We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the *5 quality that you would expect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“not the *5 quality that you would expect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We combined a business trip with pleasure and given the Sofitel name took it as a given that everything would be 5* all the way..... well this certainly isn't the case sadly.

This property is very established, the gardens are lovely and the arrival and hotel entry is beautiful and everything that you would expect of Fiji, but there are a few things that let this place down. Let me say that the Fijian people are very lovely and warm but they are not in any hurry. Tables took some time to be cleared, even drinks and plates by the pool took, in many cases, an entire day to be removed. To give you an idea, at breakfast there are birds eating off the plates, constantly flying in and out....

The restaurant by the beach is in a perfect setting but again, the service is slow and every time we ate there our order was mixed up, not a huge problem but annoying nonetheless.

The pool is a great size and the kids slide is ideal when it is working, but take goggles for the kids to save their eyes, it is heavily chlorinated.

The rooms are a little dated especially the bathrooms. There was one whole wall panel in the bathroom that was 3/4s stripped of paint, we also noticed a slight odor.

The hotel's proximity to the habour is good, you can take the shuttle which allows you an opportunity to get on and off as well as see the other hotels within the Denarau Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    847
    315
    116
    51
See reviews for
775
1,032
66
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is located in a great spot, but I can’t recommend it .. If you want to be treated like your interrupting their day when checking or asking a question.. by all means stay here. Apparently on checkin your supposed to be told about activities available and received a package etc.. however I didn’t find out about this until the day before left. Some fly screens in the main eating area would help as the birds come in and just eat of your plate as soon as you leave the table. Rooms are hot and even though you call for a technician to fix the air-conditioning they never come. Order room service just once, once was enough food was cold (even though I ordered a hot meal) & dry very very small portions. There has to be better and more friendly hotels in Denarau.

Room Tip: Luxury room has okay..at the far end of the resort which is not good if you can't walk far &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Service was five star. Food was good for Fiji. Facilities good. Minimal cyclone damage still evident however that is to be expected. Several pools which were not over crowded. i saw a lady walking around offering mini fruit juices to the children which was a nice touch. As locals we will be recommending this hotel in the future. Well done!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa and we had a fantastic stay. Our room faced the ocean and we had a great view of the grounds. The recent cyclone had caused some issues at the beach and landscaping, but I was so impressed with how quickly they were working to make the grounds beautiful again. Everyone from the staff reservations desk, porters, waitstaff, and check out were friendly, courteous and eager to make our stay as pleasant as possible. A special thank you to Susan W. who also coordinated a visit to St. Andrews Primary School where we delivered school supplies. This area has been hard hit in the last year with a flood and then Cyclone Evan a few weeks ago. This is our first stay at a Sofitel property and it will not be our last! Bula!

Room Tip: We asked for a room close to the beach and on the 3rd floor when we arrived and it was not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We could not have had a better time in Fiji, thanks to this resort.

We spent 10 nights in one of the Oceanview Luxury rooms. The room was very comfortable, full of artwork and amenity (such as very nice soaps and moisturisers) and the staff kept our room in pristine condition throughout our long stay. The room had great views into the gardens and of the ocean outside.

The food at the hotel was on the pricey side, but was still amazing. It was definitely worth taking up the Accor Advantage Plus offer, as food was then 50% off – good if you are staying more than a few days. There are a number of different restaurants available, as well as having room service available and food can be delivered to you poolside and in the lobby. There was so much different food available to cater for anyone’s tastes. I would definitely recommend trying out the V Restaurant, as that was an amazing dining experience – as well as the South Pacific Indian and Fijian Buffet themed nights at the main Lagoon restaurant. Drinks were actually quite cheap at the numerous happy hours, spirits for around $3 AUD and cocktails for around $6 AUD.

The pool was fantastic, and there were well over 90 deck chairs there. Unfortunately one of the most negative experiences of this trip was that on the busier days people would ‘reserve’ these chairs by leaving their towels there. These people would not even be using the pool area, and would go and have lunch or breakfast, maybe even on day trips – which is fine if only a couple of people do it but completely out of line once you get large 10+ people families doing it, considering there are more than 300 rooms at the hotel. I would recommend Sofitel placing signs informing people of better deck chair etiquette as it was quite frustrating looking for some shade and a place to sit in the hot Fiji sun. We did notice there were guidelines on the TV channel, but evidently I don’t think many people saw this.

There are many extras to this resort which make it so much more than a place to eat, swim and sleep. There were daily activities, such as fire dancing, crafts, meke performance and kava tasting which allowed us to experience some of the local traditions while at the resort. It was great that there were different restaurants and times to cater for different audiences - couples, families, and business people. There is a booth that allows you to hire canoes, hobby catamarans, go jet-skiing and parasailing for the thrill-seekers. There was also the very helpful Rosie’s travel desk which booked and recommended day trips for us, and ensured that our buses picked us up in the morning for our day trips – good as some did indeed run on ‘Fiji time’. The hotel made sure that we got to and from the airport on time, arranging taxis for us. Unfortunately the taxi to the hotel overcharged us – do not pay more than 30 FJD!

With lovely staff and so many different things to do and see, this resort was a great base for exploring Fiji as well as a destination within itself.

Room Tip: Get an Oceanview room on one of the upper floors for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is the second review for our wonderful stay in 2012. (29 Sept - 7th Oct 2012) - everything about the hotel was class and we loved our stay but we still have not received our points from our Advantage plus membership. We used our card extensively throughout our stay and the benefits were many especially with discounts on the cost of food. This is disappointing as our stay was superb. I would encourage the hotel to follow through with the points that should have been allocated.

Room Tip: We chose a room a little away from the pool area as we wanted peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here in September 2012.
Initially we were put in a room that was mouldy and had broken facilities.
I complained and they moved us to a better room.
The housekeeping was bad and we were not given what was included in our package.
It was only after we complained again and again that we got some of what was included.
We were supposed to have breakfast in the cafe at the front of the resort but instead we were sent to the buffet which was poorly set up, lacking in food and staff.
Would not recommend

Room Tip: Choose another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.