We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Denarau Island
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

We stayed 5 nights at the Sofitel with our 2 kids aged 4 & 6, before going on to the Coral Coast. We loved this resort!! The location is great - so close to the Marina. The pool was amazing and our kids loved the waterslide! We found the food to be very good - prices to us were similar to a 5 star resort in Australia. We ate at the Marina a couple of nights and also got take-away pizzas from Mama's (excellent) . Also - go to the noodle bar next door at the Hilton - an amazing spot on the beach, fantastic food and good prices! It was great to go 'pool hopping' one day from resort to resort - after looking at all of them we still preferred the Sofitel. We did like the Radisson too but all the sand around the pool would drive me crazy!! Our room was one with a seperate area for the kids with their own TV and bunks and desk - we, and they, thought this was great! I personally had no issues at all with the service and found the staff to be very friendly.

We did the Mystery Island day cruise (www.captaincook.com.fj) and it was a fantastic day! Our kids loved their first experience of snorkeling on this trip. It was an hour and a half ride on a beautiful old schooner but it went soooo quickly with the entertainment provided! I would highly reccomend this trip if you have young children.

Also - went to the Sleeping Giants, Village and Look out tour - OK but would be cheaper to do this with your own taxi driver.
Our only negative issue with the Sofitel is that there wasn't a lot of activities provided for the kids - however our kids were so busy in the pool it didn't matter.

Overall we loved Denerau (much better that the Coral Coast) and will come back along with a stay on an island.

I hope this review is helpful!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    774
    710
    254
    93
    41
See reviews for
632
872
54
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Just got back from 8 nights at the sofitel and it was just what we needed.

A great family holiday place, wich was perfect for our 2 year old. we all did a lot of lazing by the pool.

Positives:
* Huge pool which you can literally walk into where the kids to be and a much deeper end where the adults withou kids tend to be.
* Reasonable choice of restaurants including a decent buffet breakfast.
* We stayed with a friend who works for the accor hotel group so we got 50% off accomodation and breakfast prices and 15% off other food.
* Rooms were pretty reasonable and always clean.
* Small bottles of fiji water replaced each day ion our room.
* There was watersports including jetskis , catamarans, sea kayaks, parasailing, etc. at about australian prices.
* Some activities including touch footy, kava, pottery classes.
* Easy access to port denarau for restaurants (about 5 or 6). only a 15 minute walk, so unless its the middle of the day, not sure why anyone wouldnt just walk.

Negatives:
* Takes a few days to get used to the slow service on fiji time. especiall food around the pool, expect about a 1 hour wait.
* I can see how adults looking for a kid free holiday would be a bit overwhelmed by all the kids.
* Prices for food were pretty high.
* The bathroom is pretty small but it is only the bath / showe and toilet in there, with the sink not inclused giving you a bit more space.

Secondly anyone going to any of the resorts on denarau should have the dinner in the pool at the radisson. not only is it something different the food really was amazing, and im not really a foodie. a bit pricey ay $85 fijian each but that is a very full 3 courses plus drinks including beer and wine.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

My husband and I travelled here for our one year wedding anniversary and were recommended to stay at the Sofitel. To our disappointment it was hardly a five star luxury hotel, food variety and quality were poor. We were charged for luxury and they failed to deliver. In comparison to other resorts in the same vicinity, the Sofitel was the biggest disappointment in all areas. Not a destination for couples but certainly for families. Not up there in standards of luxury that one would expect.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We found the one night we stayed at Sofitel Fiji to be terrible. From the moment we arrived we found the staff to be very unhelpful. Check-in was terrible, receptionist was very rude, our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 1pm which was no big deal, but no help was given to provide information about the resort or where to go. Our room was a 5 minute walk to reception and was tiny, the bathroom even more so! There were kids everywhere at this resort, on either side of our room and in the pool. If you are looking for a romantic place to stay then don't choose here. We were meant to be staying seven nights, we checked out after one. You do the maths.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

I cant fault this resort it was fantastic. We stayed there in Dec 2008 for 10 nights and left a few days before christmas. I will sum up my experience briefly.

