We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji to your Saves list
Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sonaisali Island Coral Coast | P.O.BOX 2544, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

We stayed at sonaisali, even after reading all the bad comments on here. Yes it might not have the best beach, due to rivers. But this is not something they can fix.

It was a lovely resort with beautiful grounds. Well tendered gardens. The pool was really nice and always a nice temperature.

We stayed in an oceanview spa bure, which was gorgeous and spacious. Had no issues with water, and it always had enough pressure to wash myself properly. The rooms were cleaned daily, along with fresh towels.

The restaurant was marvellous and would definately recommend the food plan. We always had our fill, and could never have the included afternoon tea as we were always too full to eat any more. The food was always of good quality. Along with the staff who were always friendly. The activities staff did at times act a little hazy and was difficult to get information from.

The only real issue was the price of drinks which were more expensive than the other resorts we stayed at. And they forget our honeymoon package, which we didnt receive until the night after we arrived, but still got it.

All in all this was a good resort, and after getting info on the beach being muddy, it came as no shock. So i enjoyed my time here.

  • Liked — The room, the pool and the view
  • Disliked — The cost of the drinks and the murky beach
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJMFiji, Managing Director at Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji, responded to this review, December 28, 2008
Bula!

On behalf of the Sonaisali Island Resort team, I wish to thank you for taking the effort to express such inspiring comments about us. I very much appreciate your frank and open feedback.

I look forward in welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sunny Regards,

Aaron McGrath
Managing Director
Sonaisali Island Resort, Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    308
    165
    157
    216
See reviews for
369
478
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

After reading all of the bad reviews on here I was a little worried what to expect, however after a wonderful 4 night stay I was pleasantly suprised.
Obviously some people just have a run of bad luck and instead of trying to get over it, they dwell on what has happened and start picking at everything else.
The resort itself is great, the staff are so friendly and want to do anything they can to help.
The beach is nothing spectacular but if you take one of the boat trips off the islands out to the sand bars, that will make up for it.
The food and drinks are quite expensive and there isnt a general store at the resort so I would reccommend taking your own softdrinks, chips etc so you can snack when you want. They do offer a meal plan which is probably worth while if you will be staying around the resort for the full days and want to eat there.
Also take your own duty free as cocktails are about $20 each.
I would reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break away.

  • Liked — Staff and Beachfront Spa Bures!
  • Disliked — The price of the cocktails
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

Well i was concerned after reading some of the reviews about this resort after we had booked.... however it turned out a lot better than I had expected and my friends and I had a fantastic time while staying at Sonaisali. Yes, they are SLOW at everything which can be very frustrating. Their service is slow and rather sloppy sometimes but at other times it is delightful so hard to say one way or another.... We had booked an oceanview bure and when we were taken to our room we had actually been given a Beachfront Bure so we got a bonus spa and were right near one of the only hammocks on the island. Bliss! The room was a little outdated but it was nice and more importantly clean. The food in the sunset restaurant is overpriced for what it is so after the first night of paying $40 AUD for a plate of average curry, we decided to stick to ordering snacky type food off the bar menu, things like pizza etc. which was tastier than the buffet food and much more reasonably priced. We ordered Nacho's on room service one day which was cold, sloppy and completely inedible but otherwise the food was ok. Not great, but ok. We went to the Plantation Restuarant the last night and that was great, we had a lovely meal and a lovely waiter, however service was VERY slow but as we were relaxing with friends it didn't bother us too much at the time. If anything we felt sorry for our waiter who was left on his own to look after the whole restuarant! Considering the meal and wine we felt that the plantation was quite well priced. LOVED the pool and pool bar, had a fantastic time on the sunset cruise, disappointed we missed out on the island hopping as it was already booked out when we got there and the girls in the beauty spa have magic hands, had a great massage and pedicure one afternoon.

So we were singing Sonaisali praises and ready to head home on a high...... however when we went to check out it all turned sour. They said that their system had gone down the day before and as a result were not able to provide the receipts for us to fix up our bill. As my friends and I had roamed the island without any cash the entire stay and instead chosen to charge everything to the room, this created quite a concern. We were asked to give our credit card numbers regardless of being given any statement which we were very reluctant to do. They assured us that we would not be charged until they had found all the reciepts and provided us a statement of the costs for us to review and approve, they even took our email address to send them through to... sounded fair, however they didn't do this. Instead they charged us without even notifying us. And not only that but they OVERCHARGED our credit card by a few hundred dollars and when we called to ask where our receipts were they denied having charged us at all!! There have been many emails and phone calls since this and now it has been nearly a month since we got back and we are still trying to get our payment sorted out. Doesn't help that the management are useless and don't even respond!! We have now been resorted to having our bank investigate Sonaisali as they cannot provide receipts for everything we have been charged for and seem to be hoping that we will give up and forget about it.......... not a nice end to our holiday.

So yeah, i would have gone back, but now I think I will find somewhere else to spend my time and money in Fiji.

Oh and you must know this, the beach is total crap. There is really no beach at all. The sand and water is black. Do not go to Sonaisali if you want to laze on a white beach.... the pool is your best bet at this place.

