We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Fiji Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Fiji Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Fiji Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Po Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Denarau Island
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great place to chill out for a few days. The whole place is just stunning and the water temperature makes it vastly more enjoyable than an Australian beach holiday.

Good points include poolside dining, bed comfort (wow!), check-in/check-out, the pools, the bar (with really great DJs and bands), staff singing at breakfast every day and the friendliness of the staff.

There are some drawbacks though, such as:
-Service is 3 star (friendly and willing but slow and not knowledgeable). The service would not be tolerated in a 5 star hotel in Asia, Australia or the US. Then again, for the price you pay it's to be expected
-Internet is excruciatingly slow and you only get it free in the Business Centre (in annoying 30 min blocks)
-It's effectively part of a gated community, completely separated from the rest of Fiji. It feels pretty fake at times. Other places (e.g. Bali/Thailand) offer a cultural element to your holiday too.
-Food. They do try, and there's lots of variety. It's just not that great, unfortunately, after being shipped in etc. If you want good food, you have to pay Australian fine dining prices at one of the special restaurants. Even the port restaurants are expensive.
-Coffee. Decent beans, milk textured ok but they use long life milk so it just doesn't taste right

All in all, a fantastic week

Room Tip: Get as close as possible to the ocean! Nothing beats drinks on the balcony overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear aussieboy90,

Warm greetings from Sheraton Fiji Resort! Thank you for your detailed review of our resort on TripAdvisor. Above all it sounds like you had a most enjoyable vacation. Your feedback is appreciated as we continue to improve our resort and services. I do hope you will visit us again! Warm regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    396
    169
    80
    61
See reviews for
332
475
24
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

You won't sacrifice any of your comforts staying here. From decent espresso to reliable wifi, good food and comfortable beds, and even a state of the art business centre which frankly puts many US and European 4 star hotels to shame.
The Coral Coast may have prettier beaches but the standard of accommodations here is great as was the professionalism of all the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Upper level balcony rooms facing the sea are very nice - a lovely place to sit after a hard day at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear donethatalready,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Sheraton Fiji Resort. I am pleased that our resort facilities and services were to your satisfaction and that you were able to have a relaxing and comfortable vacation. I hope that your nice impression of our resort will bring you back on your next visit to Fiji! Warm regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After reading all the comments on here before we left I was a little worried...however after staying here for 6 nights I realise that the people are just whinging! If you don't get the right towels etc, ask. They were more than happy to oblige. We stayed in an ocean front room and was well worth it...1168 second floor was our room and far enough away from the main building but not to far. The staff friendly...breakfast great. The Internet is not the best but jeez your on holidays!! If you go to the Internet room in the lobby its fine. I will be back and I hope this helps others with their decision.

Room Tip: 1168 was a great room...balcony was fantastic and to wake up to that view...fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Bula Danae C,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Fiji Resort for your recent vacation. I really appreciate your positive comments and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I do hope that your nice impression of our resort will bring you back again soon! Warm regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxfield
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My daughter (18yo) and I stayed 5 nights, did a Blue Lagoon Cruise then stayed another night at the Sheraton. It was purely for a relaxing break. We had a twin ocean front room that was enormous and had wonderful views (definately worth the upgrade). The rooms were very well appointed. There are a few things that could be perceived as being annoying of a 5 star property - being:-
- Air conditioning is very noisey - we had to sleep with it on as it was quite humid - after a couple of days you got use to it but it was very loud.
- Linen/Housekeeping - our rooms were made up promptly each day however over the 6 days we went from having 4 towels, 2 handtowels, 1 bathmat, no facewashers to 2 towels, no handtowels, no bathmat, no facewasher to 3 towels, 1 bathmat and 1 facewasher etc. So it was very inconsistant. Somedays you would get no soap the other days 3 bars would appear. It wasn't bad but being a 5 star property items such as these should be standard throughout.
- Swimming Pools - lots to choose from as you use the facilities of the Villas and Westin as well. My one disappointment was the depth of the pools at the Sheraton - only around on average 0.8m to 1.2m. As a result lots and lots of little kids around. We used the Villas pool most of the time as it was deeper but with alot of construction going on it was sometimes a little annoying.
In saying these comments - they were only minor and we had a absolute wonderful, relaxing time. Would definately recommend and stay here again. The breakfast was always fresh and the restuarants were of good quality. We ate at the Port (yes it is a little cheaper) but didn't feel it was as good as the resort.
My final comment is - when can I go back?????