Resort:
- 3 restaurants had great service and yummy food. Definately recommend purchasing an Accord Advantage Plus card before you depart so you can get 50% off meals (thats with 2 people dining). It makes the price of meals more realistic. People from surrounding resorts were coming to the sofitel to eat because rumours were that it was the best
- The pool is huge and wasnt overcrowded (and yes we were there around christmas)
- We had no trouble getting towels for the pool and there were plenty of sun lounges
- Sun loungers and hammocks are situated on the beach
- Stayed in a garden view room which still had views of the beach!!
- There is a safe in the room - good for storing passports etc.
- Tour desk near reception, good for purchasing tours and putting on your room account
- Staff were definately perfessional and nice - everyone says Bula!
- A few stores in the resort including a jewellers which sells Pure Fiji products - lovely products and cheaper if purchased in Fiji. They are a pricey in Australia
- Water activities centre, chapel, kids centre
- beauty centre - i had a massage (half price when i was there). It was the best!
- BEST LOCATION!!! - minutes to Nadi township, close to airport, situated right next to other 5 star resorts (must check out the other resorts while u are there by walking up the beach or catching the bula bus) and easy access to port so you can do tours to the islands
- Bula bus drives around Port Denarau to each resort to pick up tourists and stops off at "the Port" which is the marina. Personally, i preferred to shop here as i didnt get hassled by shop keepers. In Nadi you pretty much get pushed into shops! The port has nice restaurants

Tours:
-Sigatoka River Safari - fantastic tour if your wanting to see the ''real fiji'' - went to a village with no power on a jetboat
- Namuama (not sure if i spelt that right) River Safari - went to a village on the long boats. the village was more commercialised for tourists. I would recommend the Sigatoka River Safari so you can see how some fijians really live.
- 3 1/2 hr jet ski tour - booked this through Sofitel water activities centre. This tour is quite expensive, cost us about $475 for 2 people however definately money well spent. It was our favourite tour. We jet skiied out to various islands inc. Bounty, Beachcomber, Treasure
- Day trip to castaway island - fantastic & you get to see other islands on your way out. Good prices!
- Garden of the sleeping giant - bit boring but if you like gardens you will enjoy it. You can see the 'sleeping giant' from the distance.
- Right near the sleeping giant there is a mud bath/hot spring - this is a great experience. we payed approximatley $10 for entry for 2 of us. We hired a driver for a few hours to take us to nadi, hot springs & sleeping giant.

Definately a great experience - i would definately do it again!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Sofitel for 4 nights before heading to Natadola Bay, we stayed in a Classic King room for 3 nights and our last night in a Junior Suite, the rooms were very comfortable and well appointed, the Junior Suite was huge. Staff were very friendly and provided good service although a little slow at times, but I guess thats what they call 'island time'.The food was very good (much to my surprise), we ate at all restaurants at the resort and found their food to be much better quality and value than other resorts in Fiji. The pool area was a bit noisy but then again it is a family resort and it was fully booked at the time- In saying that, the resort still had a relaxing vibe. If you want some quiet time there are hammocks on the beach and the beach is much less crowded than the pool. All in all, we were very happy at the Sofitel and will definitaly return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We just got back from 8 nights at this hotel. We originally booked for 7 nights and loved it so much we changed our flights back to Australia just so we could stay another night!
The staff in this hotel were lovely - in fact the Fijian people in general really made our trip and they were so very friendly in this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble, in fact the boys who ran the Activities shed even missed their shuttle home one night after they had finished their shift in order to give my partner his own personal Kava ceremony as he hadn't tasted it yet! Every morning we were greeted by smiles as we went to breakfast and were serenaded by guitars - the waiters and guitar people even sung us a farewell song on the final morning of our stay... it brought tears to our eyes!
Honestly, I can not understand some of these reviews that aren't talking as highly of this hotel, except to say that some people are never happy and perhaps look too hard for things to fault. My partner even heard one NZ couple complaining to the receptionist that the rate they paid this time was 'cheaper' than last time they visited the hotel a couple of years ago, and demanded to see the manager in order to get a refund for the difference from their last holiday - we couldn't believe it!!!!
My advice is that this is a lovely hotel and you will thoroughly enjoy your stay - we did!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This luxury resort . Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Otherfeatures at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and the largest conference facilities on the island. A marina and cultural temples are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.