We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fiji” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji to your Saves list
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Denarau Island
Sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fiji”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had a fabulous 7 day stay at The Westin! After reading some negative reviews on tripadvisor I was a little uncertain of what to expect. Upon arrival all my uncertainties were put at ease. The staff, the facilities and grounds were all beautiful and I felt very well looked after. I come from a hotel/resort background so I can sometimess be a little over picky, particularly when it comes o service.
The rooms are The Westin have recently been renovated which was a plus. They were spacious, clean, modern and very comfortable. It was actually one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in! The buffet breakfast was very good quality and I loved that there was a juicer so you could blend up your own fresh fruit juice in the morning. The other highlight was the Heavenly Spa. Set in a beautiful garden, you have your own private bure where you feel a million miles away!

Room Tip: Most rooms have some form of views out to the ocean. I wouldn't necessarily pay for an ocean fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Ni Sa Bula alwyasatravelbug

Vinaka vakalevu for taking time out to provide us with your feedback. Great to see you enjoyed the service, the facilities and engagement by our staff. I am delighted to read that you most enjoyed our signature Westin Heavenly Beds and our Westin Heavenly Spa - indeed the experience does take you million miles away and you come back reenerzised and refreshed.

We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Be Well
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    476
    179
    111
    65
See reviews for
283
668
61
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spent 2 nights in Westin Denarau before we went on a cruise. They welcome you with a drum beat on arrival,(traditional Fijian welcome) take your bags while you check-in. If your room is far away, they take you and your stuff on a golf buggy. The hotel operates a cashless sytem, which means you will have to pay for your bills (bar, alcohol, etc) on departure. Our room was close to the restaurant and was a bit noisy, but we hardly spent any time in room.
Pool is beautiful, staff very nice, everybody is working on YOUR perfect holiday. :) We went to the Port for lunch one day by the Bula bus, which operates between the resorts at Denarau island. It is mainly for tourists, as it cost 7 fijian dollars for a day ticket. (yellow bus cost 1 fijian dollar one way- it goes to Nadi town, and on the way back it stops at the Port as well). Not a lot to do in the Port, couple of restaurants, shops there, and of course the cruises depart from there.
There is a convenient shop in the Resort where you can buy souvenirs, magazines, clothes, and others where you can buy other clothes, bikinis, jewellery, and a parfume shop.
There is free wifi available in the lobby area. Breakfast is the best I have ever had, all what you can imagine is available, egg station for custom made omelettes etc, pastries, I can’t even list all, and guess what? Champagne!
There is Kava ceremony every day, also fire dance on Monday, and lot of other free activities every day. Happy hours in the bar (I think all resorts do this)
From the resort, you can walk along the beach either side to discover other resorts, it is a sister hotel with Sheraton as well.
We enjoyed our stay and definitely would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Bula Henicat
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin and your perfect rating with your feedback. Its great to see you enjoyed the service and the facilitie, especially our breakfast offering as the best you hav ever had.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Vinaka
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I returned fromour Fiji holiday yesterday and feel that I have to leave a review of thi hotel. Prior to leaving I read the reviews on this site for the Westin hotel and left Australia not really knowing what I was in for. There are heaps of negative reviews and I didnt want to be disappointed when we arrived so a few weeks before our arrival I emailed the hotel with a few requests. Nothing over the top and they were met. Not only were we placed in a quiet area our room was upgraded to ocean view. We stayed in this room for 3 nights. The food here is great, yes a little expensive at Moo Moo but the bakery offers a cheaper option for lunch. The buffet breakfast was faultless. After returning from our Island trip we stayed another 2 nights at the Westin and this time upgraded to and Ocean fron room. Again the room was beautiful and we couldnt fault it. The bathroom had a waterfall shower whcih was lovely. The staff at the Westin were more than helpful. I ordered room service for my fussy 3 yeear old and asked for some changes with her meal which was not a problem. Not only did they change the meal to her liking they called me to see that she was eating it. Lets be honest, you probably picked the Westin as its the cheapest 5** hotel on Denarau Island. You will get much more than you paid for at this hotel. Not only and the facilities great here but you get to use the Sheraton pools and restaurants aswell. I hope this review hepls anyone in two minds about staying at this hotel, you will not find better accomodation for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Bula Miranda

Thank you for your review of our resort. I am delighted to read that the staff engaged in making your stay a memorable one on on both stays, thank you for your loyalty to Westin. Its great to see you took the opportunity to enjoy teh facilities at our sister properties - Sheraton Fiji Resort and Sheraton Denarau Villas.
We look forward to wlecoming you back soon.
Be Well
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Westin seems to be the shabbiest of the lot along the strip of 5 star resorts. No drinking water provided in the room. When we checked-in, the was a used towel hanging in the shower room and a used bar of soap jammed at the bathroom door. They charge fjd24++ for wifi while the neighboring resorts have them available for free.

