We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chefs Excel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Denarau Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chefs Excel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The staff, especially those who have been working there for a number of years, consistently provide an unbelievable level of customer service which is hard to find elsewhere in Fiji Hotels & Resorts. The Chefs in all Restauarants go out of their way to prepare exceptional quality meals and will often come to the table to personally check on how things are going.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
On behalf our our kitchen team I wanted to thank you for your kind feedback as the Chefs in our resort put a lot of effort into the meals presented every day to every guest so its always nice when guests notice this effort.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    848
    315
    116
    51
See reviews for
776
1,032
66
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Having been to Westin before coming to Sofitel, we could definitely see the difference. Sofitel was less cultural and could easily have been in any city. One of the check in lady wasn't very friendly, and didn't like to smile... The pool was average, kids everywhere. It was slightly dangerous as there was limited signage where the pool suddenly becomes 2.7m deep from 1.1m and the unexpected swimmer would resurface coughing and spluttering. Definitely plus was a very nice and affordable pattiserie in the foyer and free 30min wifi (which the non-smiling check in lady could have told us before we purchased 30min computer time for $5.40) in the foyer. Room was not too big, and the shower/toilet is small, but with unexplanable massive walk-in closet. Very limited TV channels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
I was dissapointed to read that you were not completly happy with your stay. I was also a little suprised that you said our resort could have been in any city as we have hundreds of cocnut trees, lush tropical gardens, thatched roofs and hundreds of carved wooden door etc to show of Fiji style, this may mean we need to do more in this aspect. I was concerned with your comments about the depth of the pool, we do have markings and signs on the edge and also the gardens on the pool edge, however we will no increase the amount of signs around the pool.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Road to Sofitel could do with an upgrade
Apart from that great place to stay,Eat and sleep
Pool was nice and welcoming Breakfeast was great and the lagoon Resturant was to well maned Check in was a little bit slow but staff were very polite

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and especially the breakfast. I am sorry that your check in took some time and so I will raise this with my team.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My boyfriend and i stayed at the Sofitel in December last year. The central location of the Sofitel on Denarau makes it ideal to use as a base to settle in for a few days before venturing towards the islands.

Pros:
As a celiac (require gluten free diet) the several restaurants at the Sofitel provided a variety of cuisines with gluten free options. Gluten free, vegetarian options etc are already outlined on the menus. Gluten free cereal available at breakfast (as well as other options including fruit).

Rooms were clean and well appointed.

Very large pool and many beach activity options.

Bula bus providing transportation to Denarau Marina frequently. Sofitel also within walking distance to Denarau (although it gets a little hot!)

Several gift shops located within the resort.

Not too many cons and nothing really significant but..
Beds take up most of the room- not much ‘living’ space

Being a large resort don’t expect the personalised service you find on the islands.

In general, beaches on Denarau are not ideal for swimming (black sand etc). Would definitely recommend at the very least a day trip out to the Mamanuca Islands to see the beautiful clear water beaches.

Also, expect cost of food to be similar to Australia.

Overall, we had a positive experience at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and I was glad that you had a great stay with us here at the Sofitel. I'm glad also that you enjoyed the gluten free menu as we have put a lot of effort into making this available due to past guest requests.
I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I took my mum and two children (aged 3 and 5 yrs) to stay at the Sofitel Fiji Resort for 8 days.

Overall we had a great time. The beauty of Fiji and her people is astounding. The Fijian's are friendly and warm and a credit to the Sofitel, and in my opinion, the highlight of this resort.

ACCOMODATION- We found the rooms to be comfortable and tidy. We recommend staying on the ground floor level if you have children. Rooms 170-180 are in a terrific spot; not too far from the kids pool/waterslide/activity area. These rooms have ocean views, but most importantly, open out to a terrific grassed area for the kids to run on. .
We had a couple of issues with the room. The safe wasnt working and we couldnt manage to get the computer games console working. We called reception twice to get these fixed but noone ever arrived! (the kids were too busy enjoying the outdoors to have had time to play the computer anyway!)
The bathroom was not 5 star quality....outdated and a bit grubby. Not a major issue, but just be aware that it's not quite 5 star.

ACTIVITIES- The pool is fantastic. Lots of shaded areas for toddlers to swim in and a huge mid-depth area for older children. The pool is designed so that adults can enjoy the deeper end without lots of kids around and the deep end is next to the Day Spa - good design. The waterslide is terrific and a great time filler for kids, as is the very busy Ice Cream Stand!
Tip- Get up early to grab your self a chair beside the pool. As I have young children I needed to be near the shallow end to watch them (no lifeguards) but you will find most of the chairs will be taken by 8.30am.
The Kids Club (Turtle Club) was terrific and the staff were just lovely. You pay a flate rate per day with the kids being able to come and go as little or as often as they like. My daughter (5) attended on four occasions and in that time had made a straw basket, shell pictures, painted t-shirts, had her face painted, and made new friends. She also recieved a backpack, stuffed toy, hat, cutlery set and t-shirt on her final day which she loves.
Every day there is a torch lighting ceremony at sunset. This was wonderful and our children loved it.
There are other activies planned such as Fijian dance lessons, cononut races, pottery etc but our kids were very busy with the pool, waterslide, ice cream, searching for coconuts and frogs and kids club to have cared!
There was a huge 24hr tropical downpour of rain while we were there. We had a day trip planned that day but someone told us that the Sofitel put on movie after movie in the big ballroom to keep the children occupied. Great idea.
The shops at the Sofitel were great . You really dont have to go anywhere outside of the resort to get your toiletries, supplies , souveniers etc although you will find things cheaper elsewhere.
The Bula Bus was great. Leaves every 15mins and takes you to the Port or other hotels. **Free entertainment at sunset at the Port on a Friday night. There is a dance troupe, fire twirlers etc and was entertaining for families.
We also attended the church service held in the Sofitel's chapel on the Sunday. This was possibly one of the hightlights of our stay. The warmth and welcome my daughter and I recieved was so appreciated, the view over the ocean was incredible, the message of peace and the sound of the choir is something I will never forget. Regardless of your religious beliefs, I recommend you attend a service if you can.

