We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families, but food is subpar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Paris, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good for families, but food is subpar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our family stayed in Radission and Denarau for the first time. This resort targets families with children and our son had a great time at the pool and joining the kids's program. The adult pool is a plus when parents want to take a breather when their kids are doing the programs.

The downside of this resort is the food. We would have liked to enjoy better cuisines instead of loads of food just to get full (although kids eat for free for buffets). I think the chef at Water Cross restaurant never had real Asian food. The restaurants here are definitely not at an international level.

I've also noticed that the housekeeping staffs are quite noisy in early mornings. Service equipments should be kept away from guests' eyes because it ruins the resort experience.

All in all, the staff here are super friendly and well trained and we enjoyed our first stay in Radission. We wish to come back in the next opportunity.

Room Tip: For quiet rooms, keep away from the pools and beach. 2F and up recommended for brighter rooms with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Bula zohel

On behalf of the team here at Radisson Blu we thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm especially pleased that you wish to return at the next opportunity. Vinaka!

It sounds as if you managed to enjoy the Adults Only pool whilst your son was being entertained - being a parent you don't necessarily get many opportunities like that! I did take note of your observations on our food offerings - we generally receive good comments on our menu at Watercourt so I genuinely apologise that it didn't meet your expectations. I have also talked to the Executive Housekeeper about noise levels early in the morning. I do hope this did not negatively impact on your stay with us.

zohel, we look forward to welcoming you back to Denarau and to our property soon. In the meantime

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,422
    719
    240
    83
    45
See reviews for
1,285
716
64
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This resort is for families with young children. Very young children! I would not recommend it if you want peace and quiet as the children were very vocal all day! The main pool was over run with them screaming and I mean screaming! The so called token adults only pool was only a very small area which was an extension of the main pool area and is only separated by some rocks so you really couldn't get away from the noise. We had a massage but the day spa is in the middle of the kids pool area so all you could hear again was screaming children. The relaxing music could not drown out the noise. Not sure why you would locate a day spa in this area when there would be a more suitable location elsewhere in the resort. The resort was also very cramped and crowded as they have tried to fit too much in to the common areas where the pools and restaurants are. The rooms are on three levels and our room was nice enough. Had a little balcony which had a glimpse of the ocean. The bathroom was fitted out well, the bed comfortable and there were some unexpected extras such as robes and bottled drinking water each day. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Archie makes a mean Mojito the best we tasted in Fiji. The manager spoke with us a couple of times asking pertinent customer service type questions and remembered us the next day so followed up re our restaurant booking. There are 4 restaurants - we only ate at two and the food was good (Asian and Pizza). Again if you want a quiet dinner avoid the main restaurant which is children focussed as they have 'hamburger building nights' and 'build your own sandwich'. We had breakfast there twice once a la carte and we had to wait at least 45 min for our eggs and only after we enquired were they brought out to us. The did bring a complimentary plate of fruit but as we were in hurry (going on a day trip) we didn't get to eat much of it. The other morning we had the buffet breakfast and it was chaotic! Kids running around everywhere piling up their plates with food they were never going to eat. I was waiting for an accident to happen like one of them being scolded with hot water or tripping over. The set up was disjointed with some food items in very strange places like the berry compote at the egg cooking counter so people were constantly pushing through the line to get things. We did check out the other resorts at Denarau. The Wyndham next door looked modern with an inviting beach side very large pool area and a beach bar. We ate at the Mexican restaurant and the food was fabulous. We have stayed at the Westin before which I would recommend. We did a walk through the Sofitel where the beach side pool and grounds were spacious and lovely. They too had an adults only pool area which was away from the main pool. A Taxi to airport from Denarau takes about half and hour and costs $45. There are frequent buses into Port Denarau where there are some nice coffee shops, restaurants and retail stores. We walked into the port and it took about half hour. Next time we stay at Denarau we will stay at the Wyndham or the Sofitel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 381 on the third floor close to the beachfront so you could not hear the noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Bula Karen M

We appreciate you taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay with us here at Radisson Blu. It is only sad that we failed to meet your needs and expectations.

We are unashamedly very popular with children and families - we have never disguised this fact if you read previous Tripadvisor comments. However, we do still have many couples who just love us for many reasons. I glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay such has the comfort of the rooms and the standard of our food but unfortunately the presence of children was not your ideal holiday scenario which I can totally appreciate. I apologise for any shortcomings during your stay and would encourage you to return to beautiful Fiji again - there are many accommodation options which would ideally suit you.

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

So does the Radisson Blu deserve its top TripAdvisor rating as THE place to stay on Denarau Island? I think the answer depends on your personal circumstances and expectations. If you're looking for a bustling, family-friendly haven, where the kids will be spoilt for choice from dawn to dusk, this is your place. Smiling, helpful staff who clearly love kids complement a range pools (including a popular water slide) and a host of entertainment. If you're travelling as a couple, looking for a peaceful retreat, you may want to look elsewhere. We were there at the height of the NZ/Australia school holidays and the resort was bursting at the seams. This means a few inconveniences like a daily battle for sun loungers, and a buffet breakfast where the staff struggled to keep supplies topped up. The western aspect gives this resort a better position than its rivals, and the food was consistently good and reasonably priced for this standard of accommodation. Our Lagoonview suite was comfortable, well-appointed and clean. Number one on Denarau? Not quite, the Hilton still edges it for me, and the Sheraton feels less crowded, even at peak times. But if you can get the right deal, and you're travelling with children, I would still happily recommend you give the Radisson a try.

Room Tip: Would recommend a Lagoonview Suite. Rooms on the third floor are possible a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Bula russell_underwood

It was great to read your observations on your time spent with us here on Denarau. Vinaka!