  • Liked — Great pool and pool bar.
  • Disliked — No beach, black sand and water.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

After reading some of the reviews we were unsure what to expect.
We arrived at the resort to be greeted by Tutu who took us from the boat to the resort.After check in Tony the Manager invited us all and there were 7 of us to the GM's welcome drinks at the pool bar. We had free drinks for an hour and chatted with all the staff...very warm and friendly. Our family had the hotel rooms which were very clean and we stayed in a Bure which was great. Air conditioner worked,clean room, hot water takes awhile to come through....but hey we were in no rush. We got married while we were there. I have to say it was a beautiful day made very special by Sereana and the rest of the staff....they couldn't do enough for us. We have some beautiful photos and wonderful memories of our special day. The food sometimes took awhile but we were all on Fiji time and enjoyed relaxing and catching up with the family. We used the canoes and the paddle boats had a ball.The pool was great as were the breakfasts....We took the meal plan which was far too much food for me but the men in the group didn't complain. Plenty of food available.....great if you have big appetites.We loved it and look forward to returning.

  • Liked — comfortable beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

just returned arrived 29 oct returned 4 nov soon as we arrived on
the island (sonaisali) we were made very welcome, the staff are
very friendly allways smiling cannot do enough for you. we stayed
in a oceanview bure (hut type) very nice indeed would recomend
before we went i read reviews and it really worried me, but we
had nothing to worry about the place is world class, out of ten
we would give the resort 10 whoever wrote the reviews we read
must be hard to please cannot wait to get back

  • Liked — big rooms air con no windows (oceanview bure)
  • Disliked — getting there early 5.30 am waiting for room plane flew overnight
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

We started our stay at Sonaisali Island Resort envisaging the best time in our lives and left under the worst circumstances with Sonaisali "kicking the boot in" on our way out.

We were due to be married toward the end of our 7 night stay and started with a staff member dropping my wedding dress in a muddy puddle and waiting an hour during rain for someone to take us to reception to be booked in, but at the time we thought they were just minor hiccups in what would be an overall happy picture.

That night we received the worst possible news that my Dad had got really ill and was rushed to hospital back home. Absolutely distraught my fiance, myself and friends tried to make arrangements to get home. Sonaisali Island Resort were completely compassionateless. They were more worried about billing us then helping us get a phone line out so we could try to book some flights home.

They told us they would give us a wake up call early the next morning - they didn't, they told us they would have a porter ready waiting to take us to book out early - they didn't (we waited 40mins), one of the porters took off with our bag and we had to wait another 15mins before he came back so we could leave. They told us they had booked us a taxi to the airport - they hadn't. They charged us $55 for ringing the airport to book a flight that took a little over 5 mins.

They charged us 100% of everything (the other island we were going to visit refunded us part of our accommodation) including our wedding (of which nothing was done) and had the hide to send us an email tell us we would get a 5% discount if we visited them again. We sent them an email explaining our disgust for their practices and would never visit there again, of which the manager replied that they had never charged us for our wedding and then our travel agent informed us they were now refunding us our wedding costs.

Our overall impression was that Sonaisali was a very greedy establishment, the staff did not seem happy and we felt it was almost like they were operating in fear of losing their jobs. We felt embarrassed that the owners were Australian. We would never set foot there again.

  • Liked — pool looked nice in the brochure
  • Disliked — greediness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sonaisali Island hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

We went to Fiji for 2 weeks in August--me, my husband of 25 years, our 3 boys (ages 23, 21 and 18) and daughter-in-law (23). We had an incredible time at Sonaisali. We were given great advice by our travel agent before we left: "Just put your American attitudes (hurried and time-conscious) aside and go to appreciate the beauty of the place and, especially, the people." So. that's exactly what we did. And we indeed found great beauty and even greater people. The resort was wonderful. We loved our rooms, the pool and the food (O.K. - Thursday night "Curry Buffet" wasn't so good) but everything else was terrific. We did a day-trip every day, including wave-running to snorkel at Taverua (where "Castaway" was filmed), deep sea fishing, a river cruise, into Nadi town and also a day to Denerau. All was great and we'd go again. The last week was spent on a "Blue Lagoon" cruise which showed us many of the islands, including a native village, allowed us to do LOTS of snorkeling and let us interact with more of the wonderful people. Overall, this was an awesome 25th wedding celebration and will be forever memorable for all of us.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji

Address: Sonaisali Island Coral Coast | P.O.BOX 2544, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Sonaisali Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonaisali Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
25 minutes from Nadi Airport. Award winning traditional accommodation comprises 123 rooms/bures. Two world-class restaurants with cuisine inspired by the best of European, Indian, Fijian and Asian Influences. 4 Bars, Large lagoon style pool with swim up bar, horseriding, tennis, volleyball, water sports, surf tours, shopping tours, snorkelling trips, dolphin watching trips, jet skis, sunset cruises, Spa Centre, free Kids Club, games room. Green Globe 21 certified. Perfect for Weddings and Honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji Hotel Sonaisali Island
Hotel Sonaisali Island
Sonaisali Island Hotel Fiji
Fiji Sonaisali Island Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonaisali Island Resort Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.