FOOD- We ate mostly at the resort. The buffet breakfast was fantastic and had a huge array of food to choose from, even a special section for gluten free foods and kid's food. The buffet restaurant can get really busy though and can be a bit dangerous with kids and people walking around with hot coffee etc. We always tried to sit at the far wall, closer to the kid's buffet area. Easier and safer.
We ate at the buffet for dinner twice. Once was a traditional Fijian banquet which was interesting for us. The other was Italian. (highly recommend the gnocchi....it was absolutely delicious!).
We chose to eat poolside for our lunches or at the cafe near the lobby. That cafe does fantastic smoothies which you can get take-away to take to the pool.
All our other dinners were either at the Port or in the Sofitel's more casual "SALT" restaurant. Salt had a good menu and the mains were quite large. The service can be VERY slow however, but thats just Fiji for you. The staff are relaxed and friendly (will happily chat to you over rushing around to take your order), Just take a deep breath, look at the ocean and go with it! It might take twenty minutes for someone to come and take your order, but at least you know when they do that it will be with a smile and ultimately the food is of high quality.

Essentially , this is an overly touristy, family packed resort. If it wasnt for the constant cheery "Bula" greetings or sounds of the ukeleli and vocal harmonies, one could be mistaken to be in Queensland!

While it does have quiet swimming, day spa and grass areas, it is not the place I would come to if I was on my own or in a couple. The food can be pricey (become and Accor member to get savings) and the pool area/buffet areas can get busy.

The Sofitel is only a representation of the 'real' Fiji with its controled activies, themed food nights and smiling Fijian staff giving you only an indication of what Fiji is actually like outside the seclusion of Denarau. (hire a car or a taxi to take you to the reality of Fiji......visit a school like we did and see the absolutey joy on the face of the students at your arrival , or walk through the fruit/veg markets and buy cheap bananas. THIS is Fiji.) But if it is a fun, sun soaked, family holiday that you are after where someone else turns down your bed and makes you yummy food, the Sofitel is perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms 170-180 great for families/kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
I was delighted to read that both your self and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that the play station was not working when you checked in as it should be, however pleased that your two children didnt miss it with all the activities available in the resort, it was also pleasing they enjoyed the movies in the ballroom as this is a new rainy activity for the kids with free popcorn. I am also glad you enjoyed our Fijian Church service within our own seaside chapel as this is a new concept and features our own staff as the choir as they love to sing and have such fantastic voices.
I look forward to welcoming you back again for your next fijian holiday.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

You couldnt ask for a better location for a hotel, close to the port, Nadi, and the airport. The Bula bus that comes by every 15 mins is so handy to get around. You pay once and you can use it all day. If i didn't have my accor card i feel that food would of been too expensive. Taking it slashed most foodbills in half, our other option was eating at the port which was cheaper, had good variety and close by. The themed buffet nights are great too. The pool was great, accomodating both families and adults. Be quick though, the numerous sun bathing chairs go quick when the sun comes out, and you would be lucky to grab a spot. We were happy to go our nearest hotel to swim which is welcomed also. The staff are wonderful, always smiling and welcoming, and you never get sick of hearing BULA... The only complaint we had was trying to get info on getting married there, took all week until one poor lady "Priya" copped our frustration and Wow she delivered as best she could. Room was wonderful, serviced everyday and turned down every night. King bed was perfect. I would like to see kitchenette facilities introduced into their rooms one day as this would be a great was to attract more visitors. Overall i would stay here again and think its great for all

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakera, General Manager at Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your latest feedback, I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry that you found it hard to gain a sun lounge chair, we do have 165 around the pool and we also try to constantly stop guest reserving chairs by leaving books etc on chairs whilst they do something else, please be aware we plan on importing anouther 80 lounge chairs this season so we shouldnt have any more problems. Also if you require any information on getting married here in our seaside chapel on the beach please contact our wedding co-ordinator at h5706-sb06@sofitelfiji.com.fj who would love to assist you further.
we look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully for your wedding and honeymoon.
Kind regards,
Adam Laker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa

Address: Beachfront, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#3 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Fiji Resort and Spa is located on beautiful Denarau Island. This five star Fiji resort overlooks the beachfront, adjacent to the world class Denarau Golf and Racquet Club. Our Fiji beach resort offers 296 rooms, each with a private balcony. Other features at this Fiji luxury resort include a private beach, wedding chapel, swimming pools, three restaurants, four bars, an international health spa, and one of the largest ballroom on the island. A bustling marina and cultural temples are located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sofitel Fiji Resort And Spa
Sofitel Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sofitel
Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa Denarau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Fiji Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.