We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Suva Lami Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Suva Lami Bay to your Saves list
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen Road, Lami Bay, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ltk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at Novotel Lami for 2 nights in superior king room right next to the sea.

Room was very neat as it had been newly renovated.
Buffet breakfast had wide variety and excellent.

Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get rooms next to the sea or pool front. If you are a fisher, get your rods for some fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear GreenFJTraveller

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, especially the breakfast team as they work very hard every day to deliver on our guest expectations, they take immense pride when they receive such positive feedback as this. However I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    190
    71
    23
    16
See reviews for
96
101
35
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is tiled and cool throughout with a nice open plan lounge/bar/foyer/restaurant area. Our room (west side) was simply furnished, clean and spacious with a generous balcony overlooking the bay. The staff were all very warm and welcoming and the reception staff were very quick and efficient with our checkin/checkout. Siti and Leba in the restaurant/bar were the standout staff who went out of their way to meet our requests and were very professional in their service. The restaurant buffet reakfast has a good choice and the lunch/dinner menu is quite good. As guests staying for a week, some daily variety in the menu would have been welcome - the fish of the day was the same for the whole week and the curry alternated between chicken/beef. The hotel is 15 minute cheap taxi ride into Suva which is well worth paying to stay in a peaceful, pretty location away from the hustle and bustle of the city. With a $30 room credit for meals/beverages this hotel represents excellent value.

Room Tip: The hotel has only 2 floors with no lift. If you want a peaceful room then avoid rooms near the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear post4sue

Thank you for your review we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are in the process of engineering a new menu which will be focused on offering variety and more choice for long stay guests. Also on you next stay please enjoy our free shuttle which runs each weekday to and from the city.
The $30 credit which came be booked only through Accorhotels.com does indeed offer tremendous value,

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my first stay since this hotel has been rebadged and renovated. It used to be called "The Four Seasons." The improvement is very pleasing. Whereas previously the hotel and rooms had a tired appearance and feel (and smell) the ambience is now very pleasant indeed and excellent value for money. My group did hire a conference room for the day. The charge was reasonable and the room was airconditioned. Supplies such as pens, pads, water and mints were provided. The one drawback was that the room had a strong musty smell on entering. While this smell remained, participants did not notice it so much after a while as the conference proceeded. This is not a hotel that one may choose for an extended stay in Fiji. However for the business traveller or tourist who needs accommodation in the Suva area for a couple of nights this is very good value. It should be remembered, however, that it is located several kilometres from the centre of Suva and a private mode of transportation is essential.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the bay which is adjacent to the hotel is very pleasant indeed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Traveller255325

We very much appreciate your review regarding your stay at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. It is always reassuring to see guest notice the improvements made at the hotel over recent years.

We appreciate your honest appraisal of one of our smaller conference venues and we will endeavour to work harder in the future to ensure guests do not have the same experience.

Also as you mentioned we are a little distance from Suva however for business travelers still an ideal location - we do offer a complimentary shuttle to and from the CBD each weekday for those without private transport

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

As far as Suva goes this hotel is great value for money, albeit a little way out of central Suva. Rooms on the West side of reception are tired - refer photo - but is it such good value I can forgive them. I later found out that the rooms East of reception have mostly been recently refurbished and are much better than what I stayed in. The breakfast is great for Suva and reasonably priced - a seriously tranquil setting.

Room Tip: Request a room on the EAST side of reception - i.e towards central Suva as they have been recently r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear heathy2121

Thank you for your review and comments regarding you stay with us we very much appreciate your comments. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our tranquil setting just minutes from downtown Suva.

Yes we do have the majority of our rooms renovated and some we are refurbishing the remainder to bring up to a better standard, in future to ensure you receive a renovated room just book online through Accorhotels.com to guarantee a superior room type.

Overall I will share your comments with our team, this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and products and ensure our guests always get the best value for money in Suva.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've stayed at Novotel before but the experiences have been different. We arrived at the counter and waited for about 20 minutes before we could check in, not too sure why the delay. We were given our room and settled in quite quickly, although the room did seem to be not well lit during the day, it meant we had to have the lights switched on. The bathrooms were OK, it was good enough for a shower. We were supplied a mini-bar fridge and coffee tea but no milk. So wasn't sure how they expected us to drink hot beverages. Our child was a warm milk drinker in a babys bottle so of course we required a microwave, unfortunately at our request, the hotel does not have a microwave. We also had left over food from our lunch which we had purchased outside of the hotel and they were unable to warm it up as they didn't have a microwave. So we had to stick to the basics by boiling the kettle and warming our babys bottle. Also, found that the floors and tiles were not clean as everytime we would walk barefoot in the room, our feet would get dirty so easily. When we joined the two double beds together, we discovered that it had looked like the floors below the bed had never been dusted and cleaned. The only bonus was the fact that this accommodation was the cheapest than the others around suva and it was conveniently close enough to the local shops. The american buffet breakfast was great, our family of three enjoyed it and our dinner was nice too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Lydz_2011

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback about the hotel and the operations.

I will share your comments with our team they provide some areas for us to refocus our efforts - there should be a card in your room inviting you to call room service to have some milk delivered to your room and also we will use your comments constructively regarding more thorough cleaning under the beds.

However this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a awesome time for 6 nights there date of arrival (27.01.13), i enjoyed the beautiful view, the pool, dinner, lunch, breakfast, live music down by the bar was great.The staff there are very friendly dont know all the names but the bartender he was great always making us laugh and serving us at his 100% best also the waiters and Noah, at reception they always greet you with a smile everyday & they are great to talk to. Some disadvantages about the hotel sadly it does have some renovations that needs doing on the outside, the rooms are superb! clean, modern, ect, there is also A LOT of bugs in the bar area, waiting area, down stairs at nights hated that. OVERALL i loved the place miss it a lot hated having to check out, i will definitely be back soon ;) Thanks NOVOTEL SUVA

Room Tip: We 1st stayed in a standard room top floor which was amazing! right in the middle amazing pool &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonHarper, General Manager at Novotel Suva Lami Bay, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Missy_x_o

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Suva Lami Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, it certainly lifts the spirits of the team who work hard to make each guest experience a memorable one.

I will share your comments with all of our team, however I am sure Noah will be delighted he was personally recognized. This feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Suva Lami Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Suva Lami Bay

Address: Queen Road, Lami Bay, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Suva Lami Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated overlooking the gorgeous Bay Of Islands, 15 minutes from the vibrant Fijian capital of Suva, Novotel Suva Lami Bay is the ideal destination for business or leisure. Most of the 108 rooms feature balconies with views of the lush tropical garden or picturesque Lami Bay. Fun local activities including diving, snorkeling and sailing are easily arranged by the ATS Tour Desk staff within the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Suva Lami Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Suva Lami Bay Hotel Lami
Tradewinds Hotel Suva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Suva Lami Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.