We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Terrible Management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Denarau Island, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% Off & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Terrible Management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I originally visited the Fiji Resort and Spa managed by the Hilton, in 2009. We were blown away by the amazing staff, the beautiful rooms and the general quality of the resort. It was one of the best holidays we had had. We thus decided to stay at the resort again in December 2012. Although the resort itself is beautiful and the staff once again were amazing, we were very disappointed in the way the management managed the events surrounding Cyclone Evan. So, although the resort itself should get a higher rating, our overall experience was not a good one as described below.

On the day of the cyclone, the resort began selling food packs and water for stocking in our rooms. The food packs were exorbitantly priced (2-3 times the normal price of food ordinarily bought at the resort). I thought that this was quite unethical but put it down to the resort having supply problems or being charged higher prices by greedy suppliers. We bought a few packs and resigned to our rooms to weather the storm.

Once the storm was over, the restaurant (which I have to say is below average) began serving a buffet for FJD70. This was quite expensive, especially for the 4 dishes that they were serving.

We decided not to eat there and went next door to the Lagoon restaurant at the Sofitel resort. I was gobsmacked to discover that the Sofitel had provided complimentary meals (breakfast, lunch and supper) to all of its guests, in light of the trauma they had experienced. I was appalled that, not only was the Hilton charging its guests but also hiking its prices! This was extremely unethical and left us feeling despondent about the resort.

On subsequent days, we visited the Sheraton, Radisson and Westin resorts and they had all provided complimentary meals to the guests. This was done not only on the day of the cyclone but the subsequent two days following this disaster.

The Sofitel, to take care of its guests further, reduced their meal rates at their restaurants (they served a bountiful seafood buffet, which ordinarily cost FJD85 for FJD50).

This was contrary to what the Hilton had done and demonstrates to me that the resort is only interested in the bottom line and not its guests. In fact, the resort was also charging inflated prices for rooms (guests were unable to book flights back and had to stay extra nights) whereas other resorts were discounting the room rate.

I am really sad to give the resort a bad rating as, once again, the staff are incredible, the rooms are beautiful, etc. Despite our bath being cracked and leaking water everywhere (no one repaired it despite numerous calls), our television not working (once again no one fixed it), no hot water (understandable given the cyclone) and terrible communication regarding the cyclone, we would have returned to the resort.

The way the cyclone was handled will make us consider a different resort in future.

P.s a complaint was sent to both Hilton head office and the Fiji Beach Resort and Spa and no response has been given at the time of this review.

