We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fiji Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Fiji Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Fiji Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Po Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 4 pay 3
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Denarau Island
Houston Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

As far as the Nadi area, this is a good place to stay because of the access to all three resorts; the Sheraton Fiji, the Sheraton villas and the Westin, where the gym is. The beach, though not all that great (gray/brown silty sand) is better than the other hotels on the island. The resorts on the west side of the island where the Hilton and the Westin are, have terrible or non existent beaches. Short trip to/from airport is a plus. But we booked a transfer from airport to hotel for $ 18 AUD/person which is not a good rate. Local taxi will do it for $ 20-25 FJ for both people. Eating at the restaurants is, of course, ridiculous no matter where you stay. So like we always do, we took a local bus to town for $ 1 FJ per person round trip and bought food at the market and ate on the porch looking at the sea. The hotel was happy to supply the cutlery. plates and bowls. Another tip. We got the buffet breakfast included in our stay for $ 1.35 AUD per day by booking through Expedia. I felt sorry for the other guests I saw pay the bill every day because I know they were paying $ 35-40 FJ.
Overall not a bad place. Very oriented to kids so I wouldn't stay here if you don't like to listen to a bunch of screaming, crying and whining.
We did a day trip to South Sea island which was a nice change of pace. Price wasn't bad for a full day, all the beer and soft drinks you can have. Nice activities all included.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    398
    171
    80
    62
See reviews for
333
477
24
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I was booked in to stay at this hotel on 9th august, day before we were flying back to NZ.
We checked out of Outrigger to travel to Nadi when we were called and advised that out booking has been cancelled due to a full-house. They seemed to have done over booking at the hotel so they were cancelling everyone who has booked at local / cheaper rates.

We were very disappointed. Despite we travelled to Nadi to see off some other mates.
We requested staff at Outrigger that if we could extend our stay for another day. They seemed to be very accommodating about this. We didnt wanna stay anywhere else since we enjoyed our stay at Outrigger. Staff were friendly and No, they didnt bump us out since Someone wanted to pay higher rate. As per advised by Sheraton.

I wouldnt recommend Sheraton to anyone and myself wouldnt ever bother to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I wouldn't stay here. The hotel outside of the lobby area is quite unattractive. The room was quite poor and the aircon feeding the room was picking up smoke from somewhere and made the room stink! The entertainment though with the live band was superb! Stay at the Radisson and walk down to see the band.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We would not recommend this Hotel to anyone!

The list of problems goes like this -

F$90 for two for buffet breakfast - not told of the cost prior to eating - it was 7am the day we arrived and we were jetlagged. The quality of food at the 'Feast' buffet breakfast was average at best. Bacon was cooked well in advance as was other food - so a later breakfast meant a very unappetising meal.
Communication difficulties with almost all staff and generally not very friendly as well.
Exhorbitant, bordering on offensive, pricing for everything (plus 17.5% VAT!!!)
Rooms smelt quite dank - possibly becaused of floods earlier this year
Fire alarm going off at 1am
Allegedly fresh beach towels not clean and smelling of sweat from previous user and when returned the next ones were exactly the same - this occurred every day!!
Daily room cleaning did not change sheets until after 6 days we put them on the floor
Every day missing either fresh towels, washers or bath mat or any combination thereof
Outdoor lounges near bar had dirty, stained and smelly cushions & mattresses
Charged mini bar usage when we had not used anything - had to argue and couldn't even be told what the alleged item was! Same thing happened to the friends we were with.
On the positive side the ambience of this place was quite beautiful. The foyers, pool areas and rooms were of a very high standard. The multi million dollar refurbishment was evident in the quality of finish in all these areas. The pools were very clean and very inviting. It really did look like a five star resort.
As for the service and food quality it was 2 star at best.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed at the Sheraton Denarau Is Fiji for 7 days in March 2009. We could NOT have asked for a more perfect holiday and destination. We stayed in a gorgeous recently refurbished Ocean Front Room, total luxury. Only 30 mt to the beach and only a few steps to the pool and bar. The people were totally accommodating, the restaurants were incredible, food was more than we could EVER eat, and the weather stayed beautiful for us whilst we were there.

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Sheraton, so much so that we are heading back there in March of next year with all family and friends in tow, to celebrate our marriage....

The ONLY gripe I have is that at the Sheraton there is no swimming allowed at night in the pool, which most nights were hot enough to feel like we needed a swim to cool off...

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

The rooms were fairly nice but no nicer than any other similar priced resort... terrible service. Porter hung about like a bad smell baring the door in our room... presumably waiting for a tip? The day bed areas by the bar were dirty and foul. We had an early flight and were told breakfast would be available ... I had specifically checked to ensure that it be open... even had the email communication in writing but nada. Staff were poorly informed.

Had also stayed at the Sofitel on Denaru where the service was superior.

Would not recommend the Sheraton to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

This resort was absolutely fantastic. My friend and I went for a little mid winter girlie holiday and had a great time! The resort is a good size but not tacky. Being able to use the facilities of the Westin and Sheraton Villas is priceless.

It is quite expensive but bearable - a coke is FJ$5, burger by the pool FJ$25-30 and cocktail FJ$18 and they have this stupid tax of 17.5% on everything – but the settings are beautiful so it is worth it. We also had no problem with ‘Fiji time’ and everyone was very efficient.

However there is a Port Denerau on the island that has about 7 or 8 restaurants (Italian, Indian, Chinese, hard rock café, pizza). The food is half the price and the tax is included. There is a Bula bus that goes to the Port and is $6 for a full day ticket. I think if you buy your Bula bus ticket at The Pantry (take-away lunch place at Sheraton) it has a 10% off food and beverage voucher on the back to use at Sheraton/Westin.

The rooms were excellent! We got the cheapest room available and it was huge, we had 2 double beds, lots of windows and a gorgeous balcony. Very clean, comfy beds, no complaints!!

The resorts are dominated by families and couples! The kids can be a bit noisy but there are adult areas and quiet zones if you want to be left alone. The adult pool at the Westin is spectacular!

The night time in the resort is decent. At the Sheraton the bar had a band every night and the seats are all big cushions. The Westin has a couple too but we didn’t go to these. It is a good mix of being busy but not to the point of being painfully crowded and there are always people strolling between the resorts on the beach at night – very pretty!

You have to be quickish with getting your pool towels. They go by about midday. Also people like to reserve chairs and go for breakfast but mostly it is parents trying to get around the kids pool.

The resorts aren’t great on cultural activities and performances. They do have their own private island that a free boat goes to every hour that isn’t that well advertised but is worth a look.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Fiji Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fiji Resort

Address: Po Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Fiji Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Fiji Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Fiji Resort Denarau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fiji Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.