We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They could n't do enough for you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“They could n't do enough for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

After arriving at the hotel from the airport we were overwhelmed with the hotel staff. Everybody was so helpful with that big Bula smile that would knock your socks off !! The entrance foyer was absolutely stunning. As you moved about the hotel grounds every staff employee would give you that beautiful smile followed by a big loud "Bula" The layout of the hotel was very workable. Outstanding pool area with preferred sections to keep everybody happy. The rooms were very comfortable with a turn down and a fresh bottle of Fiji water each day. What we liked about this hotel - we could always find a banana chair each and find a quite corner. The hotel activities were very well organised and plenty of them. Whether it is a trip to one of the beautiful islands or a jetski safari. The restaurants were well positioned with menu's to keep everybody happy. I do recommend the buffet breakfast - fantastic setting, great food and you even have these beautiful people singing to you while you dine.
My advise to anyone visiting Fiji give this hotel a go - you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — The setting and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — Could n't really fault it
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    847
    315
    116
    51
See reviews for
775
1,032
66
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights en route from Samoa to Vanuatu. Everything was spotlessly clean, the food was excellent, the service was great, and our room was comfy. Our only complaint was that our room walls were not well insulated, as we could hear everything going on in the hallway. Denarau is definitely not the real Fiji, so don't come here expecting that. It is instead a modern, master-planned, large resort/golf course/vacation home area. Fine for a brief visit while going from one destination to another. Take the Westbus into Nadi for the market and the Hindu temple if you want some local flavor during your time here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

It’s very hard to travel to or around Fiji without having to spend at least a night on the front or back end somewhere near NAN, which for most people, including us, means a night on Denarau. On previous trips, we had stayed at the Sheraton (nee Regent of Fiji), which we have long been quite fond of, but wanted to try some place new for our one night on Denarau, and chose the Sofitel based on its relatively positive TripAdvisor reviews. (They were more positive back in January when we were planning this than they are now...)

This is a very stylish large hotel property with a decent beach (for Denarau), a great, meandering pool, and very well laid out and nicely appointed rooms, decorated with a vaguely Asian décor. Some earlier tripadvisor reviews mentioned outdated, moldy rooms, but our Superior Oceanview room looked freshly decorated, was air-conditioned and dehumidified to within an inch of its life, and was absolutely spotless. What it didn’t have, despite it's name, was an unobstructed ocean view. Didn’t matter to us, but it might to you. Regardless, if you don’t like the looks of your room at check in, ask for a different one, because there ARE some good ones.

There are three restaurant choices—a buffet restaurant that’s clearly intended to be the “main” dining venue, a high-end restaurant (with surprisingly few seafood choices; we passed) and a very attractive open-air Salt restaurant/bar, which seemed to be where most folks actually ended up for dinner. Our pricey meals there, while tasty, were just completely out of sync, especially dinner, with things arriving out of order, cold, and, in one case, a fairly expensive bottle of wine we ordered finally making a very belated appearance…with dessert.

This was typical of the oddly spotty, sporadic service we received, marked early on by a complete inability to get someone to serve us a happy hour drink at their upstairs “Breeze” bar (that advertised, but did not have, live music).

Admittedly, we were spoiled by the “petulant rock star” service we got at the smaller outer-island Fiji resorts, but I don’t think this was just a case of us expecting too much or being too petulant ourselves. We’d been in Fiji for two weeks, and had long since put away our wristwatches and adjusted to “Fiji time.” Even with that, they really seemed discombobulated at the Sofitel. Maybe it was because they were almost fully booked with Australian families on holiday. A full hotel is certainly not something we see much of these days, and it’s possible they just weren’t prepared/staffed for the load.

If subsequent reviews are all raving about the excellent service, then you can ignore this complaint as a random bad day. It is after all just a single data point; we weren’t even there for a full 24 hours. On the other hand...a couple more data points, and you’ve got a actual trend.

Also worth noting is that the mosquitoes on Denarau island are the meanest mosquitoes I’ve seen anywhere this side of Texas. I am not normally a mosquito magnet—that’s my wife’s burden—but here, for some reason, they LOVE me. 100% DEET is only a partial answer, and I certainly wouldn’t venture out after sundown with anything even somewhat diluted. The hotel controls them as well as possible, but it’s not a hotel thing, it’s a Denarau thing. I’ve been thoroughly bitten---even through my clothes--on every visit here since 1986, and this trip was no exception. As I started out saying--if you’re visiting Fiji, you’re probably staying somewhere on Denarau island, so this is just something to be prepared for and deal with.

Would we spend the obligatory night here on our next trip to Fiji? Probably not—we’d give the Sheraton another try, but it would be a close call. Would we spend two weeks here like some people do? Not a chance! I can’t understand spending weeks in Fiji and not getting to one of the outer islands.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We have just returned from spending a week at the sofitel, despite negative review's from other travellers, we found not only were the staff fantastic, the rooms were cleaned and made up each day, even returned later at night to see if we needed anything. The meals were great and on par with any 5 star hotel, if however you didn't want to eat in the resort the bula bus will take you into Denaru port anytime of the day for $5 (a daily pass) however the walk will take you 10 minutes. The beach isn't standard coral/shell made which if you have walked on this hurts your feet. Sofitel has adrenlian sports located directly on the beach. Given the Australian exchange rate everything was well priced. Stay in Fiji and give something back to the appauling economy. I also recommend flying with airpacific they also were fantastic...vinaka.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Well..what can i say...frankly couldnt be bothered writing too much. Maybe we were let down because we had to spend one night there before we caught the plane back to sydney and we had just spent a week at the New Intercontinental at Natadola which is awesome. My advice - spend the extra night and get up an hour earlier.

The rooms - mouldy carpets and black mould all over the tiles in the bathroom (King Beachview) and looks nothing like the internet photos. 10mins in the room and my sinuses were going crazy. The room was also very small and with a cot in there, it was downright unhappy times. AND to top it off...the porter lifted $50 out of my wifes purse as she made the mistake of putting her bag (not handbag) onto the golf cart to take our bags up for checkout. Then in the taxi....she went to look for her money and it was gone!!! well that can happen anywhere and it was her mistake but really it just topped off an bad experience.

This is the worst Sofitel I have stayed in....

If you stay on Denarau - go to the Radisson (big rooms), Sheraton (good restaurants) or Westin.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We have just returned from 4 nights of luxury at the Sofitel where we found helpful friendly staff,a beautiful pool complex,bubbly with breakfast and sunshine all day and every day. Hotel is suitable for all ages and I saw some couples had hired babysitters to have some peaceful couple time together. These babysitters looked very warm and loving towards their charges

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed at the Sofitel Fiji Resort for 4 nights as a getaway from our hectic schedules in NZ. The weather was beautiful and so was this resort. We did nothing but lay by the pool or in the awesome hammocks on the beach and drink cocktails and eat!
The pool area is amazing and although the Westin was my first pick I was glad we couldnt get in there and had to stay at the Sofitel. It is by far my favourite in Denarau. Both restaurants were fabulous and breakfast was lovely. The hotel provided great service with our return flights as when our flight was delayed one of the staff came to our room to inform us and they had changed our transfer to the airport for us. All in all it is pricey but worth it for a hotel of this callibre. We loved our stay and look forward to doing again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.