Room Tip: The one bedroom beach front room was excellent for a small family
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear MPatron,
Many thanks for your feedback reg. your stay during the recent cyclone.
I would like to stress that there has never been any intention of taking advantage of the situation during/after the cyclone, and I would like to take the opportunity to clarify the examples that you shared.
On the morning of the cyclone, additional items were put on sale at the Deli, in order for guests to be able to stock up on take away items, as restaurants and facilities were closing until at least the next day, noon time. In addition to the wide range of salads, quiches, gourmet sandwiches, pizza, etc … available at regular prices, take away meal packs that included a main, salad, bread and cake were made available.
The Deli re-opened as of 11am the day after the cyclone, with the regular selection and prices. The main restaurant open for dinner, with a buffet that consisted of entrees, salads, several main courses & vegetable, and a selection of desserts at FJD70 per person. As usual, guests below 10 years old, could eat on a complimentary basis.
The food packs and buffets on offer before/after the cyclone were only some of the options available. We usually do not offer buffets or food packs, making their prices difficult to compare.
I wanted to clarify the points you shared in order to show that it is the safety and comfort of our guests and team members that have always been our priority. I would also like to add that during and after the cyclone, internet access was made complimentary for all guests in order to keep in touch with relatives and friends.
The team at the resort has made every effort to help ensure the safety and comfort of our guests. These were difficult times, not just for us, but for everyone affected, and our thoughts are with those who have been seriously impacted by Tropical Cyclone Evan. I would like to thank you and all the guests for their patience in the aftermath of the cyclone, as we worked hard to restore the property to full service and help our team members whose homes have sustained substantial damage.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort, under more favourable circumstances.
Vinaka,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    589
    222
    84
    60
See reviews for
647
898
47
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This review is not meant to negate the comments of the other travellers / reviewers. I have not read them all. This is simply intended to present our experience of the Hilton, whilst enduring the cyclone. The cyclone hit exactly 7 days into our 12 day stay. Our first 6 days were magnificent. Better weather than we have had in the past at this time of year. We had plenty of notice of the cyclone given it had hit Samoa (twice) more than 3 days prior. Hilton's twice daily updates on the cyclone's progress and trajectory was helpful in our decision to (a) stay and (b) be prepared. Perhaps this is one area where the hotel could improve - communicating more steps to prepare (such as having enough towels for mopping and mopping not just blocking the water as it surged through, ensuring to have enough provisions, including first aid, for 2-3 days, cash for emergencies, what would be happening afterwards in case of a bad hit such as no daily servicing, so requirements to do own linen washing etc) and communicating post cyclone regarding reasons for delays in pool cleaning / opening, power outages etc. Given that this is a very irregular event and it is common behaviour of Fijians to be positive and relaxed about things (staff were still commenting on the day of the cyclone that they thought it would not hit us), I am not suprised. The hotel charged torches in all rooms 2 days prior to the event and maintained generator power throughout the cyclone to assist with '24 hours in room' with young children (we have 2 aged 3 and 5). We were lucky that our roof held on and no stakes went through our roof allowing in water and cutting off power as happened to others. We had flooding in 2 of our rooms but were able to keep on top of it through out the night. We mopped with towels and flushed out the balcony with buckets of water and detergent (afterwards). We washed our towels in the washing machines for re-use, and told housekeeping not to bother with our room. The evening after we were permitted to leave our rooms, the hotel did put on a buffett meal for $70Fijian (approx $50AUD) per adult, kids ate free. Although high, our provisions meant that we did not need to use this option (although we chose to and hope that the extra cost was to pay locals to prepare and cook food for us tourists instead of attending to their personal circumstances). Two pools (one small, one large) were readied by Thursday (the cyclone hit on Monday and the winds continued into much of Tuesday) and two more two days later. We visited the Sofitel and their pool was opened on Thursday too - they did seem to get onto this quicker than the Hilton, however we decided that we didn't know what other issues the Hilton might have had to deal with. Again an opportunity for improvement in communication, although once we asked managmeent, we were made aware of the filter issues (this is one of the reasons the generators kept blowing out). We swam in the ocean on the Tuesday and Wednesday which was a novelty, and to be honest, we had heaps of fun with our kids and other families, relieved to be safe and happy to be out of the rooms. By Wednesday the marina was open for business again, so we returned to having our evening meals there. The spa and deli opened on Wednesday and kids club too (which was airconditioned and showing movies up to 8pm). Through-out, we felt satisfied with what was being done to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I believe that the first day (and perhaps some subsquent days), staff were not certain of the situation with power, room servicing etc. I also heard stories where people were not given the ideal service compared to others. some guests arriving post cyclone were given well serviced rooms whilst others were stuck in rooms which were still damaged and were not permitted to move. I realise that the situation varies per family and feel for those who had a less than satisfactory experience. It was a severe cyclone and very frightening, but I only think it fair to say that our family had an exceptional stay (our second) at the Hilton and we will be back to support the local economy. My only complaint is that the decking aruond the pools is aging and needs replacing. One of my children got a lot of large splinters which we removed (painfully) but we had to soak his feet each night to ensure no infection.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bed apartment (not adjoining rooms as our children are young). We have had both upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Bula go_qld,
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of the resort under the very unusual circumstances of a cyclone.
I am glad that you have felt safe and looked after all the way through, and would also like to thank you for your very valuable input. The dedication of the team and understanding and patience of our guests allowed us to be fully operational within a week after the cyclone hit.
I am sorry to read about the incident at the pool involving one of your children - I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and pain it created. We are about to replace the deck of the pool to avoid any re-occurrence of a similar situation.
Thank you once again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Vinaka,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 7 nights in march 2012 for our friends wedding, We booked for a one bedroom suite which was great, The room was fantastic the small issue of being in the furthest block from the main resort area was only a problem if you could not find a passing buggy the room quality made up for that.
The breakfast is fantastic but the rest of the menu for lunch and dinner is limited in variety and no change in menu durring the stay. So lucky port denarau is so close with many choices, Staff a great and pools are great. This is not really a childrens resort.

