We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Save Saved
You added The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Denarau Island
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We had a wonderful stay here. Our room was huge-loved the layout. Buffet breakfast was so good we didn't need to eat lunch! Lots of activities and daily schedules within this hotel-never leaves you bored. Great pool service & loved drinking & relaxing in & by the pool. Fire twirling at dusk is a must see whilst here. Partner played golf opposite the hotel-beautiful course & well maintained.
Took the "Bula Bus" around Denarau & to get dinner-very fun & relaxing. Took the local bus into town to do food shopping-very cheap.
Great hotel & recommend if your going to Denarau.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    445
    424
    160
    107
    56
See reviews for
251
579
51
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Bula Bus (with thatched roof), the accommodation blaocks (with thatched roofs) and the restaurants (with the same thatched roofs) give the resort an ambiance. The eveing fire festivl/dancing is a must and the reaort's own dester island can be reached by boat each day. Nice pools and spa. Restaurants vary; the main one where breakfast is served is ok - I went to the next door Sheraton (same owners) as it was better. The place is not cheap - e.g. the Moo Moo Grill - but good food there. Happy Hour drinks good value. Staff out of the buildings (ie animatueurs) excellent and good fun. Reception and food service staff in main restaurant not brilliant. Overall a nice plave to unwind

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The Westin Denarau is located on Denarau Island where all the 5 star hotels are.
I always love the Westin Hotels and will always book this hotel on my travels to Fiji.
Their staff are very friendly and welcoming and you receive a bottle of fiji water on arrival.
Check In is always smooth and my room is usually available on arrival.
I love the pools and the spas on the beachfront!
Definitley book and Ocean View or Ocean Front Room - we stayed in an Ocean Front Room and they have a lovely view of the water and a balcony or patio.
The rooms are very large and the beds are to die for - I always have the best sleep in their beds :)
The only downfall in the rooms would be the bathrooms, they are a little dated and are not quiet up to standard with the rest of the room (when compared to the Sheraton which have huge infinaty showers) the westin have shower over bath and are the old style bathrooms you would still see in a 3/4* hotel. If they are able to refurb these then it would definitely bring up the quality of the rooms.
Apart from that we had a great stay - even though it was only for one night will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor are better as you have access right onto the property from your room. Ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The Westin facilites, staff and the general ambience of the property are still good. The pool area despite not being huge is planned well and layout and plantings give a certain intimacy which makes it feel good and very useable even when busy - though if you are after laps this isn't a real option, dipping only. Rooms are Ok though the ac is noisy - but effective. Fiji time dominates so when things go wrong it is always 'hit & miss' if they will be fixed - this is as much a cultural issue as any hotel management issue and you mostly have to 'go with the flow'. As mentioned by many - food pricing is 'resort loaded' and sometimes extremely so - the Moo Moo restaurant whilst good is overpriced. This detracts and people head to Port Denaru to eat more cheaply - which seems a strange strategy by the management. Happy Hour with cocktails provides some relief and the nightly 'fire ceremony' and entertainment is generally interesting & good. Wifi is paid but the 24 hour - online time not one day - is a reasonable deal (FJ$25) for most users who want email, browsing and download/upload access. For a 5-7 day stay this resort, with its facilities, the added benefit of the nearby Starwood properties, and proximity to Port Denaru & the airport - there is little to detract from it's value if the rate is right.

Room Tip: Starwood Preferred Rooms appear better positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011 via mobile

Fabulous hotel with great restaurants. Staff were extremely polite and friendly. Would highly recommend this superb hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed during October 2011 and loved it. From arrival to departure we were treated like royalty , it was a bit of a struggle though having nice folks twice my age not allowing me to carry our luggage to our room. Staff throughout our visit were brilliant, buffet breakfast 10/10, some of the older staff have this paternal type nature so this was cool too, all in all staff here are brilliant. Pool was sweet 10/10 food was good but very expensive (even harder to fork out for since most of the food comes from NZ). There is a beach toward the Sofitel a bit murky but good if the pool is full. When we were there had a number of unsupervised kids running riot around the pool, parents probrably spent more time eyeballing other guests than watching the kids by the pool despite the "unsupervised pool" signs everywhere. The rooms are a tad dated but still fantastic, awesome king size bed, and room service were perfect and very consistent.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are nice but are also in view of a busy pathway so not very private, for cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We came here for our honeymoon and it was exactly what we wanted. A little bit of luxury mixed with traditional Fiji. The rooms are a bit dated, we had an ocean front room, but they are in the midst of a refurb so will be a lot better, they may even fix up the noise issue. If you don't have the aircon on (which is loud) you can hear everything from the next room. Luckily we had brought earplugs with us so that saved any problems!!
We were on a package that included breakfast and dinners, dinners were at restaurants in Westin & Sheraton. All the food was good, they do a more friendly service than fine dining. Our two best meals were at the Sheraton - Flying Fish and Port O Call, after that Moo Moo was pretty good and Hamacho (Japanese at the Westin) was fantastic!! I wish we had have been there sooner that our second last day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji

Address: P.O. Box 9081, Denarau Island North, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#8 Business Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
The Westin Denarau Island Resort And Spa Fiji
Westin Denarau Island
Denarau Island Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.