We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get outside...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
1 review
“Get outside...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The price/value has changed. Get across the road for best massage in town at Lase Beauty Spa. The Chi Spa is great but expect to pay triple the price compared to outside. They've just refurbished and reopened - get a massage every day!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    674
    314
    132
    104
See reviews for
1,100
477
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I just spent 6 days here with two kids (age 4 and 2) in a ground floor 'Deluxe Ocean View Room' and had a great time

Note well: this resort is generally catered to families and children so was fine with us but if it was only my wife and I our rating would probably be different.

The room:
The room was spacious and great for our needs. There was a king bed and two single couches that converted into beds for the kids. There is a small terrace that faces the ocean so once the kids were in bed we could stay out there or have the TV on low and turned away from the kids bed. There is a small empty fridge (I believe you can have this stocked as a mini bar) a separate bathroom (shower only). The TV has about 6 - 8 channels but ours was on the kids channel at the very few times we had the TV on (cartoon network). We have left feedback that a DVD player in the room would be good (can be hired we found on the last day) and the TV could do with an upgrade (old box type.) Rooms were very clean and well maintained daily.

Food:
As others have stated, the food is expensive for Fiji with little other option. We have also left feedback re lack of availability of affordable and healthy snacks for during the day (eg sandwiches/fruit etc). Having said that, the food was delicious and we didn't have a bad meal for us or the kids. I advise bringing your own alcohol (either duty free or ask your driver to stop at a store - there is one about 5 mins drive from the resort) as this can add up.

Facilities/Activities:
One word - fantastic. The three pools are well maintained and with three pools in different areas offer a bit of variety. The staff are fantastic and very friendly towards everyone particularly the kids. We hired kayaks frequently and took the kids in one each around the lagoon. The games room is ok and the mini golf was great for the kids.

All in all we enjoyed the resort however did not want to venture out for any exploring... something we missed from previous holidays to other countries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We visited Shangri-La for a one week family holiday. (2 adults/3 children aged 8, 6 and 4.) I had read many mixed reviews so went with an open expectation. We loved Fiji, the people and the resort and all it had to offer us. There were many scheduled activities we could partake in or we could just sit by the pool and relax. Our children visited Little Chiefs Club once and loved it. The 2 younger children made grass skirts and my older son went crab hunting which they really enjoyed. there is great playground there as well. They went snorkelling, on kayaks and on a catamaran all for the first time. We played volleyball with Marley which was a lot of fun. I would recommend the 3.5 hour village tour which runs a couple of times a week and is organised by the ''Ambassadors'' at the main coral pool. We visited a local primary school and Marley's village and shared a Kava ceremony with the chief of the village. Also called into a supermarket on the way back to the resort which was handy as items at the resort can be quite expensive. Breakfast was a buffet like I had never seen. There was so much food that we really didn't need much for lunch. With 3 children I took my own snacks and saved heaps by doing this. For dinner the buffet where children eat free is FJD$70 per adult (approx. AUD$42) but found for a family of 5 this was still the best option as we would have to pay a similar price at the a-la-carte restaurants as children are not free there and we had more included at the buffet. eg salads, vegies, mains, desserts. I would also recommend buying your bottled water at duty free when you arrive as this was the cheapest water available to purchase. We booked an interconnecting room and it was great. It gave us so much more extra space along with an extra bathroom and balcony. We booked our room as a superior ocean view interconnecting room. It was in the coral wing which is a fantastic location as it is about halfway between the restaurant for buffet meals and the main pool/beach area. This resort is a fantastic family friendly resort. Everyone has their own opinion but for a fun filled family orientated holiday you can't go wrong with this resort. I would definitely recommend it and would stay here again if I returned to Fiji for a holiday.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend an interconnecting room for a family of 5. The extra space, balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmwoods, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Think about meal package ?
Majority of staff, Excellent !!
Vacegu upon arrival !!!
Lagoon Pool for entertainment, kids love kids club 4-12
Make the most of time
Golden Cowrie paka paka fish mmmmmmmm !

Room Tip: Cowrie Wing Ocean Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Internet wifi access could have been better. Social media as Internet access is important and have access to both contributes to a more convenient experience. Lack of good Internet access was somewhat frustrating as I was unable to readily access emails.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very disappointed! We did this afternoon this expensive trip and almost nothing to see!
Some fishes and corals but most of them are dead or there are only rocks.
I strongly don't recomend it to everybody to do it and to pay for that!
At the place where they bring us, there is a strong current so the water is not clear so forget to bring back nice movies or pictures home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Lovely, friendly and courteous staff, beautiful surroundings, huge resort. The bedrooms are well maintained, big king sized bed, nice balcony and view to the Lagoon, good air-con. Lots of restaurants to choose from but we found the price of food very expensive and the quality below average for both breakfast and dinner in the buffet and al-la-carte restaurants. Unfortunately we had to pay this price as there weren't any alternative options nearby. I also found the food overpriced in other resorts in Fiji so it's not just the Shangri-La. I would come back here though, due to the surroundings and the friendly staff. It's not the same high standard as the hotels and resorts in Denarau but still really nice. According to some of the staff, the resort is due some renovations some time soon which is timely as it will need a spruce up sometime soon. Overall though, it was great for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa

Address: Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Yanuca Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yanuca Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is exclusively located on the beautiful 109-acre private Yanuca Island with its pure white sandy beach and crystal clear, coral rich seas of the exotic Fiji Islands. Only 45 minutes from Nadi International Airport, the island is connected from the mainland by a causeway.A traditional Fijian village is the inspiration behind the layout of the 442-room resort. Every guest room, suite and bure features a private balcony with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean or the resort’s lagoon. Unlimited wired broadband Internet access is complimentary in all rooms. The Resort offers a range of activities, including water sports, scuba diving and golf, and a popular Kid's Club. A wide range of dining options are available, from Pacific Rim fine dining to informal fun dining at the poolside. Cultural shows highlight Fijian lovo, meke and firewalking rituals, South Pacific and Fijian Fire dancers.CHI, The Spa is a secluded spa village set away from the main resort, and provides the privacy and luxury of the largest Spa villas in Fiji. Four Oceanview and two Rainforest treatment villas feature relaxation areas overlooking either the Pacific Ocean or an exotic rainforest, with private garden patios, outdoor bath tubs, herbal steam room and outdoor showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Fijian Hotel Yanuca Island
Fiji Shangri La Resort
Shangri La Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Resort
Shangri Las Fijian Hotel
Fiji Shangri La Hotel
Fiji La Shangri
Fijian La Resort Shangri
Fiji La Resort Shangri
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa Fiji/Yanuca Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.