Room Tip: closer to main area the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Bula koutras,
Thank you very much for your review, and kind words about the team and facilities.
Kindly note that we have introduced daily specials for lunch and dinner in all our restaurants, as well as dim sum in our Asian restaurant on Fri/Sat/Sun. I do hope that you will have the opportunity to experience these enhancements during an upcoming trip to Fiji.
Vinaka,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Fiji Hilton many many times and were there for cyclone Evan. It was devastating and very scary. We were confined to our rooms from 9.00 am on the morning of the cyclone which peaked at about 9pm. At one stage the winds were so strong out ears were popping from the pressure in out room. We were really worried that the windows were going to break and moved to the back of the room.
The local staff were fabulous through the whole experience. As always they did their best given the damage to the resort and restaurant. There were no phones so many of them had not been in contact with their families (many have young children). Yet they worked tirelessly to get the place up and running and many of us helped with the clean-up given it was such a large job.
However I must agree with other comments on this site that the GM was nowhere to be seen and there was very little in terms of communication. The thing that upset most was that management decide to profit from the situation. We all needed food in out rooms so they charged FJD 50 for some cold spaghetti bolognaise in a take away container and a small salad. This is more than the average main meal in the main restaurant. There was no other option to get food from the local shops etc so they had a monopoly and profited from this. The night after the cyclone there was a buffet put on that consisted of roast chicken, beef and vegetables which was charged at FJD 70. That is more than any main meal on the menu. We were told not to drink the water out of the tap so they sold Fiji water to us at inflated prices (double that of the local shops).
Given what had happened I had no issue that our rooms had no gas, air conditioner or hot water. Or that we were drying ourselves with towels that had been used to wipe up the rain water and dirt from our floor from the cyclone. However it was the blatant profiteering by management that ultimately sent us home a week early. I think that someone should be making management of HILTON in the US aware of what happened and the damage that has been done to the brand.
It is interesting to read the comments on this site from the Sofitel (resort next door) where travellers praised management and the way they handled the situation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear dzvc s,
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback further to your stay in these unusual circumstances.
In the lead up to the arrival of Cyclone Evan there had been a great deal of preparation by the hotel’s team to ensure our guests were as safe and secure as possible, which is the key reason why no guests or team members who were in-house were injured.
We have worked hard to keep guests informed about the upcoming cyclone through notice boards in the lobby and main restaurant, letters in guest rooms, a manager on duty in the lobby to answer questions, preparedness information for guests, including on the in-house TV channel and lobby TV screens.
As I mentioned in another response, I have met a number of the 400+ guests that we had in-house when the cyclone hit, and certainly apologize if I could not meet all.
There has never been any intention of taking advantage of the situation, and I would like to take the opportunity to clarify the examples that you shared.
On the morning of the cyclone, additional items were put on sale at the Deli, in order for guests to be able to stock up on take away items, as restaurants and facilities were closing until at least the next day, noon time. In addition to the wide range of salads, quiches, gourmet sandwiches, pizza, etc … available at regular prices, take away meal packs that included a main, salad, bread and cake were made available.
The Deli re-opened as of 11am the day after the cyclone, with the regular selection and prices. The main restaurant open for dinner, with a buffet that consisted of entrees, salads, several main courses & vegetable, and a selection of desserts at FJD70 per person. As usual, guests below 10 years old, could eat on a complimentary basis. Prior and after the cyclone, Fiji water by the bottle was sold at regular price, and there was actually a special offer on cartons for guests who wished to stock up.
I wanted to clarify the points you shared in order to show that it is the safety and comfort of our guests and team members that have always been our priority. I would also like to add that during and after the cyclone, internet access was made complimentary for all guests in order to keep in touch with relatives and friends.
