We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Denarau Island
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sofitel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

My husband and i stayed at the Sofitel for our last night of our honeymoon in Fiji Denaru. The next morning when we went to breakfast we were told that it was included in our package $66 breakfast only to be told at check out that it wasn't after 15 mins of being told by staff that we were in the wrong and that we would have to pay, and totally being embarrased infront of other guests only to find out when arriving back in australia that breakfast was included in our package, we recived no apology what so ever. Drinks were expensive, nice resort but is too Americanised, looks like a shopping centre. We stayed at Matamanoa Island where we payed $550 a night this was beautiful compared to Sofitel.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    774
    710
    254
    93
    41
See reviews for
632
872
54
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Sofitel and wish we had stayed a little longer. It was fantastic! The rooms were very clean and relatively spacious, considering there were four of us staying in the one room ( 2 children- 5&8 years). Most of the day was spent by the pool, which was absolutely huge, and catered for all types of swimmers. There is a great waterslide which keeps the kids entertained (and adults too!!).
There is a great choice when it comes to food from fine dining to casual dining. The kids are well catered for in the lagoon restaurant, which offers a buffet. There is a special little buffet area for the kids but they are quite welcome to eat from the ordinary buffet as well. Soft drinks are included in the price and there are special kids prices for the buffet. It is strongly recommended that you get a package deal with breakfast included as this sets you up for the day, and the variety is great (and varies slightly each day).
Looking at the other resorts on Denarau Island, I thought it was truley the nicest, although we did not go to the new Hilton down the road. We did drive past it with the Bula bus (which is free), and it didn't seem too inviting from the outside.
Overall, the Sofitel is highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2006

Stayed for 5 nights at the Sofitel last week. Thoroughly enjoyed it and are planning on returning next year.

Pro's - lovely pool area, lots of loungers, very friendly staff and prompt service throughout the resort (unusual for Fiji). Great food, nice modern rooms. Also good babysitting service organised via the kids club ($8 per hour). Very child friendly resort.

Con's - overpriced watersports. In room hotel directly needs updating as some information is incorrect.

  • Liked — Fantastic Pool Area & Great Friendly Service
  • Disliked — Overpriced Watersports
  • Tips/Secrets — Bula bus runs between all Denarau hotels between 7am-11pm and is a free service! Ports O Call restaurant at the Sheraton is a top notch fine dining restaurant. Highly recommended!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for a week as part of a conference. The hotel was beautiful, the rooms where great, the people working here are very helpful and friendly, the kids club was nice but did very little for the kids-they wrote a lovely program of all the activities for the week but barely did any of it, when we asked when the activities would start they said fijian time...... so even though the club was nice, very few kids attended as it was quite boring, though very cheap. The buffet food was really good at the restaurant, although the poolside restaurant wasn't great. We enjoyed the watersport at the beach and the lagoon pool was lovely BUT my biggest disappointment was the beach! Oh my god it was a SWAMP. There were weeds growing upto a meter high. We could not walk into the water. The kids didn't want to step foot in it. Apparantly when we asked, Denarau island used to be a swamp and it was man made into an Island, well they did a shocking job of it. I was expected a beautiful clean fijian beach not a mud bath. We've previously stayed at the shangra la and even though the hotel is aging and no where as swish as the sofitel the coral coast was really beautiful. I would not return to any of the hotels in Denarau.

  • Liked — food, rooms
  • Disliked — beach
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This luxury resort . Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Otherfeatures at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and the largest conference facilities on the island. A marina and cultural temples are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.