We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton

Save Saved
You added Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Denarau Island, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Denarau Island
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I enjoyed my first time in Fiji at the Fiji Beach Resort and Spa. The staff were very friendly and greeted everyone with "Bula"As others have reported the breakfasts were great. A fantastic selection. I stayed in a garden apartment (3107). Very simply furnished but quite adequate for my needs. The air-conditioner worked well and the ceiling fans in the sitting room and bedroom stirred the air enough keep everything comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed with plenty of towels and towelling dressing gowns. There was a bit of a walk to the reception and the eating places but not too far. A Club Car would pick one up if you didn't want to walk. Some of the units are a long walk from the restaurants. The last unit is 4304. The gym is pretty basic - two tread mills and one bike if I remember correctly. There is a press up bench, a punch bag and are plenty of dumb bells. There are two restaurants. I only had dinner once. I found it more interesting and cheaper to get the "Bula" bus ($7 Fiji for a day ticket from reception ) and go into Port Denerau. If you like the exercise you can walk to Port Denerau in about 20 minutes. The swimming pools were great with a dedicated adult pool. Activities are organised daily for adults and kids.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Bula Roy G,
Many thanks for choosing Hilton for your recent stay in Fiji.
It was great to read that you have enjoyed the facilities and services at the resort, and above all, the friendliness and hospitality of the team.
We are in the process of upgrading our gym offer and will soon be able to offer additional cardio equipment.
Thank you once again for your feedback, and we look forward to having you for your 2nd stay with us very soon.
Vinaka,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    768
    462
    175
    68
    48
See reviews for
531
706
37
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Ok so i've travelled a bit but never have i come across somewhere as naturally beautiful as this property! Large resort right on the beach. I was lucky enough to stay in a 2bdm villa, it's not cheap but well worth the experience. I could not fault the bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen.

The lounge was good but you have a large TV and no real movie channels and they do not hire out DVDs either, I stayed for 5 days and nights and on the days that it rained it would have been nice to sit and watch a movie or 2 instead of cooking shows or the 2 channels dedicated to endless commercials of Hilton resorts around the world.

There are 7 pools at this property and it is great but the maximum depth is 1.5metres so if you wanted to dive you couldn't. The beach that surrounds this property was a mid muddy but i think that may just have been because of the recent cyclone. Food at the resort is riduculously expensive as you will see in the pictures i upload. There is amazing free fire dances an island dances on certain nights and the staff do go out of their way for you. Ofcourse there is a language barrier so instead of olives you ma get olive oil twice and then just give up on asking for what t is that you are after.

A bit chaotic if you require specific services such as more bottled water and due to size of the resort it is a big let down that properties are often not serviced until 5 or 6pm so if you go out for the day and get back late afternoon sometimes even early evening then your room has not been touched, in saying that the poor ladies that clean the rooms have to lug around trolleys etc in blistering heat and often look as if they may collapse by the time they get up to your room. The HIlton Fiji is stingy with their toiletries, everything is provided for the first day or two and then not everything is replenished so you often find yourself waiting 30-45mins for someone to run up a bath fizz or more hair conditioner. The food and desserts delicious although pricey, cocktails are nice but wait until happy hour unless you are using a currency significantly stronger than the Fiji dollar. Good Wifi access from all rooms and hotel restaurants and lobby area. Overall a really great 9/10....do take bug spray with you - mosquitoes and little sand bugs drawn to light even candle lit dinners attract them.

Great place for a honey moon as it is very romantic alas i stayed with a friend so no romantic activities to be explored, but easily one of the most beautiful places i have seen, bear in mind that Fiji is very poor and a bit derelict throughout so this "tourist section" is not a true reflection the surrounding city once you get out of the resort grounds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Bula Monique-of-Auckland,
Thank you very much for your review. It was great to read that you have enjoyed Fiji and the resort here.
I have read your comments with great interest and shared the feedback about the shortfalls with the management team, so that we may address them during upcoming training/re-training sessions.
Your point about the price of food will also be taken into consideration while working on the upcoming new menus in the outlets.
I would simply like to clarify that we offer 20+ TV channels, including a movie channel. We are, however, in the process of implementing a video on demand system in order to offer additional entertainment options.
Thank you once again for your comments, and for your kind words about the team ‘going out of their way for you’.
We all look forward to having you back for a 10/10 stay.
Vinaka,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Having stayed here before this trip was disappointing. The service is chaotic and very inconsistent. The biggest problem is that the hotel is now much bigger (in terms of rooms) than it was when it opened , however there are no new pools or restaurants. Many rooms Are well over a km from the nearest pool or eatery. There is no reliable transport within the hotel from these far flung rooms. In fact at night the service staff speed recklessly along in silent golf carts down the pedestrian paths - with no lights. Its only a matter of time until someone is run over. Beware of the beachside suites with "private plunge pools" they aren't private - they are shared with another suite. Fine unless your neighbour is a footy team or have multiple offspring in tow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Bula Wayne G,
Many thanks for sharing your impressions of the resort.
The property is located on 1.5km of beachfront, giving our guests unparalleled ocean views, privacy and a very unique feel. Guests are welcome to take one of the shuttles that continuously go up and down the property, or call reception to get a pick up. I have noted your comment about the speeding and lights of the buggies and have already taken the necessary steps to address the situation.
Our deluxe accommodation feature shared plunge pools and are advertised as such. Should you have come across marketing material that gives different information, I would be grateful of you could share it with me at Frederic.Lebegue@hilton.com
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments, and we do look forward to having you back soon.
Vinaka,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I second absolutely everything posted by "foulaman" below. Our stay was absolutely disappointing and we found ourselves over at the Raddisson more often than Hilton. Very jealous of the Raddision design & layout as well as their service compared to the Hilton. Will not be coming back, that's for sure.