The team at the resort has made every effort to help ensure the safety and comfort of our guests. These were difficult times, not just for us, but for everyone affected, and our thoughts are with those who have been seriously impacted by Tropical Cyclone Evan. I would like to thank you and all the guests or their patience in the aftermath of the cyclone, as we worked hard to restore the property to full service and help our team members whose homes have sustained substantial damage.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort, under more favourable circumstances.
Vinaka,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We arrived pre cyclone Evan. The foyer is very tired and needs replacing but our 3 bedroom penthouse was superb having 4 teenage kids, the space was excellent as was the fit out. It was a bit of a a walk back to the pools, bot no big drama. The pools are nice but less than I expected, no swim up bar or exciting kids pool. Breakfast was good but dinner average and expensive, we ate out after that.
We were well prepared by the staff for the cyclone, Brad was great, not sure where the GM was. The cyclone was incredible and devastated the hotel. I couldn't imagine what it would be like. The rain came through the windows and we had 2 inches of water and mud through the penthouse, we had ther guests stay with us as they were worried about flooding. The pools are trashed and have been out for a week, we had no power, or hot water. The staff have done as good a job as they can given they also have personal issues to deal with.
We checked out and moved to te Intercontinental as the Hilton should probably close for a while to get sorted.
We had a great room at a great rate with friendly service. As long as ur cancellation fee is refunded we will be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear IanB1965,
Thank you for your review and kind words reg. the preparedeness prior to cyclone Evan.
I am sorry that your penthouse was affected by the adverse weather, and can certainly praise the team for their efforts in making sure guests were safe at all times.
The resort’s pools were filled with mud and debris, however two out of the 7 pools were operational within 3 days, and all of them became available less than a week after the cyclone. The resort was running on generator, with some power cuts in order to perform routine maintenance. Gas supply had to be shut down for safety issues, hence the unavailability of hot water for a while. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the disruption due to the cyclone, and can only praise the work of the team, which allowed the resort to go back to full operation within a week.
The team, including managers, played a very important part in ensuring that guests were informed and safe at all times. I have met a number of the 400+ guests that we had in-house when the cyclone hit, and certainly apologize if I could not meet all. May I suggest that you contact me reg. the cancellation fee that you refer to in your review.
The team at the resort has made every effort to help ensure the safety and comfort of our guests. These were difficult times, not just for us, but for everyone affected, and our thoughts are with those who have been seriously impacted by Tropical Cyclone Evan. I would like to thank you and all the guests or their patience in the aftermath of the cyclone, as we worked hard to restore the property to full service and help our team members whose homes have sustained substantial damage.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort, under more favourable circumstances.
Vinaka,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thank goodness we were only here for one night! The beach here is unusable. The front desk staff were very slow and uninterested. We asked about our free shuttle to catch Malolo Cat at the harbor and were told we had to take a cab. That was just plain wrong. The concierge had no idea what the weather forecast was. We were told you had to go to the coffee shop to use wi-fi and then found out, by accident, that it worked just fine in the lobby.
Our room was not very clean. It looked like there was toothpaste splattered on the wall in the bathroom. Our water view wasn't.
The food in the restaurant was just average, expensive and the service was very slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear bczican,
I read your review with great interest and was very concerned by the shortfalls that you shared.
I would also like to clarify that complimentary wi fi is available at the main restaurant (Nuku) and at the Deli (L’Epicier). The lobby is very close to the Deli, which might explain why there is some coverage, however, the signal’s strength is unstable.
Your experience with the concierge is certainly not up to our standards, in particular, as the day’s weather forecast is displayed on the concierge’s desk, as well as in the ain restaurant and deli. I will be contacting you through private message to find out more about these shortfalls, in order to take the necessary measure and avoid any re-occurrence.
Thank you for your feedback and we certainly look forward to having you again for a much better Fijian experience.
Vinaka,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a big family holiday at the resort - seven adults and five children under 7 - and had a marvellous time. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially with the children, and the resort was beautiful. The food in the two restaurants was great and priced comparatively with nearby resorts.

