We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Visit to the Sofitel - Excellent as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Denarau Island
Blue Mountains
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“3rd Visit to the Sofitel - Excellent as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

This was our 4th trip to Fiji and our 3rd trip staying at the Sofitel. We usually stay at the Sofitel on our way to and from the islands, but chose to stay there for 7 nights this time (and no where else). On our last trip to Fiji our kids loved the Sofitel so much (and not the 5 star island we also stayed at) that we chose to just stay at the Sofitel this time, as it was a low priced, low fuss holiday that we KNEW all of our family would enjoy. We have stayed in every type of room now at the Sofitel now- from the standard rooms, ocean view rooms, family rooms, through to the Presidential Suite. All the rooms are good. The ground floor rooms are great for families and the suites are well worth the extra money, for their extra space and premium location.

We loved our stay here. Great food, great pool, the kids LOVED the waterslide and very nice rooms and facilities. We didn't use Kids Club much, as we didn't really get great value for money as our girls would only spend an hour or two there - we ended up getting our own babysitter, for the few times we needed one ($8 an hour). Our youngest daughter broke her arm on the first day of our stay whilst at Kids Club (no fault of the kids club! it was a very innocent accident which I saw happen, as she was stepping out of the cubbyhouse). All of the staff and doctor we saw, were just lovely in helping us out and giving her extra special attention.

My only minor complaints would be that it seems lots of people camp out on the poolside chairs all day (even when they are clearly not using them and the signs say not to), the bath in our room was pretty mouldy around the edges and the kids club really caters for people who want to drop their kids off for hours on end, and not maybe just an hour or two, during the day...... all minor and trivial complaints, though.

My husband and I indulged in daily massages at the spa and ate most of our meals at the Sofitel, as it was all great value and so convenient for our young family. We have an Accor Advantage Plus card which is well worth purchasing, as it gives a significant discount on your meals too.

We will be back again on our next trip to Fiji. It's outstanding value for money and the facilities are great for families.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    792
    297
    107
    48
See reviews for
720
971
64
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

The Staff were all very nice, and the service and food were great. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMresort, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your latest review, I was please to read that you enjoyed you stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

If you look past the very poor service, and the lack of responsiveness, the hotel is beautifully located but, over the years that I've visited, has deteriorated from 5 stars to 3. The service isn't what it used to be, and the rooms need a good tidy up.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMresort, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your latest review, I was disappointed to read your review of our resort, especially as we have spent a lot of time improving the grounds, guest rooms and F&B Outlets this year with further plans for improvements next year. I will ensure we keep improving the hotel to ensure you notice these changes on your next visit.

Kind regards

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We spent 7 days here recently - hands down best relaxing holiday we have EVER had. It was so relaxing, so much fun. The staff we terrific, the water aerobics was a lot of fun, and all the other activities

I really appreciated the guest laundry - which is also free.

We are counting down the months to our next trip in July

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMresort, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to list your latest review, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your latest stay with us and had a relaxing holiday, this of course is the mean reason people need holidays. I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed the activities at the resort especially the pool aerobics which are still happening everyday at 11.30am. I agree with you that the laundry rooms are a great feature as guests can wash and try their clothes while on holiday, great when traveling with kids and completely free.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

definatly one to stay at on denaru. great staff, good activities and 24 hour pool :D

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMresort, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your latest review of our resort and your stay with our activities and pool.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort

kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This luxury resort . Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Otherfeatures at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and the largest conference facilities on the island. A marina and cultural temples are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.