Room Tip: Our beachfront studio was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Bula takingbackbenny.
Thank you for your short, yet very disturbing review.
I will be getting in touch with you in order to find out more about your experience and ensure that the incidents you have gone through do not repeat themselves.
I am sorry if your stay at the Hilton was not up to your expectations, and can only hope that you will give us an opportunity to give you the quality and service that we deliver to our guests and many return guests on a daily basis.
Vinaka,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongbar, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My mum, sister and I stayed at Fiji Resort for my 40th birthday. We stayed in the Three Bedroom Deluxe Beachfront, which we would highly recommend. The staff at the property were lovely - very friendly and genuine. You do have to embrace 'Fiji time', as not everything has a quick 'Western' time response, but this is part of the beauty of the country and the more you let yourself slip into Fiji time, the more relaxed you will be. Would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: The three bedroom Deluxe Beachfront has its own private plunge pool - great for those who totally wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Car0lyn13
Many thanks for sharing your comments about this stay and this special occasion.
Your comments about the team were shared and very much appreciated. We do endeavour to respond to guests’ requests in a ‘non Fiji time’ manner, and are relentlessly coaching and training in that direction.
The team and I do look forward to your return for your 41st birthday or sooner!
Vinaka,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a brilliant week. Our anniversary holiday experience was totally relaxing. The staff were always so friendly, funny, happy and helpful nothing was too much to ask for. Our room was very clean, well equipped and spacious with a balcony and ocean views. The pools were lovely and clean and there were plenty of lounges available. The main restaurant wasn't open which was a bit disappointing, but due to the recent cyclone that was understandable. The gardens were beautiful and well maintained. The front lobby was always clean and tidy and staff were always very helpful and friendly. We mainly ate dinner at the Port because it was more reasonably priced. Our breakfasts were delicious with plenty of variety to keep us satisfied and the staff again were always very happy, helpful and efficient. Our highlight was when the breakfast staff sang their goodbye song to us on the day we were leaving, it reduced us to tears and we didn't want to leave.
Vinaka everyone

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Bula Nadine M,
Many thanks for your review.
I read with great pleasure that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and that the friendliness and hospitality of the team played a great part in the success of your vacation on this special occasion.
The main restaurant and bar were closed for a while for a soft refurbishment, and is now back into full operation. I am glad that you could enjoy the alternative arrangements on offer, including breakfast, beach bar and beach events.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.
Vinaka,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed 6 days at this "resort". A very dissapointing experience right from arrival. Housekeeping was particularly bad. On the first evening we called housekeeping at around 8 pm to ask for an extra blanket. No answer so we called the front desk. Front desk staff said they would check and call back "if" they could find a blanket. No return call so we did without. In subsequent days the room was cleaned later and later each day, generally between 3:30 and 5:15 pm, even though empty rooms around us where guests had checked out were cleaned in the morning. Hand towels and face-cloths were missing on 3 days.

The main Nuku Restaurant was closed for renovations, so breakfast and all food service was offered in the run-down cafe. Food quality was terrible. Breakfast buffet offered gray-coloured scrambled eggs and poorly prepared fruit, to be eaten at tables and chairs that were old and dirty. Once in 6 days we were offered a second cup of coffee.

We booked a king bed but our room had two twins pushed together. This may be the standard for this property, but two beds pushed together do not make a king!!

Note that the resort claims to have 7 pools, but they are all located together and at least three of them are only 0.5 metres in depth so it is a bit misleading. Landscaping and gardens are not what one generally expects from resorts. Staff is very friendly and cheeful, but this does not make up for a serious lack of training.

Also note there is no way to move under cover between the front lobby, restaurant and guest rooms. This is important in the rainy season when guests can be easily soaked on the long walk to and from rooms. Some of the other hotels in the area are much better laid out to take account of the need for cover.

There are several resorts on Denarau offering rooms around the same rates, and from what we saw at those resorts we suggest checking out accommodation other than the Fiji Beach Resort (evidently badly) Managed by Hilton.

Room Tip: Rooms at some other resort would likely be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear foulaman,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am sorry to read about the series of very unfortunate incidents that you had to go through. Your experience of the resort, its facilities and its service is certainly not what we offer to our guests on a daily basis.
First of all, the main restaurant was closed during your stay, and breakfast was served in the Asian outlet. Food on offer was the same, cooked by the same team, likewise when it comes to service, and therefore I am very concerned by your experience. Kindly note that oxidation is what makes cooked eggs turn grey, but it does not compromise food safety.
It is also my understanding that it was raining when you were with us, which usually does not make a stay pleasant. Please note that the resort is stretched over 1.5km of beachfront, and it would be therefore a substantial project to cover pathways for wet weather.
I do hope that you will come back to the resort under more favourable circumstances, so that we may deliver the quality and service enjoyed by thousands of guests and return guests.
Best regards,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton

Address: Denarau Island, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What's your idea of the perfect escape? Perhaps it's spending precious time together as a family. Maybe you want to rediscover romance, in a setting that's simply breathtaking. Or perhaps you'd rather enjoy relaxing spa treatments and superb cuisine...For sheer romance, a glorious honeymoon, your best family break ever or a golfer's dream holiday, Hilton in Fiji makes the perfect setting. Welcome to your perfect escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiji Beach Resort And Spa Managed By Hilton
Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed By Hilton Hotel Denarau Island
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort
Hilton Denarau Island
Fiji Hilton
Denarau Island Hilton
Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed By Hilton Denarau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.