids/family activities are well run. They do a wonderful job entertaining kids with activities at the kids club and around the pool and on the lawn. I can't fault them for making an effort. It's a lovely lagoon beach and there are plenty of free water activities to enjoy - snorkeling (1 hour free per day but you have to buy the snorkel), kayaking, sailing and SUP. They also organize mixed adult & kid water basketball, water volleyball, cricket, touch rugby and football games that are a lot of fun for everyone.

BUT, the resort itself is old and tired, housekeeping is very hit or miss (every day we were missing items, e.g. towels forgotten, turn-down service arriving at 9pm, etc.), the meals (as mentioned in other reviews) are bland and expensive and the service is S.L.O.W!!! Unless you have more children in the family than adults, the buffet should be avoided - it's costly, depressingly bad, and the drinks will turn up after you have finished eating. The other restaurants aren't much better, but at least you only pay for what you eat and even paying for children, that turns out to be a better deal.

Another thing that really bothered me was the pool-side service. At most nice beach resorts we have been at (both Shangri-La and other), you can order drinks from your pool lounger, towels are replaced as needed without a daily quota, water is provided and often a little fruit or small snack will be brought by once or twice a day. Here there is nothing. You can order drinks at the poolside bar, but you have to sign out towels (one per day per person) and bring your own water. The only food you can eat poolside is pizza from the restaurant (which you have to walk to and pick up 15-25 min later, depending on how busy they are). You can't order take-away from the other beach grill restaurant with a more varied menu and nothing can be delivered to your chair. This was a first for us and if you don't want to leave the pool for what is surely going to be a long lunch (remember SLOW service), you can get pretty tired of pizza after a few days!

So enough ranting, here's where I come out on the resort: you can have a nice holiday here if you care mostly about kids activities/happiness and if you have low standards/expectations for the resort itself. If you are expecting a modern, somewhat luxury experience (given the price tag and Shangri-La brand-name), you will be sorely disappointed. The Intercontinental at Nantandola would be our choice next time if we stayed on this Island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A nice place to visit/stay as only 3-4 hrs flight away. Generally nice and fine, kids had a ball. Some things could be improved perhaps, eg fairer pricing of resort purchases, extra effort in room cleanliness, eg dusting. Nice to be close to beach/pool/restuarants/lobby/etc from the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth - Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Good location and awesome for kids. Prices r through the roof. Our room was doubled booked so was put into another room then locked out for 1.5hrs with cold wet children because no one come out let us in after disconnecting our room keys. It also took 2 hrs to deliver room service.

Kids eat free at only 1 of the restaurants.

We had a leak in our roof n all our power points blow out.

Ace the head guy at kids club is awesome.

Outrigger on the lagoon was way better value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After 5 nights with 2 children, we managed to really relax and enjoy many aspects of our trip. If you are someone who loves buffets, mega resorts, wants your children to do typical kids' club activities with thousands of other children, then this place is fine.

If on the other hand you're looking for something even remotely authentic, are slightly fussy about what food you put in your mouth, want some peace and quiet and a more unique experience, then I probably advise going out to one of the smaller island resorts.

We write this review having visited Fiji about 4 times, and stayed at various megaresorts (Westin & Sheraton in Denarau, The Warwick and Outrigger at the Coral Coast) and several small resorts in the Yasawas, Manamucas and Taveuni islands and locally with friends. And I must say, the Fijian would probably have to be our least favourite of the past 10 years of travel in Fiji's stunning places. Not to say that we wouldn't recommend it, it's good enough and there's nothng terrible about it (hence the use of the word 'bland')

Let me start by noting the great experiences:
- The staff were lovely, and I was particularly puzzled by how they managed to keep such grace and beautiful smiles with all these demands and crowds and often rudeness that was bestowed upon them. I wish them all well, they're beautiful
- Our beautiful nanny Nancy, who was so professional and knew exactly what she was doing with both our children (21 months and 5 years)
- The Kids' Club was lovely
- Fiji. The sun. The weather.
- The little sea. Remember it's the Coral Coast, with barely any colourful corals or great fish. But it's a small clean sea enclosure by the hotel, and I really enjoyed having the option of snorkelling and swimming which for example you wouldn't get as easily in Denarau

Now, the bad bits:
- I requested a 'quiet' room, twice or three times. Once when I made the reservation. I'm sure I also did it again via email. And finally when we checked in. Unfortunately, we were stuck outside of Kids' Club and in the part of resort with thousands of screaming families, and in front of the lawn where kids play football in the afternoon, making an afternoon rest impossible. I'm not sure how Shangri-la got my request wrong

- We lost our iPad and didn't realize for 3 days. As soon as I realized, I contacted reception who said they'll look into it. Of course, no one called, so I followed up 5 times, they said they contacted lost and found (or whatever the department is called) and nothing. So I went personally and asked to lodge a report. I had to have a meeting with the head of security, who informed me that investigating this loss will be time consuming (he didn't mention that he meant time consuming for him). I insisted that an investigation is launched. Lo and behold, the iPad was suddenly 'found' the very next morning. Really Shangri-la, the last thing I feel like doing on my holidays is wasting 5 hours getting ignored by your staff and having to push to get an adequate response.

- Oh and the food ! Really, I have eaten in some of the most spectacular restaurants of the world, but I'm certainly not a foodie or too fussy about food. I just love food. With one condition. It has to have some taste. I really wasn't expecting much, but I had hoped for at least one good food option. Unfortunately, there was not a single adequate meal, it was all at average or below average. I had to resort to eating Pizza as it was remotely good.

- ALL resorts in Fiji, even the smaller island resorts, are touristy. So make no mistake, we are not naive enough travellers who seek a 'cultural experience' in a resort. However, most resorts at least try. For example, the decor is the Outrigger and some of the gardens Denarau do spectacular justice to the culture. Not so at the Fijian. The saddest part for me was the beautiful seranadors - in most resorts, we were serenaded to with beautiful Fijian music. Unfortunately, at Shangri-la, they've mostly done away with that, with a beautiful Fijian man Dave, singing The Wheels-On-The-Bus and other awful western songs. Come on, what a great shame - Fiji has a beautiful culture, and you should try to honour it Shangri-la.

- As everyone mentioned, the rooms must've been created in the 1950's, and whilst clean-ish and there is some attempt at modernizations, there are old blinds, sliding doors which are difficult to close etc. Don't get me started on the airconditioning. These are first world problems, but thought I'd note them to confirm what others have said.

So there you have it. It's overall officious. I have to say that, and not poor, because the staff and our nanny really went out of their way to make it wonderful in spite of all the downside. You can really hardly go wrong in Fiji if you ask me, even here.

Room Tip: God knows, I failed miserably in spite of 3 attempts at begging for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.