We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Denarau Island
Hobart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had nine nights at this reort and could not speak highly enough of every aspect. Staff were brilliant, kids club was fantastic along with food, facilities and atmosphere. This was our first trip it fiji and we did not want to come home!
On our last day there was a tsunami warning and the way in which staff informed us and managed the precautionary evacuation was so professional we never felt in any danger.
As someone who works in the hospitality industry I was impressed with evey aspect of our Sofitel experience. Thank you for making our holiday!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Happytravelerhobart,

We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us here at the Sofitel Fiji. Thank you for your kind comments about the restaurants, bars and even more the service from our great Fijian staff. I am also pleased to read that you felt safe and well informed during the recent Tsumani alert as we understand this can be stressful for many people.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    792
    297
    107
    48
See reviews for
720
971
64
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights and found everything about this resort 5 star. The pool is fantastic and kids loved the waterslide. Our room was modern, neat and clean. Travelling with our two children (aged 7 & 8) our room was close to the kids club which was great. Kids club had plenty of activities on offer and the kids never wanted to leave. A big thank you in particular to Miriam and Usa (sorry if not spelt correctly) who did an awesome job keeping the kids occupied and for taking such great care of them. They especially loved the crab hunting on the beach and crab races! Breakfast buffet was really nice, plenty of choice. Also ate at Salt restraurant several times - food was also very nice and reasonably priced. Service was a little slow at times, but no issue as we were on "fiji time" too. All staff were friendly and helpful. Resort location is very convenient and a short trip to the Port and airport. Would definately come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our 8-night stay at Sofitel Denarau Fiji was perfect in every aspect. The staff is wonderful and will go to a lot of effort to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The room, which was just a standard ocean view room, was spacious and very clean. The amenities was also good-sized and clean, though not state-of-the-art. We also really like the layout of the resort, which compared to some other we've visited on Denarau island, has a distinct community feeling to it.
However, there a couple of things to consider:
the resort is definitely not the 'top of the line', so be reasonable in your expectations
there's no 'adults only' pool, which means kids are everywhere, which didn't bother us at all

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding along with about 50 others, it was such a lovely hotel. The staff were all friendly and we were travelling with our 9 month old baby and they couldn't have been more accomodating.
The wedding was at the hotel and it was the nicest wedding I have been to - lovely setting, buffet food (which was ok for a buffet) and great drinks.
The price wasn't too bad to eat and drink around the resort
The pool is lovely and the rooms are very nice as well.
I would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We only stayed one night before heading off to one of the islands.
Excellent Hotel, Great Pool, expecially for Kids. Great Service, I would go back and stay again.

Location is clost to the Marina and only took a few minutes on the bus to get there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We travelled with our extended family and stayed a total of 8 nights at the Sofitel in the middle of January. We split our stay into 2 lots of 4 night as we travelled out to Amunuca Island Resort for a few nights in the middle.

The property is spacious and rooms are clean and nicely decorated (dont listen to the people who complain about the "mould in the grout" and those sorts of comments). The best part of the stay for us - we have 4 yr old twin boys and a 6 mth old - was the pool. We went there expecting the kids to go into the kids club but we didnt need it, they spent every minute in the pool.

The room (we booked a Family Room) was a perfect fit for us, however, for our first 4 nights we were upgraded to 2 interconnecting rooms, which was fantastic. The staff were great but i have to make special mention of our nanny Pau who took such great care of our kids - we were all very sad to say goodbye to her at the end. Overall, this hotel is fantastic for families.

Tip - I would highly recommend purchasing an Accor Advantage Plus Card before you book/travel as the discounts on the food and the accomodation paid for the card alone.

Room Tip: Family Rooms are great if you have kids (although 2 interconnecting rooms are better in terms of spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This luxury resort . Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Otherfeatures at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and the largest conference facilities on the island. A marina and cultural temples are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.