Room Tip: Would pick Sofitel or Hilton over westin
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Bula KazOng

Thank you for taking time out to provide us with your feedback. Obviously the level of experience from your stay is not what we strive to deliver to our guests and my apologies for the shortfalls. I have sent you a message to connect with you directly.

Warm regards
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed for a couple of days for a wedding at the neighbouring Sheraton. Rooms are nice and beds very comfortable. I am not a fan of Denarau or large resort hotels like this so for our purposes it was great.

Disappointing that the mini bar was emply. While you could order it to be filled I expect at a hotel of this quality to have a fully stocked minibar, We did not eat there other than breakfast on the last morning which was average for the type of hotel it is, Friends who ate at Moo Moo said it was great.

Staff were friendly and helpful and resort was quite and we were not disturbed by other partons, If you need a short stay place close to Nadi then i would recommend but not for a full on holiday. Its just way to generic

Room Tip: Sea views are great but garden views just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Bula David, Greetings from Denarau.
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the hospitality of our staff. Feedback from our guests was that they prefer to have a empty fridge to be able to store their personal preferences, however you are able to order a full minibar at your convenience.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast nsw Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I just spent 7 nights at the Westin and found this the most relaxing holiday we ever had.
The staff are amazing and very friendly, they can't do enough for you, no request is too much trouble.Although we are in our sixties and our children are grown up we couldn't help but notice how they all loved the children and took every opportunity to help parents who were having a troublesome time with their littleones.
We stayed in an oceanview room and were glad we upgraded from gardenview as you are closer to all amenities, the rooms are very large and beautifully decorated and the bathrooms were particularly well done.
The restaurants and bakery were all quite good with prices for food similar to australian prices, the Jacks and other stores we found about the same prices as elswhere on fiji.
I think some of the reviews are rather harsh and don't take into account "fiji Time" and tropical conditions, coming from australia we are used to a few "bugs" in hot weather and we only saw one in our bathroom and while we were there the hotel sprayed all rooms, so they are on top of this.
All in all we would highly recommend this hotel, especially the beds they are out of this world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Ni Sa Bula Jackee

Thank you for your great feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the facilities and the service by our warm and friendly staff and most of all, our signature Westin Heavenly bed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived at the Westin from Castaway Island, big mistake! The beach looks drab and dirty compared to paradise on Castaway Island.

First thing we noticed was that the staff weren't that friendly and didn't seem to want to go out of their way to make you feel special and welcome.

The actual resort is amazing, very beautifully set out but LOTS of kids running around, it was hard to find a section of pool where there weren't any kids. The entire pool area is surrounded by lounge chairs which is nice if you are swimming but if you want privacy I’m not too sure where you would find it.

Our room was nice, air-conditioning was way too cold so we turned it off and opened the balcony door only to come back to the floor being wet and all our things damp which was really annoying.

We requested a taxi into Nadi town to look around, I was disappointed that the driver was a complete tool, would have expected the resort to only send guests with "reputable" driver. We have travelled in Asia & Indonesia so well used to Indians taking advantage of tourists but just wasnt expecting it in Fiji. We were taken to a dodgy back ally & through the back door of a souvenir shop where we were intimidated and made feel a little frightened that we didn’t buy anything.

We spent most nights down at Denaru Marine, this place goes off, some great bars & food places, much better atmosphere than hotel and much cheaper.

When we had checked-out we still had 12 hours before our flight so did a day trip to Mud Baths (amazing) then back to hotel only problem with this is that you can’t actually purchase anything in the bars or restaurants at the Westin with cash, and because we were checked out we couldn’t charge to a room we had to use our CC with the 3% charge, this seemed really stupid to us, being as we only wanted a toasted sandwich LOL That said we were able to shower and change before our flight which was good.

We got some beers from the local bottle shop down at the marina and bought back to our room, half the price of buying from hotel.

I think our impression of the Westin would have been different had we not spent time on Castaway, the beach at Denarau is disgusting, not somewhere you would swim in the water or anything, BUT Denarau is a great place to stay for day trips out to the islands etc. We did Cora Cat trip to Plantation Island - the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RavDesi, Hotel Manager at The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Bula hingston7315
Thank you for taking time out to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry to read that your experience with our staff was not as friendly, they normally receive great accolades as warm and friendly. I will be addressing the taxi driver comments with the taxi association as we do not condone such practices. Westin does not have a credit card charge so I will IM you to get additional information on this.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to our resort as a base for your outer island tours and trips.
Vinaka
Ravinder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#4 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.