We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRID!!!! Dont go!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji to your Saves list
Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sonaisali Island Coral Coast | P.O.BOX 2544, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Fiji
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“HORRID!!!! Dont go!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

It was a horrible experience. The sea water was ugly brown. We had to walk from the dock to the reception. Food and room rates were cheap however this came at a big cost. The hotel room was in bad need of maintenance, there was no toilet paper in the room, the coffee in the room had fungi in it, and we were very lucky to actually get a room that had the air conditioner in good condition. Other rooms were not so lucky.
The restaurant staff were neighter friendly nor quick in their service, it took at most 45 mins for food to arrive once ordered, all tables were not laid with forks and knifes and no tissue papers unless asked. The swimming pool (and theres only 1) was full of all guests and as the sea was full of brown muddy water, all guests were swimming in the pool. We had to pay $10 for non-alcoholic fruit punch, the staff charged us $10 without even informing us. When checking out, we had to carry our own luggage all the way to the dock to get to our car. My advice, its worth paying extra for a better resort.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    309
    165
    158
    217
See reviews for
372
479
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

The water around the Island is more like a dirty swamp and not very inviting to swim in, muddy brown describes it the best.
We were there to get married however during our ceremony our Bure was cleared of anything that they could lay their hands on, including the first ever ring that I had bought for my wife many years previous. The owners were totaly uninterested and the best part was when I booked a mini cruise to what I must call, the reall Fiji. The only dowside was that we had to return to the Island for the last few days of our holiday.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sonaisali Island hotels

Cairns, Queensland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

The beach was terrible, dirty water, we couldnt swim even if we had wanted to as they were looking for a dead body the whole time we were there. There is definately no snorkelling off the beach as water was filthy with floating debris and rubbish. The drinks and food very very over priced. The photos on internet are from 20 years ago, we had a spa bure on beach and it was worn and old. All fixtures old and worn. Sheets were thinning and looked dirty. The bures are actually duplexes - which we did not know - and noisy. We had limited sleep the whole time due to the duplex situation. The day Spa is seriously over priced - the most expensive pedicure of my life!! Book somewhere else. I heard from other travellers that Castaway Island is the best in Fiji.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

The resort and grounds are very pretty, the pool was amazing and the swim up bar was a great feature. The rooms are fine considering the low cost of the accomodation however there were some stains on the sheets/pillowcase.
I was totally let down by the terrible food and service on offer at the resort. The resort staff are completely indifferent to requests/complaints/advise or help required by guests and at times they were down right rude. The food from the main dining room was terrible - arriving at best cold ,and at worst, food that was ordered at the same time arrived an hour apart. We ended up eating 1/2 an hour away at Port Denarau on several occassions as we gave up hoping that at some stage during our stay the food would be served as described on the menu.
The shower in our room didnt work when we checked in and after 2 days of "maintenance" men trying to fix it and after many requests we were finally moved to another bure but at the very farthest end of the resort when there were plenty of other closer bures available (spite for complaining - i dont know you be the judge).
Despite all this we really did have a very relaxing great time away with friends but it was by no means what we expected.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake Brisbane QLD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

This Resort was fantastic for us on our 25th Anniversary, over the 6 nights stay we became friends with other visiting guests - those being couples & as well as families and they also enjoyed their stays. The resort staff were very helpful & nice, the food was fantastic. I knew when planning our stay that it was chance of being still in their wet season but the odd drop of rain did not spoil our trip. We would highly recommend this resort to couples & families even those with small chilren as you all get looked after very well & are highly catered for during your stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby,PNG
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

I stayed at this Resort last year with my husband and 2 littlies under 5 plus my extended family. We all had a fabulous time!!! The staff were friendly,the food great and the whole ambience of the place was just fantastic! One of the activities we especially enjoyed was the Paintball Skirmish!!! I believe that Sonaisali is the only one in Fiji who provides this! Take a mozzie repellant with you when doing Paintball though...My kids were well looked after by the baby sitters who cost next to nothing and because the Resort is close to Nadi town it was great for us to go over and do some essential hopping like diapers etc...There is a small shop located at the Resort too. My 5 year old really loved having his pizza delivered to the room...made him feel extra special! and when he was too tired to swim in the sun, the Spa located on the patio of our room provided him with endless fun!!! Can't wait for our next stay there!!! Vinaka vakalevu!!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Avid Fiji holiday maker for many years Sonaisali is my second home. I have made the journey to Sonaisali both staying with friends and visiting by myself. The resort is an island just 30 minutes by road from the airport but also allows mainland activity with a small boat ride between the two. The resort is on volcanic dark black sand so don't expect an island with white sand beach this does not mean it is still not lovely. White sand has been used for the upper beach areas. Multiple options for accommodation are catered for however you can not go past the spa bures set amid lush tropical gardens located just up from the beachfront on sunset point. I love to sit back on the balcony of an afternoon watch the sun set an have also been lucky enough to have the island horses grazing near by very relaxing. Multiple meal options available from buffets, menus, room service and the Plantation Fine Dining experience is one thing you must indulge in at least one during your stay. Many and activity can be done both on and off the island simply to many to mention. Beauty services are also available from massage, hair, nails you name it. You could easily loose track of the time wandering around the lush tropical gardens of the island which is rather large or simply sit back and relax poolside with a cocktail or two. Staff at the resort are more than friendly and it seems there is always someone round to lend a hand if required. Nothing is usually a problem and the island comes with its own security persons which as a single traveler makes me feel at ease. Car hire or excursions can be arranged at the hotel tour desk with many an option available. Family's are catered for couples, groups, weddings, singles,newly weds no one is left out at Sonaisali. There is something for everyone and if for some reason something was missing it would just be like the staff to help you out and provide what you required. I will continue to travel to Sonaisali each year or as I like to say my own little piece of paradise where i can do everything or nothing and all my needs as a single or couple are catered for.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji

Address: Sonaisali Island Coral Coast | P.O.BOX 2544, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Sonaisali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sonaisali Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
25 minutes from Nadi Airport. Award winning traditional accommodation comprises 123 rooms/bures. Two world-class restaurants with cuisine inspired by the best of European, Indian, Fijian and Asian Influences. 4 Bars, Large lagoon style pool with swim up bar, horseriding, tennis, volleyball, water sports, surf tours, shopping tours, snorkelling trips, dolphin watching trips, jet skis, sunset cruises, Spa Centre, free Kids Club, games room. Green Globe 21 certified. Perfect for Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji Hotel Sonaisali Island
Hotel Sonaisali Island
Sonaisali Island Hotel Fiji
Fiji Sonaisali Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.