As you rightly point out, we are unashamedly very popular with families, especially during school holidays (you will find most resorts on Denarau increase their numbers of families staying at this time). However, we do receive many positive comments from couples, solo travellers and honeymooners as we do have areas of "tranquility" allocated specifically for adults. I am glad that you would recommend us to others and do hope that you may consider returning again, especially during the quieter months!

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have just returned from a very disappointing 6 day holiday at radisson. We felt like we were crowded around a freezing cold swimming pool - too cold for my sons (preschool) to enjoy swimming - and i couldnt blame them as it was too cold for us as well. To be fair, the pool was generally full but of older kids and we heard a lot of people around us making similar comments. Such a shame as the pool would have otherwise been great fun for the kids who would usually swim for as long as they can. The sea water by the hotel by comparison was like a bath but was too full of seaweed, branches etc to be swim-able. There are 2 large spas which are both adults-only which I thought was mean when the pool water was clearly so cold - at the very least the toddler pool needs to be heated. The hotel staff were absolutely lovely but we definitely wont be back. We did have a fantastic day at Cloud 9 - and wonderful swims in the sea from there - which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Bula firstimereviewermum

Thank you for your first time review - I'm only disappointed that it was not more favourable and that you had a major issue with the temperature of the pools which obviously impacted negatively on your experience with us. I do apologise sincerely and after reading this comment now have pool heaters on order for some of the pools. A small consolation after you have departed but hopefully will help the comfort of future guests. Unfortunately, it is the middle of the Fijian winter here and although we generally experience rather glorious temperatures for the majority of days our large pools do cool down.

It's a shame that you say you won't return as we are generally described as the best family resort around and children usually have a awesome stay with us. I do hope that you may consider changing your mind....

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We moved to this hotel after four nights at The Sofitel just up the road. The Sofitel frankly is a dump which looks old and has the energy and vibe of a tramp's vest. The Blu is clearly much better and saved our holiday as seven nights at Sofitel would have been very disappointing.

Lots to do, great atmosphere and friendly staff. I do not think it is quite up with The Sheraton which we stayed at previously but this is probably a matter of taste and I am sure others would disagree with me.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Russell197

I'm so pleased that we managed to assist you with creating some happy holiday memories after a less than ideal start. Vinaka for your kind comments and recommendation to others. I do hope that if you were returning to Fiji again you may consider staying with us.

Kind Regards

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been here four days and so far the kids have found faeces (human) floating in the pool on two of these days. Upon notifying the staff we have been very disappointed and disgusted to wait around twenty minutes before staff attend to it. This consists of a fishing net and a bucket of chemicals. The offending poo is scooped out of the pool and casually carried off in the dripping net to be disposed of while another staff member tips the contents of a container of chemicals around the general area. No one is notified, the pool is not emptied and life goes on. I am so disgusted I cannot bring myself to swim in the pool. We are going to spend the next five days travelling to other hotels to enjoy a cleaner swim. Yes this place is family friendly, but I do not want to spend my time or money in a five star resort with my children pointing out poos in the pool.

Finally, the food is very disappointing. Staff seem thin on the ground, so there is very little service and the food is not of a high standard.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Bula Kiwicrush
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of our resort on Trip Advisor and the team are all delighted to read that you found them to be family friendly. At the same time we apologise sincerely for the fact that you found the restaurants disappointing with too few staff. We currently have over 360 staff but in peak season it’s still a challenge to have exactly the right team in the right place at all times. Your comments remind us of the importance of continuing to work on improving this agility in our team.

We are obviously also very disappointed that it was you that discovered fasces in our pool. Thankfully it’s a very rare occurrence here at Radisson Blu and unfortunate that it wasn’t the parents of the offending child that drew our attention to the situation when it occurred on two consecutive days recently (undoubtedly the same child). Whilst an unpleasant sight the environmental health guidelines (that we follow carefully) are quite clear on the requirements of a pool operator under such circumstances. Provided the pool chlorine levels are within the required range (we actually run ours relatively high for safety reasons and check them as part of the response process) then pool closure is certainly not required.

Whilst it’s not something any hotelier likes to talk about, I am afraid that the other hotels you went on to visit will almost certainly have experienced the very same issue you saw at our property. It’s completely un-related to star rating, price or hygiene standards but clearly even less common in adult’s only resorts. Your only completely safe haven may well be at home.

We hope that with some quick research on the internet you will see that our team followed the generally accepted guidelines and that as this overriding memory of one unfortunate situation fades, you might give the team another chance and return to our corner of paradise for a future family holiday.

Vinaka Vakalevu. Gerard Knight, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Excellent hotel. Very child friendly. Great pools and child and adult zones. Loungers are monitored to stop people hogging them. Rooms excellent. Kids club very good. Easy walk to other resorts such as sheraton and westin if you fancy a change for lunch or dinner.

Would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Bula Niallfitz

Thank you for choosing Radisson Blu as your holiday destination and for your great review of our property here on Denarau. We do hope that you have returned home with some amazing memories of your holiday in Fiji and that should you plan to return that you would consider staying with us once again.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Gerard Knight General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island

Address: Resort Drive, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's newest luxury beach front Resort offers a myriad of resort facilities nestled around lagoon swimming pools and lush tropical gardens combined with warm genuine Fijian hospitality. 270 luxuriously appointed and spacious guestrooms & suites combined with a contemporary and unique Fijian blend. Choose either a Guest Room or 1 & 2 Bedroom Suites with views of the Gardens, Lagoon or Ocean. Indulge in 5 lagoon swimming pools (one exclusively for Adults), Jacuzzis, Harmony Spa or free non motorised water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island Hotel Denarau Island
Radisson Fiji
Radisson Denarau Island
Denarau Island Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.