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Karen K,

We are pleased to note that you had a wonderful stay at Sheraton Fiji Resort and that you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms, pools and dining options throughout the resort.

We have taken all of your feedback on board and will make every effort to improve more on the points you have mentioned. Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel as a property is generally always lovely however when I arrived home 157 of my emails didn't reach me. Only18 got through. When we arrived we gratefully accepted a room upgrade. Unfortunately, the room was barely habitable due to faulty shower, non-working aircon, fridge out of order, and horrible noise from the mechanical devices eminating from the kitchen area. That's the good part! I then spent 5 hours trying to get an internet signal which was rarely accessable. Phone calls galore to the Philipines didn't help. Then after dinner tried for another 2 hours. Next day changed rooms and you guessed it, poor internet signal. I wouldn't recommend using the air con either as I have a photo of the putrid filters.
I lost a contract with over $12,000 profit in due to the horrid internet. I travel to Fiji each 3 months and have learned the Sheraton has the oldest internet system which just can't cope with the load. When the technical checked my computer to be OK his meter showed their were 35 users on at that time ( out of a 200 room hotel ) and we could hopd a connection for more that a few minutes at a time

Room Tip: Don't stay there if you need a good internet connection! Check the aircon filter before you con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear AMW2702,
Thank you for your review. I apologise that your stay was negatively impacted by challenges with our high speed internet system. Your comments are noted as Fiji strives to deliver more efficient internet services and we continue to make available these developments for our guests comfort and enjoyment. I was disappointed to read about the condition of your room and have shared these concerns with our leadership team to ensure this does occur again.

We hope that you will give us an opportunity in the future to restore your faith in us. Please email me directly at scott.macdonald@sheraton to make a reservation, and I will personally ensure your next stay is the Sheraton experience you deserve. Warm regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Sherton for 7 nights in November. On arrival (after a long and delayed flight) we were told our room type was not currently available. We had booked and paid for a king ocean front room and instead of upgrading us they told us we would be downgraded to a garden view room. After kicking up a bit of a stink it was agreed we would go to the garden room for 1 night and then move.

The garden room was big but not spectacular. The shower base had no step down so when we showered, water ran out all over the floor. The air con and fridge in the room didn't work properly and the TV didn't work at all.

On the second day we were moved to our new room and all I can say is WOW! The room was massive with a huge bed and plenty of extra space. The rain shower was phenominal (I spent a lot of time in the shower). The room was always very clean and fresh towels given each day. I loved sitting on our patio each day just watching the world go by or having a few drinks at sunset.

We loved that we could use all the facilities at the Villas and Westin and eat at all the restaurants and charge it back to the room. Breakfast was great as was Moo Moo (Westin). I'd also recommend eating the the marina as it is far cheaper than in the hotels. Muma's Pizza is delicious and good value for money.

So while we got off to a bad start, Sheraton and Fiji certainly showed us what a spectacular place it is!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Bula krissiejade,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience on TripAdvisor. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience that you experienced with your room allocation on the first night. Bringing these details to our attention allow us to review and enhance our product and service in these areas.

Nonetheless, I am pleased that you found our resort and Fiji to be 'spectacular''! We do hope you will plan another holiday with us soon! Kind regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have no complaints about the resort. It was nice and comfortable. It's great that you can use the facilities of the Westin and the Villas as well in fact we chose to eat breakfast at the Westin most mornings. I would recommend venturing out to the Port for dinner rather than staying at the resort. It was quite busy at the time we went, with many weddings and families staying there too, which may not be best for adults traveling without children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScottJMacDonald, Manager at Sheraton Fiji Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear SallyVernon1985

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor and for recommending Sheraton Fiji Resort. We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable holiday and utilised the facilities and restaurants throughout the resort complex. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Scott MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Fiji Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Fiji Resort

Address: Po Box 9761, Denarau Island, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Denarau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Romantic Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Denarau Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Denarau Island
#8 Family Hotel in Denarau Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Fiji Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Fiji Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Fiji Hotel Denarau Island
Sheraton Denarau Island
Denarau Island Sheraton
Sheraton Fiji Resort Denarau Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Fiji Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.