We were at the resort during category 5 tropical cyclone Evan - a frightening experience. The staff remained friendly and supportive throughout, and one young warden even stayed in the room with me and my two children when we were asked to evacuate upstairs due to flooding but were unable to because the upstairs rooms were already full.

The day after the cyclone resort staff and guests pitched in to begin the cleanup and we were impressed that they got the cafe and restaurant up and running and serving hot food despite all mains power being down (the hotel had generators) and scarce supplies of food and water throughout Fiji. All staff were accommodated at the hotel for the duration at the cyclone and they kept working with a smile the following day despite not knowing whether their families were safe or homes still standing.

Unfortunately though our stay ended on a bitter note. We were due to leave the day after the cyclone hit. However all services were down and the aiport closed so we had to stay another night. Because the entire staff was focused on putting on the bandaids and keeping the place running even though Fiji was declared a natural disaster site, there was no housekeeping and therefore we stayed in muddy rooms with wet muddy towels (which had been used - unsuccessfully - to try and stop water and debris coming into our rooms), dirty sheets, intermitent power and no aircon, no hot water and in fact intermittent running water, no services or amenities (pools, spa, kids club all understandably shut). BUT Hilton saw fit to charge us the full stand-by rate for the rooms, almost double the daily rate we'd been paying throughout the rest of our stay. This was particularly galling for those who had spent the previous night on the couch when forced to evacuate upstairs due to ocean flooding. Furthermore they charged double the usual price for a main meal for the basic buffet roast dinner served in the restaurant.

I disagree with the previous poster in that we thought the staff and service were amazing during extremely difficult circumstances for all. I don't blame the staff for the terrible state of the place after the cyclone - it was completely beyond their control and they worked very hard for days on end to keep the place running. But I am disgusted at the profiteering that went on. I anticipate difficulty with claiming the cost on travel insurance as the hotel's front desk printer was broken when I checked out and therefore I only have a handwritten note detailing my room charge.

I presume Hilton will fail to refund people for the outrageous room cost but I have written to the group to strongly urge it to donate the cyclone profits to the recovery effort for the victims of the cyclone. I'd love to be able to come back and confirm this has been done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to reception (101-118 or 201-218)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredericLebegue, General Manager at Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear TCsurvivor,
Thank you very much for your comments about the resort, and your very kind words about the preparedness and dedication of the team during the recent cyclone.
I would like to apologize that you had to go to a un-serviced room when you came back to the resort, and would also like to add that there has never been any intention of taking advantage of the situation in terms of rate. Please do get in touch with me through private message in order to clarify the rate discrepancy that you mention.
The team at the resort has made every effort to help ensure the safety and comfort of our guests, these are difficult times, not just for us, but for everyone affected by the current situation and our thoughts are with those who have been seriously impacted by Tropical Cyclone Evan.
Thank you and best regards,
Frederic Lebegue
General Manager - Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Denarau Island, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What's your idea of the perfect escape? Perhaps it's spending precious time together as a family. Maybe you want to rediscover romance, in a setting that's simply breathtaking. Or perhaps you'd rather enjoy relaxing spa treatments and superb cuisine...For sheer romance, a glorious honeymoon, your best family break ever or a golfer's dream holiday, Hilton in Fiji makes the perfect setting. Welcome to your perfect escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Managed By Hilton Hotel Denarau Island
Fiji Beach Resort And Spa Managed By Hilton
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa Denarau Island
Hilton Denarau Island
Fiji Hilton
Denarau Island Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.