We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel let down by feast restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fiji Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Fiji Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Fiji Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Po Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Denarau Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel let down by feast restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a great week here, lovely room and great service. Tainted sadly by the daily torture of breakfast at feast. A fly ridden, bird pestered place with some food very close to being off, birds helping themselves to the pastry selection and coffee that was simply sludge. Compared to the Hilton or Westin (have stayed at both on denarau) this restaurant needs a clean start, new design, fresh menu ideas and some way to control the birds. Good luck!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Bula Sxored,
I was disappointed to learn that you were not totally satisfied with your recent stay with us.
As a tropical island destination with lush vegetation and many open areas, we are sometimes exposed to seasonal insects which can pose a challenge to us. Rest assured we have intensive pest control measures and strict food safety procedures in place. Our guests have the option to experience breakfast at both the Feast restaurant and at the Westin during their stay and we regularly receive positive comments on these restaurants. Thank you for providing your feedback. Best regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    321
    139
    68
    53
See reviews for
275
413
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

When we arrived at the sheraton,we were welcomed by bula and the bula band starting singing to us,and there was a staff member to meet us,and checking in was very fast,and we offered a drink and a nice cold towel to wipe our hands and face which refreshed me,then we arrived at our room which was fantastic,right on the beach,the swimming pools were very good,the restaurants were also very excellant as well,the only cons were too many flies when you were having breakfast,and on the tv have some tv channels,like sports channels,all the staff were fantastic,

Room Tip: try and get a ocean front room,you are right on the beach,and in your holiday defintely get breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear woody71Brisbane,

Warm greetings from Sheraton Fiji Resort! I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent holiday with us on TripAdvisor. I hope that your wonderful holiday experience will bring you back to visit us again soon! Best regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We ended up getting married at the Sheraton Resort due to The Westin being closed because of Cyclone damage. It was the worst thing we could have done. The wedding was un-organised, lacked communication and very un-professional even though we book a package with a so called 'professional wedding co-ordinator'. As the bride, i was very upset as now i have horrible memories of my not so special day. I do not recommend getting married here at all!!!

- Email were not answered and proper information was not given to us before we left Australia.
- The co-ordinaor forgot appointments, was half an hour late for other appointments, couldn't find our file and didn't listen to our requests.
- We had to call reception to ask about our flowers which finally came to the room 20mins before the wedding ceremony.
- We were only given details about the celebrant and vows the day before, after asking the co-ordination for a copy months ago.
- There was no organisation towards the ceremony structure and no one was told what to do before hand.
- We were not given choices about songs or music to be played.
- No contact was made to us by the wedding coordinator on the morning of the wedding even though she said she will be there to look after us for the whole day. I saw her for a minute before the ceremony and then she left.
-The professional photographer's photos were un-structured, uneven, not edited. I cried when i saw them. We were given no communication about the photographer or the type of photos he would take. He then charged us more money to get a copy of them all without discussing it with us first. He put us on the spot and we had to agree or we wouldn't get all the photos he took. He didn't talk to us about what we wanted at all.
- And the list goes on.....
- For what we paid, I feel we did not get the type of service, respect or customer service expected.

I hope that no other brides has to go through what we did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear natalie p,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay. Clearly from the details you have provided, we fell well below our standards of service, and for this we are very sorry. Our associates should have been much more available to you and the inconsistency of service is unacceptable. Your feedback will be shared with the Catering Manager to remind them of our continued efforts in being proactive and timely with guest’s requests and providing a Sheraton wedding experience. We would be happy to discuss your visit with you futher personally by contacting Tricia Carige, Director of Catering and Conventions, at tricia.carige@sheraton.com. Vinaka and kind regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Fiji in November 2012, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was our second time there and it was the best. We stayed at Sheraton and the package that My Holiday Centre arranged was absolutely without comparision.Flights ex Sydney with Virgin.Eight nights in an ocean view room including meet and greet, breakfast, two one day cruises and $1000. in house expense account all for $3500. The Fijian people are warm and friendly and make you feel welcome. They came to our table on the eve of our anniversary and sang to us and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful.
Vinaka My Fiji
Vinaka My Holiday Centre

Room Tip: pay the little extra and get the ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear foxfree,

Thank you for choosing our resort to celebrate your anniversary and to share this special moment during your stay with us. We value your kind review of our resort and associates We look forward to welcoming you back for many more special occasions. Warm regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

For over 25 years I returned to this hotel because I really liked the service location but admittedly recent years the service was in freefall demotivated staff activity nonexistent food quality poor.
But this year that my stay would turn into nightmare, intoxicated by food, cleanliness of the room catastrophic cockroaches in the bathroom.

During their stay they change the room despite written confirmation.

Finally, because they want to do so that was the last time I stayed at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Pascal D, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay with us, as we usually receive positive comments on the areas you have mentioned. I would appreciate the opportunity to connect with you directly, if you could kindly email me at scott.macdonald@sheraton.com. Best regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I have been to Fiji for the last 7 years and always booked our trip through My Holiday Centre. The company would have to be the most efficient travel company I have ever dealt with. We always stay at the Sheraton Fiji because of its close proximity to the airport and the wonderful people that work at the hotel are fabulous. My Holiday Centre does all the work for us from being picked up at the airport, 7 meals every night at 7 different restuarants, full buffet breakfast every day and that is so good and golf included every day is just one of the many great deals they have. On our previous trip we did a three day boat cruise as well around the islands and that again was so well organised. Last trip they offered 2 day trips out to the islands which was great. I don't know how they keep the cost of our trip so low with all the extra things that are included - all I can say is only book with The Holiday Centre.

Room Tip: If you have young children it would be wise to get a ground floor unit so they can play outside and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Sydneyskye,

Warm greetings from Sheraton Fiji Resort! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at our resort. We look forward to seeing you again for your next vacation!
Kind regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Having booked a 10 night meals/accom package for the first time we were a little unsure what it would all be like but we were pleasantly suprised! great accomodation, great restaurants and lovely staff. had a wonderful time and enjoyed some of the best meals we have ever had, would thoroughly recommend it! included a couple of day trips out to the islands as well, fantastic value for money. enjoyed the quiet zone of the 'no kids' pool area. would love to go again!

Room Tip: we were slightly away from the main restaurant area so was perhaps quieter than had we been closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Vinaka for your wonderful review tamara s, and for taking the time to share your experience at Sheraton Fiji Resort! I was particularly happy to hear that you most enjoyed our Sheraton service, your room, our 'adults only' pool and the quality selection of restaurants that we pride ourselves on. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back again one day! Best regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Fiji Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fiji Resort

Address: Po Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#8 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Fiji Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Fiji Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Fiji Resort Denarau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fiji Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.