We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at Shangri La” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding at Shangri La”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had our wedding at Shangri La. We weren't sure what to expect, as anything can be photoshopped to look good on websites, but it turned out to be just as good in person. We could not have asked for a better wedding day. The wedding co-ordinator Iliseva did such a tremendous job, considering we pretty much had to leave most of the responsibility to her.

The chapel is absolutely stunning. It looks just like it does in the photos, and we were lucky enough to have beautiful blue skies for the day too! we had the Fijian choir entertain the guest whilst we waited for the bridal party to show up, and had serenaders playing acoustic Fijian music after the ceremony. The celebrant was terrific, and the photographer was great too (although we don't have our photos back yet, so I cant give a definitive review on that) There are heaps of other locations on the island to take photos which we made good use of, although we had our own photograhers for that.

We had our reception at the takali pool deck which was, apart from being a little windy at the start, was just perfect. The food amazing, the service was exceptional, there is not a single thing I would have changed. We had the fire dance show booked also, which was very entertaining.

now for the hotel in general. 99% of the staff were fantastic. Always smiling, extremely friendly and helpful. Food at all the restaurant's was pretty good. like some of the other reviews state, it is overpriced and you're kind of stuck eating at the resorts, as there is nothing else nearby. However, if you are aware of this and allow for it before you come, you wont be shocked. Buffet

breakfast is pretty good, I would recommend going to the adults only restaurant, as the service is a bit better, and its a lot quieter.

The buffet dinner at the takali restaurant wasn't too bad. FD$70 per person + drinks. good variety of food. beer's were FD$8 for Fiji gold.

The pizza restaurant is nice, pizza's are around FD$30-35, but they too about 40min-1 hour to make.

cocktails were about FD$25 each. I highly recommend the toblerone.

overall our experience was great, the only downside was their reception desk, our check out and the screw up of our airport transfers. Make sure you keep all your receipts so you can cross check with your invoice. I also recommend only having to deal with 1 room. we had to pay for 3 separate rooms, which took a bit of time sorting out. It was not made any easier by some of the incompetent workers at their reception desk. we had 2 extra charges that we weren't meant to pay for. They also were unable to locate the left overs of our wedding cake, which was a shame (we were told to call reception and they would have it sent to our room, it never arrived). They also cancelled our mini bus transfer to the airport, which caused us to get to the airport 55 minutes later than we were meant to!!!

Room Tip: ocean view rooms had better views. try to get a room that isn't on the bottom floor. we seemed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    736
    336
    144
    118
See reviews for
1,189
522
22
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Positives

Value for money
Children's and adult only pools
Easy to use child minding services

Negatives

Range and quality of dining is average
Limited Wi-Fi access and slow connection
Quality of service ranges from efficient to lack luster

Stay details
7 nights
Grand superior room on ground floor
Wife and 1 year old son

Detailed Info:

The Shangri-La resort is the oldest and largest resort in Fiji and was the jewel in the string of resorts. However over time it's lost it's shine.

The resort as a whole lacks atmosphere and sections and restaurants are closed off for renovations.

The resort is geared heavily towards families with a range of activities such as kids clubs, games rooms and nanny services available on demand. We used the nanny services for our 1 year old at night and it was reliable and easy to use.

The dining options at the resort are limited and the quality of the food is average. As such you may find yourself seeking out local restaurants (which we did twice).

The room was well equipped and the separate area (separated by a blackout curtain) worked well as a sleeping area for our one year old.

Room Tip: Request rooms on higher floors as the sounds from higher floor rooms comes into ground floor rooms e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We came back after 10 days at the Shangri La. After Castaway island found it quite big. Restaurants had a good variety , friendly staff, 3 pools, good beach. Rooms okay but overall abit dated, however they said it is going to be renovated very soon. Two tips, after having a babysitter, rather than organising through the reception, its easier to go direct with the babysitter and organise future nights. Also I would confirm the "Full Board" term first before going as we ended up paying quite a bit extra. We were also overcharged $600 on our bill so I would carefully go through all items as it is very confusing and they say they have a system were it deducts a value but it clearly wasnt working as were were charged all over the place for dinners, breakfasts, lunches etc. I spent 1 hour with the staff to go through it all which was very annoying. Other than than, would go back but perhaps not have a meal plan next time, but just breakfast .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just spent a week at the resort and it was fantastic. We had our 2 year old girl and were with other family. We loved every minute and the staff were very friendly. My advice if you have kids stay in the lagoon rooms. The 9 hole golf course was cool and the lagoon beach is nice. I think in particular kiwi's will love this place as it is so relaxing. Only other tip is bring plenty of snacks for the kids. If you are a moaner as some of the reviewers are don't go on holiday - I am sure there will be something you don't like but for me it was right on the money.

Room Tip: get a room facing the lagoon on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a great time at the Shangri La with our 12 months baby. The staff were amazing, very friendly and always attentive to our needs.
The pool area and play ground were a great joy for our little bub, and he was very amused by the songs performed by Ace and David at the Takali restaurant. He wasn't old enough to experience the TV room or the Little Chief's club, but i'm sure he will love them next time we'll come.
The resort island is amazing and we loved spending most of our holiday on it. The ocean was incredible, calm as a lake due to the coral reef blocking all the waves.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe Ocean Family and it was good size, on ground floor. We were very happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The price/value has changed. Get across the road for best massage in town at Lase Beauty Spa. The Chi Spa is great but expect to pay triple the price compared to outside. They've just refurbished and reopened - get a massage every day!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I just spent 6 days here with two kids (age 4 and 2) in a ground floor 'Deluxe Ocean View Room' and had a great time

Note well: this resort is generally catered to families and children so was fine with us but if it was only my wife and I our rating would probably be different.

The room:
The room was spacious and great for our needs. There was a king bed and two single couches that converted into beds for the kids. There is a small terrace that faces the ocean so once the kids were in bed we could stay out there or have the TV on low and turned away from the kids bed. There is a small empty fridge (I believe you can have this stocked as a mini bar) a separate bathroom (shower only). The TV has about 6 - 8 channels but ours was on the kids channel at the very few times we had the TV on (cartoon network). We have left feedback that a DVD player in the room would be good (can be hired we found on the last day) and the TV could do with an upgrade (old box type.) Rooms were very clean and well maintained daily.

Food:
As others have stated, the food is expensive for Fiji with little other option. We have also left feedback re lack of availability of affordable and healthy snacks for during the day (eg sandwiches/fruit etc). Having said that, the food was delicious and we didn't have a bad meal for us or the kids. I advise bringing your own alcohol (either duty free or ask your driver to stop at a store - there is one about 5 mins drive from the resort) as this can add up.

Facilities/Activities:
One word - fantastic. The three pools are well maintained and with three pools in different areas offer a bit of variety. The staff are fantastic and very friendly towards everyone particularly the kids. We hired kayaks frequently and took the kids in one each around the lagoon. The games room is ok and the mini golf was great for the kids.

All in all we enjoyed the resort however did not want to venture out for any exploring... something we missed from previous holidays to other countries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.