We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Price Guarantee
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Denarau Island
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“What a Holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

On our recent holiday to Fiji, where we stayed at the Sofitel Resort and Spa, I had the misfortune of breaking my ankle whilst on a day cruise to South Sea Island. Once I was back at the hotel after extensive medical treatment, I was able to rest for 2 days and prepare myself for the flight back home. During that time, the staff demonstrated an outstanding ability to show empathy and concern for our needs and welfare for, what can only be described, as a very challenging situation. They went way beyond their duty of care and became such strengths for us to lean on. In particular, we would like to acknowledge and thank Sarona, our Guest Relations Manager and Saten, the Duty Manger who saw to our every needs, and to a lovely Room Service employee by the name of Efe who couldn't have been sweeter and more attentive each time he visited our room. Will we be back? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view looking over the ocean and the rooms at the southern end are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    811
    740
    266
    96
    42
See reviews for
669
902
55
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

20mins from the Nadi airport - staff were very welcoming on arrival.
It is just a resort like any resort on the Gold Coast, Singapore or Hawaii just with a Fijian theme.
decided to stay due to the comments here on tripadvisor
There is a great pool but too many kids for us as a couple I am not complaining because if our kids were with us on this trip we would of been at the pool with them. We had a great time kicking back just relaxing on the grassed area where the church is located with in the resort grounds due to no kids were in this area.
I think this hotel would be FANTASTIC if it had an adults only pool.
After reading reviews on tripadvisor we knew the restaurant at breakfast time is busy and full of kids - and yes this is correct - kids everywhere and so as a couple we choose to eat at the adults only breakfast area - FANTASTIC! food is awesome service is good and great to be away from children on holiday.
the bars around the hotel are great and we did not think the prices were too expensive - room service food was great.
We stayed 4nights.
So overall we would be happy to stay at the Sofitel Fiji again.

Room Tip: traveling with children ask for rooms close to the kids pool slide traveling as a couple ask for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hotel was above average in terms of facilities. Buffet breakfast however was atrocious and we were forced to order room service to get a semi decent meal. Rooms were a bit dated and bathrooms are in need of renovation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are Accor Advantage Plus Member stayed at Sofitel’s throughout Australia, Asia Pacific and Europe. This was so far below the Sofitel Experience I was really disappointed. The booking was arranged through the Accor Advantage Plus phone reservations and they split our booking over 4 to enable us to take advantage of the Stay 2 night 3rd night free package however this meant every 3rd Day we received phone calls and letters asking us to arrange to finalise our bill and check out requirements despite mentioning this at check-in and the first 2 times it occurred.

Also unlike other establishments such as the The Royal Beach Resort Seminayak you only show the Accor advantage plus card once on arrival at the Sofitel Fiji you must show it at every restaurant to get the discount it was slightly annoying to have to carry it to the pool in case you want to eat at Salt etc.

Firstly the rooms were dated the bathroom flooded every shower and because of an accessible room there was not a single shelf or any vanity space to hold toothbrushes hair brush basic toiletries. Our King size bed which I am assured it really is a king is equal size (we measured it) to a double in Australia...

On arrival we asked that the housekeeping maid give us 4 towels as we require two for my husband(wheelchair user) 1 each for myself and child. For the first week we did get 4 towels however a change of staff meant we ended up with only two and often only 1. We were accused of stealing a bath towel, hand towel and face washer by a house keeper/maid and I was asked to show her my bags to prove it wasn't in them and to find them or she would arrange for us to be billed for the missing items. Which we don't believe our room received that day.

As many people have mentioned the bird and flies at breakfast are hideous and I noticed that many guests simply don't use the appropriate utensils at the buffets. The birds are a major issue poolside if you order food as are the flies we asked a member of the wait staff to remove a lunch plate as the remaining food was attracting birds to which a the staff member mocked us and said "can’t attract the birds can we" threw the food from the plate at her colleague and laughed so now the sandwich is spread out on the tiling around the pool which the other staff member did pick up.

Beverages were rarely cold and we soon learnt to order beers with a bucket of ice to keep them in to cool them down to drink.

I found the cleaning of the pool and adding of chemicals to be done rather late in the morning rather than early when not so many people swimming in it would be more practical.

I called for Laundry service at 11 am one morning and was informed that it would be collected immediately, It wasn't I called again at 4pm and told the same thing and it wasn't collected. At 6pm when a fantastic member of housekeeping delivered the complimentary water I asked her about the Laundry and she took the dirty clothes bag immediately for us. It was returned by early afternoon the next day however.

I met lots of people staying at the Sheraton and was able to visit the rooms and facilities and we will definitely stay there for our next trip and it was cheaper but far nicer cleaner and more options. We made the staff aware of the issues we were offered there apologies particularly for the Maids accusation of towel theft and offered a discounted rate should we return which we are not at all inclined to do so. We are disappointed we have spent so much money with them already.

The Good points, the staff Poolside that assist with towel hut are lovely and very helpful. The staff member that delivered the water daily was incredible also.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room on the newly renovated wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Bonjour dolcengabbana,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review from your last stay with us, I am terribly dissapointed that you didnt enjoy your stay with us, just to respond to a few of your comment. You are correct that we do ask to sight the Accor Dicount Card each time you consume meals, this is as per the guidelines of the card and to ensure that the card holder is using the card and not passing it around to frends and family. We are now installing large bi-fold slidding doors that will keep any birds out during breakfast. How ever we cant do this around the pool, of course birds picking up food scraps happens every were around thge world, just try leaving hot chips unattended on Bondi beach and so how long they last with sea gules.
I am sorry that your drinks served by the pool werent cold enough and so I have asked our F&B Manager to look into why this happened to you.

Kind regards,

Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our family of three (husband and 2 year old daughter) stayed at Sofitel for 2 nights and I must say, it was truly a holiday. We arrived at the check-in counter and was greeted by Natanya who was very helpful in acknowledging the price as indicated in our email. We were allocated to a room on level 2 (253) and was also given a microwave for our stay at a minimal extra cost as our toddler was still on bottle and required warming up. I must say the view from our room was absolutely beautiful. For the two mornings we would wake up and walk onto the balcony just to sit there and enjoy the view while our toddler enjoyed saying 'hi' / 'bula' to all guests/staff walking on ground level. I found the room service menu prices were at reasonable costs compared to Lagoon Restaurant which was charging FJD$80 per person for a buffet meal and most of the food I couldn't seem to eat, being 5 months pregnant, I had to be very cautious. Other than that, we had a great time, the staff were lovely and we just couldn't get enough of the pool and the music. Would definitely be visiting again. Vinaka Vaka levu!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This luxury resort . Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Otherfeatures at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and the largest conference facilities on the island. A marina and cultural temples are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.