We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sonaisali Resort Not What it Looks Like” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji to your Saves list
Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sonaisali Island Coral Coast | P.O.BOX 2544, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
“Sonaisali Resort Not What it Looks Like”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What looked liked a beautiful resort when we checked in turned out to be a nightmare! Our room was falling apart starting with the louvers over the windows, the closet door was falling off its hinges, and then a granite top table cracked and broke in front of our eyes with only a lamp on it which the resort tried to blame on us! Our prepaid, 9 night dream holiday only lasted 4. The management said they would refund us 2 nights, but its been 3 months and we haven't seen a dime. To add insult to injury, the ocean is murky so you can't swim in it, and there is only a small amount of beach. What a waste of money!!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    308
    165
    157
    216
See reviews for
369
478
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Me and my Fiancé stayed here for three nights. We were greeted with cold juices upon arrival .. the receptionist (male) made us feel welcomed and at home.

We stayed in the beach front rooms and loved the cleanliness and esp the view! 10/10. Aircon worked well bathroom is huuuuge! Receptionist offered if we wanted to upgrade to a beach bungalow with jacuzzi for $50FJD extra. BUT i declined. As me and my fiance were only staying for 1 night.

I loved the pool and swim up bar! We enjoyed a couple of cocktails and drinks there and shared a couple of laughs with the bartender . The only downside is, is that there should be a warning sign about the deep side once u swim out of the swim up bar. Two asian travellers almost drowned, luckily my fiancé saved them. Please watch ur children!

The view from the pool to the ocean is PERFECT! Esp at sunset , felt romantic

Overall, great stay. Will defs stay again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We booked and paid to stay at the resort however we have just found out they have taken our $ and will be closed. Bookings must have known this . Apparently an alternative is being offered but they have refused to say where. Feeling very ripped off advise never book here

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sonaisali Island hotels

Mungallala, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

My husband, our 4 month old and our friends stayed here for 7 nights in March 2014. This was the 4th time we have visited Fiji were very excited about our upcoming holiday. We booked through Expedia because Sonaisali offered an "all inclusive package". Upon arrival, we were informed that the all inclusive packaged included the standard local beer and wine which we were fine with however there were conditions to our meals. It has been some time and I cannot remember the exact value that we were allowed to make use of each day but it was nearly impossible to stay under. We were also advised from friends who had stayed at Sonaisali to stay in the Beachfront Hotel Rooms as the air conditioners were better and as we had a baby staying with us, this was of the utmost importance to us in the tropical heat. Unfortunately our rooms' air conditioner did not work. On the 2nd day of our stay, we asked maintenance to come up and fix it however this took 3 phone calls to have someone take a look at it and to no avail. The next day, we called and went to reception to resolve this air conditioner problem as our friends in the next room's air con was working perfectly. After 7 attempts to have our air con fixed, we were finally asked (by a lovely young man at the reception desk) if we would like to be upgraded to a beachfront spa bure free of charge! We promptly told him we had not problem with that. The air con still wasn't great but better and we had the most wonderful time in that bure. The only other thing I could complain about was the horse riding experience. As someone who has been riding horses competitively since I was 4 years old, I was horrified at the horses we were given to ride. We were assured that these horses were fit for any beginner, however if they were my own, I wouldn't put anyone on them. My friend and I went solo with our unfriendly travel guide and we experienced unresponsive horses in poor condition with some potentially dangerous events (my friends horse bolted as we turned back towards the resort and had she not been a competent rider, I fear that someone could have been seriously injured). I'm not one to complain but I felt these matters made the resort feel a little under par to us. Apart from that, we spent a lot of time in the pool served by our wonderful bartender, Vili Koto who we got to know over the week. We were very appreciative of all the lovely Fijian ladies who gushed over our beautiful daughter and would regularly take her for a walk while we had our breakfast etc. Above all, we enjoyed ourselves and so did our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights. The accommodation is ok. The grounds are huge! Wwe stayed in the Ocean view Bures- they are nice, we had 2 king size beds and they were very comfortable. it was nice to have a balcony with a view out to the ocean- the rooms are quite big. No phone in the rooms - and a very long walk to reception, this was incredibly annoying! Check in for some reason was more difficult than it should have been, staff on check in weren't that friendly. The food was really below average, Menu not at all exciting- I was bitterly disappointed. The pool is awesome, shallow to deep, swim up to the bar for a cocktail. The pool made up for the beach, which is not the white sandy paradise you'd expect in Fiji. The only bit of sand is right down the other end of the resort, its just a small patch. Cleaning staff were very friendly, rooms were very clean. The Bar staff on the whole were quite friendly as well. on the whole I wont come back to this resort, I got a bit bored.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nites. The room we were given was very much outdated. Tv was from 80s which was not woking. The beds were so much in da poor condition that u wake up with a sore back. Bathrooms have tubes in which if u sleep there goes ur holidays.

The Staffs are very friendly and try to make ur time more enjoyable.

Food is expensive a can of coke is abut $5-50 fijian and from the local shop only $1.00 fijian. Try to buy everythin from nadi town or there is a shop just as u enter Sonaisli Island if u headin towards nadi .... this place is cheap n have everythin u need .

In general this place on its very last days till Hilton takes over. If u want to enjoy the place b4 u pay premium price do visit its a good place to calm dowm n do nothin

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Stayed at the resort for only one night as it was used as a stop over enroute to the Yasawa Islands. Like a lot of people who read the other reviews i was a bit apprehensive about what to expect. I must say that the resort and staff were great. We stayed in the 'motel' style rooms in the main building, ground floor and beaxh fronting. Room was clean with modern amenaties. Ate dinner and breakfast in resort restaurant and was not dissappointed. Reataurant overlooks pool area toward beach. Sure there are some uneven decking boards but this is Fiji afterall. This is not a 7 star resort nor does it claim to be. It was clean, extremely friend staff who welcome you 'home, took advantage of happy hour cocktails which were well made. Would recommend resort for families and friends. Easy access from airport.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji

Address: Sonaisali Island Coral Coast | P.O.BOX 2544, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Sonaisali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonaisali Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
25 minutes from Nadi Airport. Award winning traditional accommodation comprises 123 rooms/bures. Two world-class restaurants with cuisine inspired by the best of European, Indian, Fijian and Asian Influences. 4 Bars, Large lagoon style pool with swim up bar, horseriding, tennis, volleyball, water sports, surf tours, shopping tours, snorkelling trips, dolphin watching trips, jet skis, sunset cruises, Spa Centre, free Kids Club, games room. Green Globe 21 certified. Perfect for Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji Hotel Sonaisali Island
Hotel Sonaisali Island
Sonaisali Island Hotel Fiji
Fiji Sonaisali Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.